Artikel 1 bis 15 von 16 gefundenen...

[1-15] [16-30]

 
Berry, John - what I love the most [2016]
Eine der großen Countrystimmen der Neunziger ist zurück. John Berry, der die Countrywelt einst mit seinem Nr. 1-Hit "Your love amazes me" eroberte, veröffentlicht mit "What I love the most" ein äußerst ambitioniertes, neues, richtig starkes Werk, das einige Kritiker sogar schon als das beste seiner gesamten Karriere bezeichnen - und das, obwohl die großen Hits des Mannes aus Aiken/South Carolina, der allerdings seit Anfang der Neunziger Jahre in Nashville lebt, längst hinter ihm liegen. Egal, es braucht keine Radio-Hits, wenn das Resultat dermaßen gut ist, wie das, was Berry hier abliefert. Seine Fans werden begeistert sein. Für die ist das Werk ohnehin voller potentieller Hits, denn nahezu jeder dieser Titel hätte es verdient, die Charts zu "rocken". Das Songmaterial ist kreiert von den renommiertesten Songwritern Nashville's (bei vier Tracks war Berry kompositorisch mit involviert), was das wirklich hohe Level der Stücke erklärt, wie auch die exzellenten Musiker, die Berry begleiten. Seine Stimme ist eh vom Feinsten. Knackige Uptempo-Nummern wechseln mit höchst emotionalen Balleden und schönen, flockicgen Midtempo-Songs in einem äußerst ausgewogenen Verhältnis. John Berry hat alles richtig gemacht und ist zurück, "better than ever". Bester, in den Neunzigern fundamentierter, aber auf der Höhe der Zeit "servierter", astreiner Country auf der Schiene solcher Kollegen wie Tracy Lawrence, John Michael Montgomery, Sammy Kershaw, Tracy Byrd und ähnlicher Seelenverwandter. Hervorragendes Comeback von John Berry!

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. She's Mine - 3:14
2. You're My Sunshine - 3:46
3. What a Woman Wants - 3:33
4. Every Time - 3:23
5. There Could Never Be Another Love - 3:27
6. Gotta Lotta Love - 2:57
7. She Don't Need Me - 4:08
8. I Get That All the Time - 3:07
9. I've Seen It All - 3:48
10. When Is Enough Enough - 3:44

Art-Nr.: 9186
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Angebot || Typ: CD || Preis: € 7,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Black Crowes, The - before the frost / until the freeze [2009]
Das neue Studioalbum der "Krähen" mit dem Titel "Before the frost...", plus der Code für den Download-Zugang des zweiten, parallel erschienenen Werkes "...until the freeze", das es nur auf diesem Wege und nicht als physikalische CD gibt. Sehr rootsig! Erinnert zuweilen an die Solo-Sachen von Chris Robinson. Klasse Songmaterial! Zweiter Gitarrist ist Luther Dickinson von den North Mississippi Allstars! Die Black Crowes weiter in exzellenter Verfassung!

Offizielle Ankündigung zur VÖ:

THE BLACK CROWES will release their new studio CD, Before the Frost... on September 1, 2009.

A second album, titled …Until The Freeze, will be given away for free exclusively through a unique download code which is included in Before The Frost… as a “thank you” to their fans for two decades of continued support.

Before the Frost..., and its corresponding free album …Until The Freeze, were recorded over a series of five nights at Levon Helm Studios in Woodstock, NY. Although both are studio albums, all the new material was performed and recorded in front of an intimate audience of the band’s fans, making them a part of The Black Crowes musical history.

The innovative technique of inviting fans into the studio as part of the process during recording is a rare experience.

Before the Frost... features eleven new and previously unreleased Black Crowes songs including Good Morning Captain, I Ain’t Hiding, Been a Long Time (Waiting on Love), and other original songs that will serve to spotlight the bands ability to make emotional connections through their music. The free album …Until The Freeze is a nine-song collection featuring eight new original Black Crowes songs plus a cover version of the Stephen Stills classic So Many Times.

Chris Robinson conceived the concept of Before the Frost...Until The Freeze.
“I think we fulfilled a musical commitment to continue on the golden road of artistic independence. Approaching 20 years into our careers, we still are ambitious enough to push ourselves to create something unique that we have never done before.”

As The Black Crowes approach the upcoming 20th anniversary of their release of one of rock’s most influential records, Shake Your Money Maker, which produced such hits as Jealous Again, She Talks To Angels and Hard to Handle, they are time and again hailed as one of Rock and Roll’s best live acts.

Before The Frost… (CD Track Listing)

Good Morning Captain (3.24)
Been A Long Time (Waiting On Love) (7.47)
Appaloosa (3.35)
A Train Still Makes A Lonely Sound (4.23)
I Ain’t Hiding (5.57)
Kept My Soul (5.23)
What Is Home (5.13)
Houston Don’t Dream About Me (5.05)
Make Glad (4.18)
And The Band Played On (4.12)
Last Place That Love Lives (4.57)

…Until The Freeze (Free Download Album Track Listing)

Aimless Peacock
Shady Grove
Garden Gate
Greenhorn
Shine Along
Roll Old Jeremiah
Lady Of Avenue A
So Many Times
Fork In The River

Art-Nr.: 6536
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 15,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Bluhm, Tim - sorta surviving [2019]
Außergewöhlich starkes, hinreißend schönes, mit durchweg großartigen Songs bestücktes Retro Countryalbum von Tim Bluhm. Bluhm ist Mitbegründer, Kopf und Frontmann der kultigen, in San Fancisco ansässigen, sowohl in der Rootsrock-, als auch in der Jamrock-Szene hoch geschätzten The Mother Hips, die mit ihrer fluffigen Bay Area Rock-Brise eher näher dem Terrain von Grateful Dead oder Buffalo Springfield angesiedelt sind, als dem der Countrymusic. Doch Bluhm ist auch ein beinharter Country-Fan. Als The Mother Hips vor rund 25 Jahren ihr Debutalbum für Rick Rubin's "American"-Label einspielten, hatte dieses Label gerade Johnny Cash's erstes, von Rick Rubin produziertes, in den berühmten Cash Cabin Studios von Hendersonville/TN aufgenommenes "Amerivcan Recordings"-Album herausgebracht. Zu dieser Zeit entdeckte Bluhm auch Merle Haggard's Musik für sich und befand sich darüber hinaus in regem, fachmännischem Austausch mit Johnny Cash, für den The Mother Hips schließlich als Opener im Fillmore von San Francisco auftraten. Jetzt, nach all den Jahren, hat sich Bluhm seinen großen Traum erfüllt und dieses bärenstarke Countryalbum eingespielt, und das ebenfalls in den legendären Cash Cabin Studios von Hendersonville, übrigens auch mit zwei alten Johnny Cash-Sidemen an Bord, nämlich Dave Roe am Bass und Gene Chrisman an den Drums. Weitere hochkarätige Mitstreiter sind Jesse Aycock (Hard Working Americans) an der Gitarre, Jason Crosby (Dave Matthews, Eric Clapton) an den Keyboards und der Fiddle, Doug Jernigan an der Pedal Steel und Elizabeth Cook wit prächtigem Background Gesang. Ja, Instrumente wie Piano (wundervolles Saloon- und Honky Tonk-Piano), herrliche Pedal Steel Guitar und feine elektrisch und akustische Gitarren, im Einklang mit Bluhm's für diese Musik wie geschaffene, hervorragende Stimme, und vollendeten Songharmonien, bestimmen das Geschehen. Obwohl in Tennessee eingespielt, so fließt durch diese Countrysongs doch eine wunderbare, californische Leichtigkeit. Alles klingt total entspannt, locker und kommt in einem hinreißenden Retro Hippie-Flair. Enthält neben Bluhm's fantastischen Eigenkompositionen auch großartige Coverversionen von Jonny Cash's "I still miss someone" und Merle Haggard's "Kern river". Purer Retro-Country, vollkommen authentisch und ohne Schnörkel, aus einer Zeit, die längst vergessen schien. Toll! Produziert hat übrigens Widespread Panic's Dave Schools - und das vom Allerfeinsten. Ein absolutes, reines Genre Pracht-Werk!

Aus der Original-Produktbeschreibung:

