Artikel 1 bis 1 von 1 gefundenen...


McClinton, Delbert - tall, dark & lonesome [2019]
Erneut ein ganz prächtiges, neues Album einer absoluten Größe des Grenzbereichs zwischen Americana und Blues. Delbert McClinton & Self Made Men + Dana präsentieren eine mitreißende, packende und zündende Mixtur aus Rootsrock, Country, Blues, Soul, Swing, Jazz, Folk und Americana, ausgestattet mit viel Spielfreude und einem stets rootsig rauen und vielseitig bluesigen Fundament, dargeboten von fantastischen Musikern. McClinton, ein begnadeter Songwriter, Sänger, Harp-Spieler, Pianist und Gitarrist, gilt auf seinem Terrain als einer der "größten" Texaner "ever", was er mit "Tall, dark & lonesome" einmal mehr eindrucksvoll unter Beweis stellt.

Aus der Original-Produktbeschreibzng:

"Roots music visionary" (Rolling Stone) Delbert McClinton returns with a swaggering and swingin’ new album, Tall, Dark & Handsome. Featuring 14 new, original new songs - all written or co-written by Delbert, the album dives deep into the blues, Americana and beyond, bursting with horns, fiddle, accordion, blazing guitar work, back-up singers and McClinton’s charismatic rasp, proving Lyle Lovett’s claim that “if we could all sing like we want to, we’d all sound like Delbert McClinton.”
Tall, Dark & Handsome features Delbert’s band the Self-Made Men + Dana: Dana Robbins (saxophone), Jack Bruno (drums), Mike Joyce (bass), Bob Britt (guitar), James Pennebaker (guitar), Kevin McKendree (keyboards), Quentin Ware (trumpet), Dennis Wage (keyboards).
It’s evident from the first downbeat that McClinton and company had a blast making the record, shining a raucous light on the swinging, jazzy virtues of Texas blues. Opener “Mr. Smith” is a joyous shuffle. “If I Hock My Guitar” is sly and self-deprecating, the story of a down n’ out axe-man who weighs his craft with a visit to the pawn shop. The album hurtles forward with a red hot energy, with only a couple cool breaths along the way, like on “Any Other Way,” a ballad that starts with “Just another lovely day / a low-flying angel got in my way.”
McClinton has three GRAMMY Awards, and his previous three albums have all reached # 1 or #2 on Billboard’s Blues chart. With over 60 years of recording and touring to his credit, McClinton is a true musical zelig: he toured with the Beatles, backed Bo Diddley and Howlin’ Wolf, helped to inspire The Blues Brothers, and performed everywhere from SNL to Austin City Limits (both multiple times) along the way. His songs have been covered by Buddy Guy, Bonnie Raitt, Garth Brooks, Vince Gill, Waylon Jennings, and Wynonna Judd - to name a few.
This “Godfather of Americana” (Rolling Stone) will keep on rolling in 2019, with a full slate of tour dates through year’s end and beyond.

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Mr. Smith - 4:02
2. If I Hock My Guitar - 2:06
3. No Chicken on the Bone - 3:06
4. Let's Get Down Like We Used To - 3:01
5. Gone to Mexico - 2:14
6. Lulu - 3:03
7. Loud Mouth - 3:05
8. Down in the Mouth - 2:06
9. Ruby & Jules - 2:58
10. Any Other Way - 3:20
11. A Fool Like Me - 3:05
12. Can't Get Up - 2:34
13. Temporarily Insane - 3:52
14. A Poem - 1:00

Art-Nr.: 9849
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 15,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!