For a moment, you could almost forget what year it was inside the Cash Cabin, the small sanctuary-turned-recording-studio Johnny Cash built roughly 40 years ago in Hendersonville, TN. The Man In Black's frequent collaborators Dave Roe and Gene Chrisman were back at the bass and drums respectively, and tape was rolling as they counted in the Cash classic "I Still Miss Someone." Tim Bluhm had to pinch himself. "Recording in that space with those guys was like a dream come true for me," says Bluhm. "The depth of knowledge they walk around with in their heads is amazing, and you know you can trust the musical choices they're making because they have the experience to back it up. When they say, 'This is what Merle would have done,' it's because they know firsthand." While Bluhm may be best known for the breezy brand of West Coast roots and soul he helped pioneer with his band, The Mother Hips, his brilliant new solo album, Sorta Surviving, revels in his longtime love for classic country music. Recorded and mixed at the Cash Cabin under the guidance of Widespread Panic's Dave Schools, the collection is earnestly authentic and utterly timeless, and it finds Bluhm backed by elder statesmen like Roe and Chrisman along with younger virtuosos like keyboardist Jason Crosby (Eric Clapton, Dave Matthews) and Jesse Aycock (Hard Working Americans, Elizabeth Cook). "The band brought a certain maturity and experience," explains Schools. "Tim's songwriting is so strong that it naturally suggests how to complement itself, but those guys really know how to play and still leave room for a great singer." Indeed, the arrangements on the album are refined and elegant, yet still stripped-down and raw, enabling Bluhm's warm, easygoing vocals to sit front-and-center as he weaves vivid tales of ordinary men and women facing down hard days and even harder nights. Mixing new originals and reimagined covers, the record pulls from a half-century of American music to craft a thoroughly modern love letter to a bygone era, one that showcases both Bluhm's deft musical hand and his heartfelt reverence for the genre. "I've been a fan of classic country ever since I heard Merle Haggard sing," reflects Bluhm. "I just admired his voice and storytelling so much, but I never made an album like this before because I figured it would take me at least 20 or 30 years to get good enough." Bluhm discovered Haggard around the same time he co-founded the now-iconic Mother Hips, a band the San Francisco Chronicle has hailed as "one of the Bay Area's most beloved live outfits." The group began it's journey at Chico State, where performing at frat parties quickly gave way to club shows, regional touring, and national buzz, and before Bluhm and his bandmates had even graduated, they were already signed to Rick Rubin's American Recordings on the strength of their debut album, 'Back To The Grotto.' "When we signed with American, the label had just put out Johnny Cash's first Rick Rubin-produced album, which was actually recorded at the Cash Cabin," says Bluhm. "I got to meet and hang with Johnny a couple times back then, and after that, we opened for him at The Fillmore in San Francisco. I was so impressed with his presence. He definitely lived up to his legend in real life, and he made a big impression on me." Over the ensuing two-and-a-half decades, the Hips would release nine more studio albums as they cemented their status as festival and critical favorites, sharing bills with everyone from Wilco and Widespread Panic to Lucinda Williams and The Black Crowes along the way. Rolling Stone called them "divinely inspired," while Pitchfork praised their "rootsy mix of 70s rock and power pop," and The New Yorker lauded their ability to "sing it sweet and play it dirty." Ever-curious and wildly prolific, Bluhm simultaneously released a slew of his own solo and collaborative projects on the side. He toured for years as music director with Nicki Bluhm & The Gramblers, teamed up with The Grateful Dead's Mickey Hart and Bill Kreutzmann among others, and opened up Mission Bells Studio with fellow California favorite Jackie Greene and engineer Dave Simon-Baker. There, Bluhm produced albums for everyone from the Hips and Greene to Hot Buttered Rum and Little Wings in addition to hosting Phil Lesh, Josh Ritter, Rogue Wave, Los Lobos, Jonathan Richman, and more. As if that wasn't enough to keep him busy, in 2007, Bluhm and the Hips launched the Hipnic, an intimate and immaculately-curated music festival that's still held annually amongst the towering redwoods of Big Sur. Sorta Surviving marks Bluhm's first collection recorded outside of California, but one listen and it's clear that he's equally at home in the pines of Tennessee. There's a comfort to the performances, a subtle familiarity that radiates out like a warm invitation. "Most of the songs on this album are second or third takes," says Schools. "That comes from experience and teamwork, but also from working in a great environment. It's a palpable thing you feel when you're working in the room where Johnny Cash wrote his autobiography and recorded some of the best work of his later years. We were definitely all a little nervous meeting for the first time, but we got comfortable real quick there." The songs are character-driven, valuing the visceral over the cerebral, and Bluhm inhabits his narrators with a voice as tough and as pliable as worn-in leather. "It just felt natural for me to sing this way," he explains. "It was a chance to put away the books and focus more on the everyday rather than the existential, a chance to pull out the guitar and really tell some stories." Some of those stories come secondhand: the bluesy "Del Rio Dan" was first popularized by The Everly Brothers in the 1970's, while the waltzing "Kern River" is a Merle Haggard favorite, and Johnny Cash's "I Still Miss Someone" gets a melancholy makeover with a tip of the cap to Neil Young's timeless take on "Oh Lonesome Me." That the covers fit so seamlessly alongside Bluhm's original material stands as a testament both to his gifts as a compelling storyteller and his playful way with words. The shuffling "Jesus Save A Singer" tackles struggle and redemption with a wry smile, while the stream-of-consciousness title track sardonically examines our instinct to perpetually press on, and the honky-tonking "Where I Parked My Mind" finds dark wit even in the depths of addiction. "There's more humor in these songs than anything else I've written before," says Bluhm, "but it's all very tongue in cheek. That's a country music tradition." While tradition guided Bluhm throughout the project, he wasn't beholden to it, frequently taking risks and pushing boundaries with his performances and arrangements. In the end, his goal wasn't just to make a country-tinged record, but rather to craft narratives that could truly transport his listeners, that could breathe new life into stories forgotten and stories imagined, tales of dustbowl farmers and oil men and fugitive outlaws and traveling singers. "As a kid growing up in LA, I never even heard of country music," reflects Bluhm, "but I remember flipping around the radio dial and coming across 'The Gambler.' It was a song that just completely transcended genre. It was no more 'country' than Mark Twain was 'country.' It was a simple, timeless story set to music, and that's what I've ultimately aspired to make myself."

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Jesus Save A Singer - 3:08
2. No Way To Steer - 3:11
3. Jimmy West - 3:44
4. Where I Parked My Mind - 3:28
5. Raining Gravel - 3:46
6. Sorta Surviving - 3:15
7. Del Rio Dan - 4:24
8. I Still Miss Someone - 3:15
9. Squeaky Wheel - 3:55
10. Kern River - 3:05

Art-Nr.: 9792
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Neuheit || Typ: CD || Preis: € 14,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Jesus save a singer
No way to steer
Jimmy West
Where I parked my mind
Sorta surviving
Squeaky wheel
Kern river

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Chambers, Sean - welcome to my blues [2018]
"Welcome to my Blues" - dieser Einladung des einstigen Gitarristen von Blues-Legende Hubert Sumlin und mittlerweile längst selbst im Rampenlicht stehenden Sean Chambers folgen wir sehr gerne, denn er nimmt uns mit seiner vorzüglichen Band einmal mehr mit auf eine packende Reise durch die Gefilde des mitreißenden, von geradlinigem, umwerfendem, und zündendem Gitarrenspiel geprägten Blues und Bluesrocks zwischen tiefer Tradition und rockender Gegenwart. Nicht umsonst kürte das renommierte britische "Guitarist Magazine" den Saitenhexer aus Fort Myers/Florida unlängst als einen der "Top 50 blues guitarists of the last cenmtury". Dementsprechend geht der, sowohl von Johnny Winter, Hendrix und vor allem von Stevie Ray Vaughan beeinflusste "guitarslinger" hier zu Werke und brennt ein lichterlohes Feuerwerk furioser Gitarrenlicks und-soli ab, überzeugt gleichzeitig aber auch auf ganzer Linie als großartiger Sänger und nicht minder starker Songwriter. 8 Songs stammen aus seiner Feder, dazu gibt's eine wundervolle Coverversion von Luther Allison's "Cherry red wine" (eine packende Bluesrock-Ballade voller Seele, mit irrem, dreckigem, quirligem Gitarrenspiel), eine jammig groovende, super Fassung von T-Bone Walker's "All night long", sowie mit dem starken "Boxcar Willie" eine klasse Komposition seines Keyboarders John Ginty. Vom rauen, erdigen, voller Drive nach vorn pirschenden Opener und Titelstück "Welcome to my Blues" (fettes, rasantes, dreckiges Gitarrensolo) über den dampfenden, mit klimperndem Piano und einem gewaltigen Slidegitarren-Gewitter inszenierten Rock'n Roll-Blues "Red hot Mama", bis hin zum wundervollen, entspannten, an Stevie Ray Vaughen's "Riviera Paradise" angelehnten Instrumental "Riviera Blue" hören wir außergewöhnlich starken, brodelnden, voller Virtuosität und Intensität steckenden Gitarren-Blues-/Bluesrock der allerfeinsten Sorte. Eine exzellente Leistung von Sean Chambers und seiner Band. Dieses famose Werk dürfte den Erfolg seines überaus gefeierten Vorgängers "Trouble & whiskey" noch einmal deutlich toppen. Und zwar völlig zu Recht!

Hier noch ein Original U.S.-Review:

I’m a huge Stevie Ray Vaughan fan, and as such, I’m sensitive to any artist I feel is borrowing too heavily from his work. But when I say Sean Chambers’ latest, Welcome to My Blues is Vaughan-influnced, I mean it as a compliment. Chambers’ seventh album features funky rhythms, incendiary blues runs, and just the right touch of Jimi Hendrix fuzz and mania, all of which will delight fans of the late Vaughan, without pilfering from Vaughan’s legacy.
Chambers is an accomplished solo artist who is probably best known for his time backing the legendary Hubert Sumlin, Sumlin himself best known for backing the legendary Howlin’ Wolf. Chambers also grew up a huge Hendrix fan. So it’s not surprising he has a Vaughan sound. He comes from a similar musical stew of classic blues and Hendrix spice. What’s great about Welcome to My Blues is that it’s much looser and more free-wheeling than Trouble and Whiskey, Chambers’ 2017 Billboard-charting album.
Chambers has a serviceable voice that works for the songs, but his guitar playing is what’s going to grab your attention. And not just his soloing. He’s got a beautiful tone, with a big sound and a little more distortion than you might expect from a blues artist. You notice the tone on “Boxcar Willie,” which has a funky groove like Vaughan’s cover of The Beatles’ “Tax Man.” But the distortion gives the track a rock edge. And the solo, as is every solo on the album, is intense, heart-felt, and technically impressive.
The album features more traditional blues, too. “Keep Movin On,” a Chambers original, is a slow blues featuring a cleaner guitar tone. He gives a very strong vocal performance, perhaps the strongest of the album, but the barely-contained guitar nearly overshadows it. Chambers’ guitar guides the band through the song, periodically pausing to detonate into an explosion of guitar riffs, and then returning to the song. He pulls out all of the stops, from huge bends to speed runs, and never once does he bore the listener—even after repeated listens.
The album concludes with “Riviera Blue,” a Chambers co-write with John Ginty, his keyboardist. It’s gentle piano jazz a bit reminiscent of Vaughan’s similarly titled “Riviera Paradise,” although Chambers sticks to bluesy licks over the low-key, pretty piano. It’s a very sweet homage. Vaughan had a not-so-secret love of jazz, and while Chambers doesn’t seem to share that love, he makes it work with a blues music vocabulary.
The songs and performances on Welcome to My Blues are all strong, but producer Ben Elliott deserves a lot of credit for making everything sound so good. The guitar pops out of the mix in a fairly perfect manner. But of course Chambers deserves the lion’s share of the credit for keeping the songs tight enough that they hold together, but loose enough that you feel the spontaneity and energy of the album. Chambers shares Vaughan’s sound, but also has his own voice, and it comes through powerfully across all eleven tracks.
(Steven Ovadia / Blues Rock Review)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Welcome to My Blues - 4:50
2. Black Eyed Susie - 4:07
3. Cherry Red Wine - 4:33
4. Boxcar Willie - 3:56
5. Cry on Me - 3:23
6. One More Night to Ride - 3:17
7. Red Hot Mama - 3:43
8. You Keep Me Satisfied - 3:35
9. Keep Movin On - 5:40
10. All Night Long - 4:54
11. Riviera Blue - 4:15

Art-Nr.: 9720
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Welcome to my Blues
Black eyed Susie
Cherry red wine
Cry on me
Red hot Mama
Keep movin on
All night long

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Civil Wars, The - same [2013]
Sehnlichst erwartetes Follow-Up des grandiosen Americana-/Singer-Songwriter-/Alternative Country-/Folk Rock-Duos Joy Williams und John Paul White zu dem mit 3 Grammys dekorierten, frenetisch gefeierten Debut "Barton hollow". The Civil Wars machen genau da weiter, wo sie mit ihrem Vorgänger aufgehört haben. Songmaterial und Performance sind exzellent!

Kurze Original-Produktinfo:
The Civil Wars' highly anticipated sophomore self-titled album is the follow up to the three-time Grammy Award-winning duo's acclaimed debut, Barton Hollow.
The Civil Wars was recorded in Nashville between August 2012 and January 2013. Charlie Peacock was once again at the helm as producer for the album. Additionally, Rick Rubin produced the duo's performance for the track "I Had Me a Girl" in August of 2011. Peacock later completed the track by producing the instrumentation and mix.

Exklusives "Track by Track"-Review zu allen Stücken des Albums von Joy Williams:

THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY

This song pays homage to regret. Nearly everybody I've come across has somebody in their life that they wonder what life would be like if they'd never met that person. It's that sliding-door moment -- in the blink of an eye everything could change. Either for the positive or the negative.
John Paul and I wrote this song in the screened-in porch of my and Nate's new home. I remember warm breezes blowing, a mild day. I had recently had my son, Miles, who happened to be asleep with Nate in the living room, right next to the porch. I remember asking John Paul to play quietly so he didn't wake up the baby.

I HAD ME A GIRL

This song always conjures up an image of a glass of whiskey and a lit cigarette. It's a little brooding. A little dangerous. It smolders. It has swagger and grit. It's full of innuendo and Southern Gothic tones. I love the feel of this track, and the way this song came together on the record. "I Had Me a Girl" is one of those musical moments that makes me wish I knew how to play electric guitar. Or any guitar, for that matter.

SAME OLD SAME OLD

This song, to me, represents the ache of monogamy. This isn't an "I'm leaving you" song. It's a vulnerable confession of "I don't want to leave. I want to work on this -- with you." Having said that, someone once told me a story about long-term relationships: to think of them as a continent to explore. I could spend a lifetime backpacking through Africa, and I would still never know all there is to know about that continent. To stay the course, to stay intentional, to stay curious and connected -- that's the heart of it. But it's so easy to lose track of the trail, to get tired, to want to give up, or to want a new adventure. It can be so easy to lose sight of the goodness and mystery within the person sitting right in front of you. That continent idea inspires me, and makes the ache when it comes hurt a little less. To know that it happens to all of us. What I'm realizing now is that sometimes the "same old same old" can actually be rich, worthwhile and a great adventure.

DUST TO DUST

This song is an anthem for the lonely. Sometimes you come across somebody who thinks they are hiding their pain, but if we are all honest, nobody is very good at it. "You're like a mirror, reflecting me. Takes one to know one, so take it from me.” When John Paul and I wrote this late one night in Birmingham, England, we decided to change the pronoun at the end of the song. We wanted to represent that we all experience loneliness in our lives.

EAVESDROP

We brought in our producer, Charlie Peacock, on this song. He helped with arrangements and really helped take the song to a totally different place. Sometimes as an artist, you can't see what needs re-arranging when you're so "in it." Charlie brought perspective. Almost like an eavesdrop within an "Eavesdrop."
Strangely enough, this song always reminds me that my voice has changed since the last album. I have my son to thank for that, truly. When I was first pregnant and performing on the road, I thought something was wrong with my voice. I was having a hard time hitting high notes, while my low notes kept getting deeper and deeper. I did some research with the help of a vocal coach, and learned that hormone levels affect a female singing range. Having a boy, naturally, upped my testosterone levels, making low notes easier to hit and higher notes harder to reach. But the great thing? After having Miles, I regained my high range AND have kept my low range. Pregnancy literally changed the makeup of my vocal cords. There's a different timbre to it now, and I love that I can hear the story of my son in my singing.

DEVIL'S BACKBONE

This song is our take on an Americana murder ballad. It's dark, prickly, anxious. It was fun writing because we just imagined some dust-bowl scenario, a broke-down town, and a man awaiting being hung for something he did in the name of trying to provide for his family. The woman who loves him is watching him standing there on the gallows.
This song always reminds me of when the melody first came to mind. I was doing my makeup in the tiled bathroom upstairs, with my newborn Miles in a yellow rocking bassinet next to me. I started singing, and turned on the voice memo app on my iPhone so I wouldn't forget it. As I sang, Miles started cooing along with me. Not on pitch, mind you, but I'd move a note, and he'd move a note. I'm never deleting that voice memo. It's become one of my favorites.

FROM THIS VALLEY

That's our Grand Ole Opry song. A new spiritual. It's actually the oldest song written on the album. We wrote it before Barton Hollow came out. Even though we didn't have our own recording of it, we started performing it live and it became a fan favorite. It made sense to finally put it on an album. One of my favorite moments on stage every night was singing the a cappella part together.

TELL MAMA

We recorded the performance at Fame studio in Muscle Shoals, a place we'd written a few songs before that made it onto Barton Hollow. I always felt the musical ghosts in that studio, one of whom was the great Etta James. We're a band that's known for covering songs live in our own way, and we thought it would be fun to take a stab at "Tell Mama." I found out later that where we recorded was the same room she recorded her version. That might explain why I kept getting goosebumps.

OH HENRY

We wrote it one week before Barton Hollow, in the mountains of Salt Lake City during our first Sundance Festival. We conjured up a story about a woman who was married to a philandering man. She is begging her man to level with her, and letting him know she can only take so much, a la "it's gonna kill me or it's gonna kill you."

DISARM

Again, we're the band who loves to do covers. Both John Paul and I have always been huge Smashing Pumpkins fans. Nate mentioned it might be a cool cover, and we actually wound up working it out the same day that we wrote "Oh Henry" up in Salt Lake City for Sundance. It turned into another on-stage staple that people asked for every night. We found out later from his then-manager that Billy dug it.

SACRED HEART

We wrote this song in a flat in Paris, with the Eiffel Tower in full view on a cold night. Tall windows, Victorian furniture, and somehow the atmosphere of all of that seeped into the song. Nate and our friends were there in the room as we wrote, all of us drinking wine together. I also loved getting to try out my flawed French. I wrote what words I knew in French, and then had a Parisian friend named Renata Pepper (yes, that's her real name) look it over later and help me translate. When we recorded the song for the album, I called in a French professor from Vanderbilt named Becky Peterson, who has now become a good friend.

D'ARLINE

We wrote this song in the studio behind my house in Nashville, on a warm summer day, with the windows and doors open. This song is a sweet lament, of loss and the belief that you'll never be able to love anybody else again. I stumbled across "Letters of Note" on Twitter, and was struck by the title of a letter written by a famous physicist named Richard Feynman: "I love my wife. My wife is dead." A little over a year after her death, he wrote his wife a love letter and sealed it. It was written in 1946, and wasn't opened until after his death in 1988. He ended his note to his long-lost wife with "Please excuse my not mailing this -- but I don't know your new address."
Another aside to this song: While we were recording the song together, John Paul and I could hear crows cawing in the background that I've since named Edgar, Allen and Poe. This recording and performance of the song is the first and only in existence, a work tape recorded simply on my iPhone.

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. The One That Got Away - 3.32
2. I Had Me a Girl - 3.45
3. Same Old Same Old - 3.48
4. Dust to Dust - 3.49
5. Eavesdrop - 3.35
6. Devil's Backbone - 2.29
7. From This Valley - 3.33
8. Tell Mama - 3.48
9. Oh Henry - 3.32
10. Disarm - 4.42
11. Sacred Heart - 3.19
12. D'Arline - 3.06

Art-Nr.: 8264
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock; Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 13,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Evans, Sara - words [2017]
Klasse neues Album von Sara Evans. Nach vielen Turbulenzen, sowohl im privaten, als auch musikalischen Bereich, hat sich Sara Evans von ihrem bisherigen Major-Label getrennt und veröffentlich "Words" nun auf ihrem eigenen Label "Born To Fly", vertrieben von einem unabhängigen Distributor. Die neu gewonnene, musikalische Freiheit bekommt ihr hörbar gut, denn ihr neues Werk wirkt frisch und unverbraucht. Sie spielt genau die Songs, die sie spielen möchte, frei von jedem Mainstream- und Erfolgsdruck, einfach nur der Musik willen. Das gelingt großartig.. Bester Country/ New Country einer erstklassigen Sängerin mit neu gewonnener musikalischer Freihet. Stark!

Hier noch ein Originbal U,S.-Review zu dieser klasse Veröffentlichung:

Sara Evans returns after three years away with 14 new songs to showcase who she is as a mother, wife, lover, fighter and business woman. Chasing the mainstream can be a hard thing for a successful artist when they have had a handful of hits and released records which cracked the mainstream zeitgeist. Like Lee Ann Rimes did with Remnants earlier this year, Sara Evans has decided to independently release Words on her own label (Born To Fly Records) and it finds her refreshed and sounding better than she did on her past couple of releases (even if she did get one more great hit in "A Little Bit Stronger" from that era). Instead of chasing whatever sounds the mainstream has, we have Sara in contemplative balladeer mode throughout the Majority of Words and this is truly where Sara and her distinctive alto shine.
Midtempo "Diving In Deep" reminds me of Paul Simon's "Graceland" musically with some afro-centric percussive melodies serving as the anchor for Sara Evans to sing about falling in love with all the gusto that we always do when in a relationship ("when all is fair in love in war, the consequence I will ignore because this time I'm diving in deep," she sings). "I Don't Trust Myself" is a moody song about being self-aware enough to not fall back into old routines while "I Want You" is a sweet, soaring alternative to "I Don't Trust Myself." Fans of the earlier catalog from Sara Evans, will certainly find moments to enjoy here with the rootsy "Make Room At The Bottom" (co-written by Ashley Monroe), "I'm On My Way" and album opener "Long Way Down" while "Marquee Sign," one of three songs co-written by Sara Evans herself, showcase the singer's pen is still sharp. The song also showcases harmonies from her daughter Olivia. The title track, "Words," feels like a long-lost Emmylou song and "Night Light" features family harmony from Sara Evans three siblings Matt, Lesley and Ashley. Finally, "Letting You Go," is a song any parent can relate to as they watch their children grow up and go away and become adults themselves. It's a beautiful song and a strong closer (though, really, the acoustic version of "A Little Bit Stronger" serves as the real closer here).
It's often hard for stars to know when the time is right to stop chasing mainstream radio and it gets even harder for them to do that if they strive for a career in the independent realm. On some ways, you could listen to Sara Evans new, independently-released Words album and feel like she's chasing a train she'll never catch but the reality is that this is a record for a fans and if she does get some mainstram radio success, awesome, but if not, that's OK too because, hits or not, Words is the record of her career. (Matt Bjorke/Roughstock)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Long Way Down - 4:14
2. Marquee Sign - 4:01
3. Diving in Deep - 2:36
4. All the Love You Left Me - 4:17
5. Like the Way You Love Me - 3:05
6. Rain and Fire - 3:38
7. Night Light - 3:38
8. I Need a River - 4:22
9. I Don't Trust Myself - 3:34
10. Make Room at the Bottom - 3:12
11. Words - 2:48
12. I Want You - 3:41
13. Letting You Go - 4:11
14. A Little Bit Stronger (Acoustic Version) - 4:38

Art-Nr.: 9478
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 14,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Grateful Dead - europe ' 72 - vol. 2 [2011]
Starkes Follow-up zu dem legendären, meisterhaften, vielleicht wichtigsten Album aller Grateful Dead Live-Veröffentlichungen, dem historischen Europe '72. Auf dem Teil 2, einer randvoll gepackten Doppel-CD mit einer Spielzeit von 155 Minuten, sind 20 weitere "previously unreleased tracks, mixed from the original master tapes" enthalten, inklusive einer großartigen, fast einstündigen Jam aus "Dark star" und "The other one". Der Sound ist klasse! Dazu gibt's neues Cover-Artwork von Stanley Mouse!

Hier die offizielle Produktbeschreibung im U.S.-Original:

Europe '72, a triple live album documenting its historic trek across Europe became not only one of the band's best-selling releases, but also set the gold standard for live Dead. Now the group proves you can never get too much of a good thing when it revisits that legendary collection with Europe '71 Vol. 2, an essential continuation of the original that includes more than two hours of unreleased performances from that storied tour.
Grateful Dead archivist David Lemieux, who produced this 20-track compilation, says he only chose song titles that did not appear on Europe '72 as a way to complement the original. "I think this album, coupled with Europe '72, represents a complete overview of the tour in every way," he says. "In fact, songs like "Beat It On Down The Line," "Next Time You See Me" and "Sing Me Back Home" were selected by the Grateful Dead for the first set, but were left off because there wasn't enough room."
In a nod to the original, Vol. 2 features new cover art by Stanley Mouse, the artist who helped create the iconic artwork from Europe '72, which features the return of the legendary Ice Cream Kid. "Trouble comes in many flavors. Ice Cream Kid is in hot water. The jury is out. His only defense is love," says Mouse of the Kid's return.
Recorded at various locations during the band's 22-show tour, the collection captures the Dead in white-hot moments of improvisational revelry as the band explores a number of its most enduring songs, like "Bertha," "Sugaree" and "Playing In the Band," plus relatively obscure cuts like "Black-Throated Wind" and Pigpen's "Chinatown Shuffle."
As a special treat, the set includes an epic hour-plus jam that combines "Dark Star" and "The Other One." Recorded at the Bickershaw Festival, it was the only show on this tour where the band broke out both of these beloved improvisational showpieces. Vol. 2 also includes "Good Lovin" and "Dire Wolf" from the April 26 show at Jahrhundert Halle in Frankfurt, West Germany. While much of that concert was released on 1995's Hundred Year Hall, these particular tracks were not included and have remained unreleased until now.
The high-quality sound heard on Vol. 2 stems from painstaking work done by Jeffrey Norman, who has been the primary mixer of the Dead's archival multi-track material for the past 15 years. For this release, he mixed each show from the original 16-track recordings while two-time Grammy®-winning engineer David Glasser mastered the music to HDCD specs.

Das komplette Tracklisting:

Disc 1:
1. Bertha [Tivoli Concert Hall, Copenhagen, Denmark (4/14/72)] - 5:53
2. Me and My Uncle [Wembley Empire Pool, London, England (4/7/72)] - 3:13
3. Chinatown Shuffle [Tivoli Concert Hall, Copenhagen, Denmark (4/14/72)] - 2:38
4. Sugaree [Olympia Theatre, Paris, France (5/3/72)] - 6:56
5. Beat It On Down the Line [La Grande Salle Du Grand Theatre De Luxembourg (5/16/72)] - 3:11
6. Loser [Tivoli Concert Hall, Copenhagen, Denmark (4/14/72)] - 6:29
7. Next Time You See Me [Olympia Theatre, Paris, France (5/4/72)] - 4:57
8. Black-Throated Wind [Tivoli Concert Hall, Copenhagen, Denmark (4/14/72) - 6:00
9. Dire Wolf [Jarhrhundert Halle, Frankfurt, West Germany (4/26/72)] - 4:46
10. Greatest Story Ever Told [Olympia Theatre, Paris, France (5/3/72)] - 4:52
11. Deal [Olympia Theatre, Paris, France (5/4/72)] - 5:05
12. Good Lovin' [Jahrhundert Halle, Frankfurt, West Germany (4/26/72)] - 12:09
13. Playing In the Band [Lyeum Theatre, London, England (5/24/72)] - 11:55

Disc 2:
1. Dark Star [Bickershaw Festival, Wigan, England (5/7/72)] - 19:49
2. Drums [Bickershaw Festival, Wigan, England (5/7/72)] - 2:24
3. The Other One [Bickershaw Festival, Wigan, England (5/7/72)] - 30:27
4. Sing Me Back Home [Lyceum Theatre, London, England (5/26/72)] - 11:00
5. Not Fade Away [Wembley Empire Pool, London, England (4/7/72)] - 4:23
6. Goin' Down the Road Feeling Bad [Wembley Empire Pool, London, England (4/7/72)] - 6:09
7. Not Fade Away [Wembley Empire Pool, London, England (4/7/72)] - 2:45

Art-Nr.: 7558
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 19,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Guy, Buddy - rhythm & blues [2013]
2 CD-Set! 3 Jahre nach den Grammy-dekorierten "Living proof" veröffentlicht Meistergitarrist und lebende Blues-Legende Buddy Guy sein neues Album, und zwar gleich eine Doppel-CD. Bereits im Vorfeld wird "Rhythm & Blues" als eine weitere, absolute musikalische Sternstunde in der langen Karriere Guy's gefeiert, und die ersten Reviews bestätigen diese Vorschußlorbeeren nachdrücklich. Ein paar der Songs des neuen Werkes hat der Meister mit einigen hochkarätigen Gästen eingespielt, was einmal mehr seine einzigartige Verbindung zwischen Tradition und Moderne offenbart. Mit dabei waren der neue, junge Guitarhero des Blues, Gary Clark jr., Beth Hart, aber auch genrefremde Größen wie Keith Urban, Kid Rock und Aerosmith's Steven Tyler, Joe Perry und Brad Whitford. Produziert hat sein langjähriger Weggefährte Tom Hambridge! Der ewig junge Buddy Guy befindet auch mit 76 Jahren noch in der Blüte seiner Karriere. Großartig!

Die offizielle Produktbeschreibung:

Six-time Grammy Award winner and 2012 Kennedy Center Honoree Buddy Guy will release his new studio album Rhythm & Blues. The follow-up to his 2010 Grammy Award winning album Living Proof, this double-disc masterpiece features first time studio collaborations with A-list artists Kid Rock, Keith Urban, Gary Clark, Jr., Beth Hart and Aerosmith members Steven Tyler, Joe Perry and Brad Whitford. Rhythm & Blues will be available for pre-order at all online retailers on June 25th.
Produced by Grammy Award winning producer/songwriter and longtime collaborator Tom Hambridge (Skin Deep, Living Proof), Rhythm & Blues captures the 76 year-young Guy at the peak of his creativity. Replete with heartfelt vocals, straightforward lyrics and mesmerizing guitar licks, Rhythm & Blues not only exemplifies how blues continues to be the foundation of all genres of today's music, it also illustrates why Guy has been influential in the careers of Eric Clapton, Jimi Hendrix, Jeff Beck, Stevie Ray Vaughan and more.
The Rhythm disc includes rhythm and blues-style blues with deep grooves, such as the Junior Wells' 1960 hit "Messin' With The Kid" featuring Kid Rock, the touching "One Day Away" with Keith Urban, and "What You're Gonna Do About Me," a rousing duet with Beth Hart. Guy rounds out the disc with "Best In Town," "Whiskey Ghost," Guitar Slim's "Well I Done Got Over It" and more.
The Blues disc taps into the genre's rich history with "Meet Me In Chicago," "I Could Die Happy," "Never Gonna Change" and "All That Makes Me Happy Is The Blues." Aerosmith's Tyler, Perry and Whitford contribute to the musical lesson with "Evil Twin" while Gary Clark, Jr. joins Guy on "Blues Don t Care."
In a career that spans nearly 50 years with over 50 albums released, the incomparable Buddy Guy recently added the prestigious Kennedy Center Honors and NARM Chairman's Award for Sustained Creative Achievement to his long list of achievements. Guy is the recipient of 30 awards and accolades, including 6 Grammy Awards, 28 Blues Music Awards (formerly W. C. Handy Awards), Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction, the first annual Great Performer of Illinois Award, a Billboard Music Awards' Century Award for distinguished artistic achievement, the Presidential National Medal of Arts, in addition to being listed as one of the 100 Greatest Guitarists of All Time by Rolling Stone.

Hier noch ein begeistertes U.S-Review:

Buddy Guy – Next to Muddy Waters and Howlin’ Wolf, his name personifies Chicago blues. Considering he’ll be 77 years old on July 30th, you’d think he’d be ready to sit down and take it easy. His new album is proof that like good whiskey and fine wine he’s just gotten better with age. For Buddy’s birthday he gives us all a gift with Rhythm & Blues, a two disc album filled with some stellar collaborations and which after over 50 albums is probably one of his best releases.
This album is once again produced by the Grammy winning producer Tom Hambridge (Living Proof, 2010). A musician who is criminally unknown for his own blues rock releases. Tom Hambridge plays the drums throughout the album. After that there are two basic all-star sets of musicians. The first consists of David Grissom (guitar), Reese Wynans, (B3), and Michael Rhodes (bass). The second set consists of Rob McNeely (guitar), Kevin McKendree, (B3), and Tommy MacDonald (bass). As if the musicianship wasn’t enough in the above list, Buddy also has the following guest stars; Kid Rock, Gary Clark Jr., Beth Hart, Keith Urban, and Aerosmith’s Steven Tyler, Joe Perry and Brad Whitford, who all contribute something unique and interesting.
With two discs of quality material to pick from it’s difficult to discuss them all. Suffice to say there isn’t a bad track. So we’ll just discuss the highlights.
Disc 1: “Justifyin’” is the second track and it is a fast rockin’ powerhouse of a track. It’s amazing that Buddy can rip notes off his guitar at that rate at almost 77 years old. “I Go By Feel” slows things down as Buddy explains a conversation with an old blues teacher when he was younger and how the concept that feel is what sets a great musician apart from someone who is technically capable. You can throw all the notes at someone you want but there is that connection with a few simple notes where an artist can express all the emotion of the song. Buddy next teams up with Kid Rock to cover the appropriately named Elmore James tune “Messin’ with the Kid,” which Buddy played guitar on way back in 1965. Kid’s gruff voice actually meshes well with the attitude of the song. Shortly after that we get a cover, “One Day Away,” which was written by one of Buddy’s long time touring guitar players, Scott Holt, who is another artist everyone should check out. Keith Urban lends his country swagger to the song singing about telling someone you love them and the need to seize the day and to not wish one day away. Beth Hart steps up next and let’s everything rip on the spectacular track “What You Gonna Do About Me” as she trades lyrics with Buddy, proving once again why she is one of the powerhouse female vocalists of this generation.
Disc 2: The second disc starts out with a tribute to Buddy’s hometown with “Meet Me In Chicago.” Buddy lists the highlights of his hometown, like deep dish pizza, Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, Wabash Avenue, and in Buddy’s typical humble style he of course lists Buddy Guy playing the blues, which is reason enough to come to Chicago. “Evil Twin” brings the members of Aerosmith in for a straight up blues anthem. “All That Makes Me Happy is the Blues” is slow blues that is all about exactly what the song title says it is. Blues is known for being a genre of music about sadness, but it’s not meant to be sad. It’s really meant to be an uplifting release of all of our problems. The final track that stands out on here is collaboration with Gary Clark Jr. on the rollicking “Blues Don’t Care.”
Buddy will always be one of the legends of the blues. He has always blurred the lines between blues and rock and roll. Filled with his signature tone and that Buddy Guy attitude, Rhythm & Blues just continues to cement his legacy as one of the greatest guitar players.
(Kevin O’Rourke/Blues Rock Review)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

Disc 1
1. Best in Town
2. Justifyin'
3. I Go by Feel
4. Messin' with the Kid (featuring Kid Rock)
5. What's Up with That Woman
6. One Day Away (featuring Keith Urban)
7. Well I Done Got over It
8. What You Gonna Do About Me (featuring Beth Hart)
9. The Devil's Daughter
10. Whiskey Ghost
11. Rhythm Inner Groove

Disc 2
1. Meet Me in Chicago
2. Too Damn Bad
3. Evil Twin (featuring Steven Tyler, Joe Perry & Brad Whitford)
4. I Could Die Happy
5. Never Gonna Change
6. All That Makes Me Happy Is the Blues
7. My Mama Loved Me
8. Blues Don't Care (featuring Gary Clark jr.)
9. I Came Up Hard
10. Poison Ivy

Art-Nr.: 8245
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 15,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Matthews Band, Dave - come tomorrow [2018]
Endlich, nach sechs langen Jahren: Ein neues Studioalbum der Dave Matthews Band - handwerklich und musikalisch wieder auf höchstem Niveau. Sehr starke Vorstellung!

Hier ein Original U.S.-Review:

At some point in time a wise human accurately stated that what makes us happy are the little things. I’ll circle around to this sentence later on. For now, happy FriYAY, it’s a Dave Matthews Band album release Friday, so indeed, YAY! Come Tomorrow is the ninth chapter in the storied career of these jam-band Virginia legends, and the first offering since 2012’s Away From The World. Clocking in at roughly 55 minutes, this LP arrives at a time of need for balance and soothing simplistic stories that drift us away from the feather ruffling of everyday Hollywood and politics. Not that there is anything simple about Dave Matthews and his mates, but their complex sound does calm and bring smiles to those willing to delve in.
As previously stated, little things. It figures as we get older, people tend to find joy in everyday occurrences. Let’s not talk about government or our divided neighbors, let’s shy away from the music industry beefs and the unfair turbulence caused by the rich few. These topics have there importance, of course, but sometimes we just need a break. That is where Dave Matthews and the gang’s new offering chimes in. Come Tomorrow is a record about the simple things. Relatable material. In a world that’s taken a turn to Kafkaesque settings, Dave Matthews is another voice reminding us that maybe we could take a step back and enjoy – say it with me – the little things.
Album opener “Samurai Cop (Oh Joy Begin),” titled after a sub-par film released in 1991 with a cool title, is a drums-n-guitar driven power-ballad focused on the hopeful purity that overtakes us when a newborn arrives. By contrast, “Do You Remember” is an upbeat swanky mix of playful strings and horns that reflects on our time on this fickle Earth and what love is supposed to look like. Namesake “Come Tomorrow” is a mid-paced tune of both optimism and acquiesce. Croons Matthews “An old man spat and cursed as he spoke // It’s all going to hell and the whole world is broken // The little kid is busy making plans // To save the whole world // Along with that old man,” to a future generation that takes the reins and looks to fix our past missteps – at least that is the plan.
Material from yesteryear shines through on Come Tomorrow as well. The late great Mr. LeRoi Moore‘s notorious horns make a cameo on straight-out-of-the-vault anthems “Can’t Stop” and “Idea of You.” Rounding out the stronger core are the funky soul trappings of “Again and Again” and the longing tales of childhood on the maturely suave “Virginia In The Rain.” Nonetheless, the spectacular apotheosis within Come Tomorrow rests in the unlikely “That Girl Is You.” A tune detailing a casual meet cute that plays simple enough by tune, but is high and mighty through a seldom used gritty-falsetto from Matthews. This is Dave like you have never heard him before – and it is refreshing.
Overall, Come Tomorrow is a sane and vulnerable album. No outlandish statements are made and much of the material comes across as organic and synced. Per usual, Rashawn, Stefan, Carter, and the rest of the gang play it tight, play it right, and create beauty within the elation of sheer musicianship. There are no auto-tunes or computerized gimmicks of enhancement. Come Tomorrow is just a bunch of gifted artists making simple themed jams in a world looking to save itself, from itself. You know, the little things. Cheers!
(Andrés Alvarado/Loudsound Magazine)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Samurai Cop (Oh Joy Begin) - 4:22
2. Can't Stop - 4:43
3. Here On Out - 3:18
4. That Girl Is You - 3:16
5. She - 3:51
6. Idea Of You - 4:44
7. Virginia In The Rain - 6:09
8. Again And Again - 4:25
9. bkdkdkdd - 0:27
10. Black And Blue Bird - 3:33
11. Come On Come On - 4:39
12. Do You Remember - 4:17
13. Come Tomorrow - 4:46
14. When I'm Weary - 1:56

Art-Nr.: 9640
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 15,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
McBride, Martina - live in concert ~ cd & dvd [2008]
CD & DVD-Set! "Live CD with Bonus DVD" heißt es auf dem Verpackungs-Sticker dieses Sets, doch genau umgekehrt müßte es draufstehen: "Live DVD with Bonus CD"! Wie dem auch sei: Die vielen Fans der bezaubernden Martina McBride (und die, die es noch werden wollen) haben Grund zum Jubeln: Eine der besten Stimmen und erfolgreichsten Künstlerinnen der Countrymusic der letzten 15 Jahre beglückt ihre Anhänger mit einer über 2-stündigen, prächtigen Live-DVD (20 Songs) eines Konzertes ihrer aktuellen Tournee, aufgenommen am 29.9.2007 im "I-Wireless-Center" in Moline/Illinois! Die Künstlerin und ihre großartige Band sind in bester Verfassung und reißen das Publikum mit einem fantastischen Auftritt mit! Martina bringt nicht nur all ihre großen Hits, sondern überrascht auch mit ein paar zuvor nicht veröffentlichten Coverversionen, z.B. des Journey-Klassikers "Don't stop believein'" oder Pat Benatar's "Hit me with your best shot"! Ein herrliches Konzert! Neben der DVD enthält das Set auch noch eine Audio-CD dieser Show, auf der jedoch insgesamt lediglich 8 Tracks enthalten sind, einer davon ("Whatever you say") nicht auf der DVD! Der Fokus liegt also eibdeutig auf der DVD, und das ist auch gut so. Es ist kaum zu erwarten, dass man auf einer deutschen Bühne Martina McBride einmal live erleben kann, doch jetzt kommt sie zu ihren Fans nach Hause ins Wohnzimmer! Filmtechnisch und soundmäßig brillant in Szene gesetzt! Einfach wunderbar! Die DVD ist "code free" und auf jedem DVD-Player abspielbar!

Die komplette Setlist:

Disc 1:
1 Happy Girl - 3:33   
2 Anyway - 4:05   
3 Concrete Angel - 4:18   
4 From the Ashes - 4:47   
5 Whatever You Say - 5:58   
6 This One's for the Girls - 4:11   
7 Independence Day - 3:36   
8 Hit Me with Your Best Shot - 4:04   

DVD:
1 Anyway
2 When God-Fearin' Women Get the Blues
3 Wild Angels
4 My Baby Loves Me
5 Tryin' to Find a Reason
6 How I Feel
7 Happy Girl
8 (I Never Promised You A) Rose Garden
9 You Ain't Woman Enough
10 Help Me Make It Through the Night
11 Where Would You Be
12 Concrete Angel
13 For These Times
14 Medley: Love's the Only House/Blessed
15 This One's for the Girls
16 A Broken Wing
17 Independence Day
18 Don't Stop Believin'
19 Hit Me with Your Best Shot
20 Over the Rainbow

Art-Nr.: 5680
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 22,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
McEntire, Reba - keep on loving you [2009]
Reba's neue... - und es ist wieder ein prima Album geworden. Reba McEntire ist eine großartige Künstlerin, die es problemlos versteht, sich den Gegebenheiten des modernen Nashville's anzupassen, ohne auch nur im geringsten ihre Wurzeln zu leugnen. Genau das ist ihr hier bestens gelungen. So ist "Keep on loving you" ein modernes, überwiegend schön knackiges, kraftvolles Country-/New Country-/Contemporary Country-Album geworden, das typisch Reba ist, und eindrucksvoll offenbart, dass die Diva in Nashville's Gegenwart angekommen ist. Klasse!

Reba hat zu jedem einzelnen Stück des neuen Albums ein paar Gedanken und Statements preis gegeben, die wir nachstehend im Originaltext weitergeben:

1. "Strange" (Wendell Mobley, Jason Sellers, Neil Thrasher)
"I liked the way it has a lot of different melodies to it. It has great range, but the main reason I like it is because it's so sassy. I love the attitude of it. It's totally different, but it reminds me of the attitudes of `Can't Even Get the Blues.' I seem to have success with sassy attitude songs. This song is about a woman who has been left behind from her partner or boyfriend, and she is trying to feel sad, but it's just not working, so she's going on with her life. It's a strong woman song."

2. "Just When I Thought I'd Stopped Loving You" (Mark Nesler, Rivers Rutherford)
"This is the song that Rivers Rutherford wrote with Mark Nesler. I loved the beat and the melody. It reminded me of a Rascal Flatts song in the first part of it. It's really catchy. It's a song that I'd be singing the middle of the night when I woke up, so I knew it would be a great song when it is in your subconscious like that. I would say this is the least powerful woman song, because she is like, `Oh, I can't give in and take you back one more time, I can't,' but then she does. I hate to say it's a booty call song, but it does remind me of that. I guess this is my booty call song!"

3. "I Keep On Lovin' You" (Ronnie Dunn, Terry McBride)
"We were in the studio recording with Tony Brown, and Tony had said they were just finishing up some of the Brooks & Dunn songs. He said, `You ought to listen to this one song. I just love the song. I think it is wonderful. I think it can relate to a couple who have been together for a short time or a long time, but basically a long time. We've been through the highs and lows and ups and downs, we've fought and gotten back together, but no matter what we go through, I'm going to keep on loving you. I think it's an anniversary song."

4. "I Want a Cowboy" (Katrina Elam, Wayne Kirkpatrick, Jimmie Lee Sloas)
"Katrina Elam co-wrote this song. I am a huge fan of Katrina Elam. She is one of the best singers I've ever heard. I asked Tony to ask Katrina if I could cut `I Want a Cowboy.' She came in and sang some of the harmony on it too. It's a great kick-ass song that is good attitude. And I'm a cowgirl; I've rodeoed 10 years and I'm a third-generation rodeo brat, so I thought it was just perfect."

5. "Consider Me Gone" (Steve Diamond, Marv Green)
"It's a strong woman song. I'm sure there are tons of women who get the cold shoulder when the husband comes in from work. He's had a rough day and she's had three kids at home, especially if it's summer. He doesn't want to talk, something's going on and it's confrontation time. If you are giving me the cold shoulder, if you're not wanting to talk to me, and if things aren't getting any better and if I don't turn you on, consider me gone. Here's the way the cow eats the cabbage. It's like, let's poop or get off the pot. Tell it like it is. It's a pretty cool song and it's confrontation time. That is one thing that is wrong with relationships, that there's not enough communication."

6. "But Why" (Jason Sellers, Neil Thrasher)
"I love the melody. It's one of those love songs that I usually don't record. It's also a strong woman song: `I can do this by myself, but why would I want to when I can share it with you?' It's a real sweet love song. It's a very soft song."

7. "Pink Guitar" (Ed Hill, Jamie O'Neal, Shaye Smith)
"This is just a kick-ass fun song. I can see lots of little girls going, `Yeah, I want to play guitar.' When I was growing up, guitars were for boys; that was the men's instrument, especially an electric guitar. Girls could play an acoustic guitar. I remember the girl who played on one of the awards shows with Carrie Underwood. She got out there and played her butt off. That was when I found `Pink Guitar.' I said, `She's going to love this song.' I love the attitude of it. It's still country; it's almost like `Fancy.' This girl had this dream and she went on to survive and succeed. It's real cute and I love to sing it."

8. "She's Turning 50 Today" (Liz Hengber, Tommy Lee James, Reba McEntire)
"It's a song about a woman who found out that her husband left on Saturday for a woman who is half her age. She spent the day lying in bed, but then on Monday got up, loaded up her pickup truck and began a new chapter of her life. She went on with her life and didn't look back. I wrote the first two lines of `She's Turning 50 Today' and sent it to Liz Hengber. I said, `Why don't you work on this a little bit and email me back what you've got?' Two years went by, and I said, `Liz, what about that song?' She said, `Tommy Lee James and I are going to work on it. So by the time this album came around to start recording, they sent me an MP3 of it while I was in the studio. I rewrote the second verse to make it more personal and relate to me when I left Stringtown, Oklahoma, in 1987. So in a way it's about me leaving a relationship, but it was certainly years ago, but put the two together."

9. "Eight Crazy Hours (In the Story of Love)" (Leslie Satcher, Darrell Scott) "This is a song I was on the fence about because it was so deep that I just didn't know how to take it. And so I let Autumn McEntire Sizemore, my niece, listen to it. She started crying and said, `You've got to record this song.' I let more people listen to it and they were like, `Oh my gosh!' It didn't hit me as hard as it did a lot of other people. I guess I haven't had to get away. I think my music is my release. Whenever I am menopausal or whatever, I can release things in my music when I sing. That is my therapy. It touched so many people that I recorded it. When I sang it live it choked me up so much that I couldn't get through it. This woman has a meltdown and she is just putting sheets on the bed and winds up in a bunch of dirty clothes on the floor, crying her eyes out. She checks into a cheap motel and lets it all out, crying in the bathtub. It was just as simple as picking up the kids and she's back in life again. She just needed to go away and take time for herself. Eight hours later, they're sitting around table eating chicken and laughing. It's eight crazy hours and the story of love."

10. "Nothing To Lose" (Kim Fox)
"Nothing to Lose" was on Melonie Cannon's album. When I was working with (Melonie's father) Buddy Cannon years ago, he gave it to me. I love Melonie's voice. `Nothing to Lose' was one of those songs that I said, `Man, if I could ever record that...,' so I did. I told everybody, `I want to feature the band on this,' so we let the band play two or three times. Everybody had an instrumental. It's about a woman leaving on the bus going down to Georgia. She doesn't know where she's going and doesn't know what lies ahead, but she doesn't care. It's another strong woman song."

11. "Over You" (Michael Dulaney, Steven Dale Jones, Jason Sellers)
"Whew! That is a sad song, kind of like Anne Steele. It's a beautiful melody. (My husband) Narvel said he loved this song. He would play the demo over and over. It's just one of those about `I knew the day would come when we would see each other again. You look great and got on with your life, but I'm still not over you.' It's really sad."

12. "Maggie Creek Road" (Karen Rochelle, James Slater)
"We were in the studio and I was having trouble with my resonance; I wasn't getting my soft voice at all. During lunch I saw Dr. Richard Quisling, my throat doctor in Nashville, and he opened up my sinuses or resonances or something. I came back to the studio and started singing again and Tony Brown's mouth dropped open, `My gosh, what did he do to you?' `He lasered out a little infection.' I put Dr. Quisling on my album thanks-yous. He is just a miracle worker. I had been on the fence about this song, but Tony really wanted me to record it. While I was coming back in, I said, `Let's do `Maggie Creek Road' next,' and he said, `Yes!' It's about this woman who has a daughter that is almost déjà vu for this mother. The little girl is leaving with evidently an older man on a date. This is what happened to the mother 20 years ago. She isn't going to let history repeat itself, so she follows them. They are parked down by the river and she opens the door and takes care of the situation. As the song says, `You don't want to see Mama go to war.' Mama was protecting her daughter. It's one of those swampy Louisiana songs with that feel."

13. "I'll Have What She's Having" (Jimmy Melton, Georgia Middleman)
"This is a cute song. I loved it the first time I heard it. They had horns on it and I said, `Of course we'll change it to fiddle and steel guitar.' It's real sassy. A woman is walking into a bar and she's looking for a man. She sees a woman having a good time, dancing with a man. `I'll have what she's having... and by the way, that looks hot.' We'll have fun with it onstage."

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1 Strange - 3:00   
2 Just When I Thought I'd Stopped Loving You - 3:50   
3 I Keep on Lovin' You - 3:13   
4 I Want a Cowboy - 3:39   
5 Consider Me Gone - 3:38   
6 But Why - 3:28   
7 Pink Guitar - 2:53   
8 She's Turning 50 Today - 4:05   
9 Eight Crazy Hours (In the Story of Love) - 4:04   
10 Nothing to Lose - 4:47   
11 Over You - 3:56   
12 Maggie Creek Road - 4:50   
13 I'll Have What She's Having - 2:59

Art-Nr.: 6516
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
McKenna, Lori - the tree [2018]
Eine der am meisten respektierten und profiliertesten Singer-Songwriterinnen der Gegenwart beglückt uns erneut mit einem bestechend schönen, geradezu hinreißenden, neuen Album. Ihr voriges Werk, "The bird and the rifle" erhielt 3 Grammy-Nominierungen und heimste wahnsinnig viel Aufmerksamkeit bei der Americana Music Association ein. Außerdem schrieb sie im Jahre 2016 Geschichte, als sie als erste Frau überhaupt zum zweiten Mal hintereinander die Auszeichnung "Song auf the year" der amerikanischen Country Music Association gewann, und zwar für ihre Kompositionen von Little Big Town's "Girl crush" und Tim McGraw's "Humble and kind" Beide Songs waren dann auch noch bei den Grammys 2017 auf der Gewinnerlist. Ja, vor allem in der Countrywelt ist Lori McKenna als Songwriterin höchst etabliert. Aber was sie hier wieder an eigenem Material und eigener Musikalität abliefert, ist einfach faszinierend. "The tree" nimmt den Zuhörer mit auf eine von traumhafter Melodik geprägte Reise durch entspannte, manchmal etwas melancholische Gefilde, von sehr fein instrumentierter und abgestimmter Singer Songwriter-Kunst, veredelt in wunderbaren, semi-akustischen, meist sehr entspannten Full Band-Arrangements zwischen Americana, Roots, Folk und Country.Ihr Songwriting ist schlicht grandios und stellt sie längst auf eine Stufe mit Größen wie Patty Griffin, Mary Chapin Carpenter und Lucinda Williams. Exzellent produziert hat übrigens erneut der momentan allgegenwärtige "Guru" Dave Cobb (u.a. Chris Stapleton).11 absolute, neue Songperlen von Lori McKenna. Höchst beeindruckend, charismatisch und wunderschön!

Hier noch ein Original U.S.-Review:

It's difficult to know where to start when praising Lori McKenna's "The Tree." It's so good in so many ways. Artists like Little Big Town and Tim McGraw have benefited greatly from recording McKenna songs, yet it's unlikely many mainstream country music fans recognize her name. Fans of Miranda Lambert and Kacey Musgraves, two women that consistently and effectively write straight from the heart, would love McKenna's songs -- if only given the chance.
McKenna writes with incisive emotional intelligence, which is why "A Mother Never Rests," a song praising mothers, deftly avoids anything resembling cliché or simplistic sentimentality. Lines like, "She only sits for a minute/She's a hummingbird in the living room," paint an accurate picture that trumps any Hallmark card. McKenna closes with "Like Patsy Would," which finds her aiming to "sing it like Patsy (Cline) would." And to prove her point, she writes and performs a few songs that Cline would have been proud to sing, and she sings them just like a broken-hearted Cline. "You Won't Even Know I'm Gone," sung over a simple, finger-picked arrangement, is an underappreciated woman's goodbye note. It's as heartfelt and tragic as "By the Time I Get to Phoenix." "You Can't Break A Woman" also details a bad relationship, only in the case, the woman has decided to stick it out and stay. "Whiskey breath don't faze her anymore," she concedes.
Two of the centerpiece songs concern aging. "People Get Old" grapples with the mystery of aging. "If we live long enough, the people we love get old," McKenna muses. This is track is followed by "Young and Angry Again," a song that longs for youthful days of irresponsibility. Country radio is oversaturated with songs about high school glory days, but McKenna reaches for feelings far deeper than mere memories of high school sweethearts; she wants to recapture an elusive mindset only found in the young.
The title track meditates on identity. As much as we like to think of ourselves as dynamic and ever-changing, the saying "The apple never falls far from the tree" oftentimes proves too true. No matter how far we may think we've strayed from our roots, we're sometimes more like that stable and unmovable tree than we'd like to believe. We rarely move too far away from the house that built us.
Lori McKenna's "The Tree" can be likened to a long and meaningful evening with a dear friend, where the conversation delves deeply into the most significant issues in life. Sometimes it hurts. Sometimes it heals, but it's always never less than unavoidably engaging.
(Dan MacIntosh / Country Standard Time)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. A Mother Never Rests - 2:45
2. The Fixer - 3:28
3. People Get Old - 3:42
4. Young and Angry Again - 3:37
5. The Tree - 3:23
6. You Won't Even Know I'm Gone - 2:17
7. Happy People - 3:26
8. You Can't Break a Woman - 3:13
9. The Lot Behind St. Mary's - 3:30
10. The Way Back Home - 3:02
11. Like Patsy Would - 2:58

Art-Nr.: 9655
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 14,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
A mother never rests
The fixer
Young and angry again
The tree
Happy people
You can't break a woman
Like Patsy would

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Runaway June - blue roses [2019]
Großartiges, erfrischendes Debutalbum von Runaway June, einem Mädels-Trios aus Nashville/TN, bestehend aus Naomi Cooke (lead vocals and guitar), Hannah Mulholland (vocals and mandolin) und Jennifer Wayne (vocals and guitar). Ausgestattet mit immensem gesanglichen Potential (die Harmonie-Gesänge sind wundervoll) präsentieren diese "Countrygirls" eine mit viel Hit-Potential ausgestattete Mischung aus gut gelauntem, von tollen Melodien und sehr schönen Arrangements geprägtem (vorwiegend in knackigem Gitarrensound), musikalisch exzellent dargebotenem New Country und Country-Pop, glücklicherweise ohne aufgesetzte, Genre-fremde Schnörkel. Das ist weitestgehend handgemachte Musik, bei der die absolute Studioelite Nashville's am Start ist, wie etwa Dan Dugmore, Ross Copperman, Tom Bukovac, Dann Huff (der auch produzierte) Tony Lucido, Nir Z, Ilya Toshinsky, und, und, und. Die Songs gehen riunter wie Öl, sorgen unweigerlich für gute Laune und ein "sonniges" Gemüt. Enthält u. a. eine sehr starke Coverversion von Dwight Yoakam's großem Hit "Fast as you". Herrlich auch das wunderbare Titelstück "Blue roses", eine waschechte, lupenreine Countryballade mit zeitlos schöner Melodie. Die Drei überzeugen auf ganzer Linie. Tolle Musik für die Fans solcher Bands und Kolleginnen wie Little Big Town, Pistol Annies, Lady Antebellum, Jennifer Nettles und Sugarland, und vsicher auch der guten, alten Dixie Chicks.

Hier noch ein Original U.S.-Review:

Country trio Runaway June are comprised of r. Naomi Cooke on lead vocals and guitar; Hannah Mulholland on vocals and mandolin and Jennifer Wayne on vocals and guitar. The girls have become the first all female trio to gain two country top 40 hits in a decade and their new album Blue Roses is released in the same month as their name – a fitting choice for a light and fun summer album of sweet country pop.
Opener Head Over Heels is a fresh and feisty break up song about getting over someone – a kind of New Rules for the country genre. Then we have their hit Buy Your Own Drinks, which brings some Miranda Lambert level of sass to the album. It’s a great song, an independent women drinking anthem which has even done well at country radio – a miracle in this day and age.
We Were Rich is a lovely moment, showing a more vulnerable side to the group. The song is drenched in the nostalgia of childhood, telling stories of growing up poor but happy. This is one of the few songs on the album not written by the band but they sell it like it’s their own story. Maybe a rootsier production style would have silenced the genre purists but it’s engaging nevertheless.
Got Me Where I Want You shows off their beautiful harmonies. Trouble With This Town enlists songwriting help from Liz Rose, and the results are catchy and reminiscent of Carrie Underwood, who the band have been supporting on tour recently.
The choice to cover Dwight Yoakam’s Fast As You should be applauded, showing these girls care about honouring the greats of country genre. In their hands it’s a sassy slice of fun, with some sweet banjo making it one of the most enjoyable moments on the album.
Blue Roses is a classic country ballad, a wistful moment of sadness to finish the album using the central flower metaphor to lovely effect. Dolly herself would be proud to sing this one.
My only concern for Runaway June is that we are working in a social media age where personality helps to sell the music so when you’re a group it is harder for your audience to get to connect with you individually. Compared to groups like Pistol Annies, I’m With Her and The Highwoman who were known personalities first, you feel Runaway June are playing catch up a little. Still with the return of the Dixie Chicks imminent maybe the time for the revival of great country girl groups is now.
Blue Roses is an enjoyable debut album and there there is much potential here. I hope that country music gives this band enough attention to allow them to gain success they deserve. (Michelle Lindsey / Highway Queens)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Head Over Heels - 3:09
2. Buy My Own Drinks - 3:26
3. We Were Rich - 3:38
4. I Know The Way - 3:08
5. Trouble With This Town - 2:59
6. Got Me Where I Want You - 3:14
7. Fast As You - 3:15
8. I Am Too - 3:02
9. Good, Bad & Ugly - 3:04
10. Blue Roses - 3:25

Art-Nr.: 9844
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Neuheit || Typ: CD || Preis: € 14,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Sugarland - love on the inside ~ deluxe fan edition [2008]
Deluxe Fan-Edition mit 5 Bonustracks! Erfrischend , lebendig, wunderbar! Sugarland (Jennifer Nettles und Kristian Bush) setzen auch mit ihrem von den Fans heiß herbeigesehnten dritten Album konsequent ihren musikalisch eingeschlagenenWeg fort und werden dabei immer besser! Nettles' Stimme war nie kraftvoller, variabler und stärker, Bush's Harmonies, sein Acoustic Gitarren- und Mandolinenspiel waren nie vielfältiger. Dieses Duo ist mit seinem durchaus in Traditionen verwurzelten, aber so modernen, knackigen, dabei alles andere als glamourösen, sondern stets erdigen, exakt auf den Punkt produzierten New Contry-/Country-Rockpop-Sound eine wahre Wohltat für Nashville! Das Album erscheint in den USA in zwei Ausgaben, einer "normalen" Version mit 12 neuen Tracks und einer sogenannten "Deluxe Fan-Edition" mit 5 zusätzlichen Bonustracks! Darüber hinaus kommt die Deluxe-Ausgabe in einer speziellen, edlen Digipack-Verpackung inklusive eines alle Texte und viele Fotos enthaltenden, 20-seitigen Booklets und der Zugangsmöglichkeit zu exklusivem Video-Material. Also, keine Frage: Die "aufgemotzte" Ausgabe ist definitiv die, die es sich lohnt zu kaufen - und deshalb bieten wir auch ausschließlich diese an! Insgesamt ist das Songmaterial im Vergleich zu den beiden mega-erfolgreichen Vorgängern vielleicht etwas "verhaltener" ausgefallen. Will heißen: Der Anteil an Balladen hat im Vergleich zu den Uptempo-Nummern leicht zugenommen. Dennoch strotzt auch dieses Album vor Dynamik und Energie - und das Songmaterial ist einfach nur klasse! Ohne Ausnahme! Toll beispielsweise der froh gelaunte Opener "All I want to do" (gleichzeitig die erste Single und bereits auf dem besten Wege die nächste Nr. 1 des Duos zu werden), mit seinen kernigen Slide Gitarren-Licks (großartig: Gitarren-As Michael Landau), dem trockenen Ambiente und dem wundervollen "Ooh hu hu hu hu"-Mitsing-Refrain, der knackige, sehr melodische Uptempo Rockin' Country-Shuffle/-Boogie "It happens", der traumhafte, einfach herrlich ins Ohr gehende Country-Stomper "We run" mit seinen vitalen Acoustic Gitarren-Rhythmen, dem knackigen Drumming und großartigen Akkordeon-Spiel, die exzellente, leicht folkig angehauchte, einmal mehr wundervoll melodische, Mandolinen-getränkte Country-Ballde "Genevieve", das entspannte "Already gone", der satte, rockige, ungemein melodische Knaller "Take me as I am", das rootsige, viel Americana-Feeling aufbauende, von schöner Slide, Steelguitar und einem klasse Traditional Country-Rhythmus bestimmte "Steve Earle" (einer Huldigung der beiden an die große Roots-/Alternate Country-Ikone), und die wunderschöne, getragene, ruhige, kristallklar in Szene gesetzte, reine Country-Ballade "Very last country song" - eine traumhafte Nummer! Die fünf, auf der Fan-Edition zusätzlich enthaltenen Songs (3 weitere neue Studio-Tracks und 2 bärenstarke, bislang auch nicht als Studioversion existierende Live-Nummern) reihen sich nahtlos an den hohen Qualitätsstandard der übrigen Stücke an und sind somit für den geneigten Sugarland- und New Country-Fan ebenso unverzichtbar! Erwähnenswert hier besonders die brillante Live-Fassung des Achtziger Jahre-/Dream Academy-Klassikers "Life in a northern town", das am 13. Dezember 2007 in Fayettevill/North Carolina während der gemeinsamen US-Tour von Sugarland mit Little Big Town und Jake Owen mitgeschnitten wurde, die sich auch alle gesanglich an dieser tollen Intepretation beteiligten. Sugarland sind und bleiben mit "Love on the inside" (vielleicht sogar ihr ausgereiftestes, bestes Album) eines der absoluten Zugpferde Nashvilles in Sachen knackigem, modernem, qualitativ gochwertigem New Country, inklusive "eingebauter" Hit- und Chart-Garantie! Ein tolles Album - und darüber hinaus mit über 71 Minuten Spielzeit ein wirklich prall gefüll

Ganz interessant: Ein offizieller Sugaland "Song by Song"-Überblick (im Original):

"All I Want To Do"
The duo’s intent here was to have a lot of swing to the lead single of this album. To funk it up a bit, and keep it very hooky. Musically, this number’s somewhere between Bonnie Raitt and Jack Johnson, with some Marvin Gaye and Van Halen thrown in. "I love the flirty sound," says Jennifer Nettles. "We just always want to bring different energies, and we got to play on the lighter side this time." If you listen close, the easy percussion from Matt Chamberlain gives the song its sexy heartbeat.

"It Happens"
Sometimes, you just gotta let go. That’s what this gritty little tune’s all about, says the duo. "We always say we should take the music seriously, but not ourselves," Nettles says. When the guitar comes in at the top, you know this is going to be a little more 80s pop than down-home country. Think "Walking on Sunshine". Because this tune wraps it all up with some very advisable lyrics: "Let go, laughing". And Nettles thinks the ironies, like getting in a fender bender with your ex and his new girl, shows listeners what a grand sense of humor the universe has. It’s a very uptempo way to look at a world that’s out of your control.

"We Run"
New love. Young love. Green love. There’s an excitement to that experience that Sugarland has captured in this intoxicating bluegrassy rocker. Nettles admits this grew from a seed of an idea that Bush had, since he grew up playing mountain music in Tennessee. And this song lends itself to that Appalachian sound, that driving four-on-the-floor beat. You can’t really describe that feeling, so the duo chose to show it rather than tell it. The imagery--of pockets of dirt and reckless weather on the breath--convey how beautiful, messy and powerful love can be.

"Joey"
Teenage love doesn’t always have a happy ending. Especially when a tear-jerker like Bill Anderson has pen in hand. He helped Nettles and Bush craft this modern take on the traditional teen tragedy, and yet much more alternative influences went into the vocals. "We ended up with a haunting wail in the chorus and this R.E.M. background vocal," says Bush of the melancholy music. "It’s simple and dark." The rich texture of this song is built around all those "what ifs" that run through your mind as you explore regret. "Nothing mitigates loss," says Nettles "But everyone has regrets, so we can all relate."

"Love"
Nettles’ powerhouse pipes take center stage in this ballad. And that strength comes though in the form of questions, about how you can possibly define love. Is it the face of a child? Kindness in the eyes of a stranger? In a hotel room in Washington D.C., when Sugarland was chasing down the theme of the whole album, the topic of love came up. "No way could you ever narrow it down," Nettles says of their writing time with Tim Owens ("Settlin’"). There’s love lost, love found, new and old loves. So this tune gets right in the middle, and makes some reaches musically. Bush’s powerful voice is featured for the second half of this song. "When we were writing the back half, Jen said ‘I want you to sing these words I wrote just for you,’" recalls Bush. "I will always feel special singing those words."

"Genevieve"
Nettles said that Bush had the whole first verse worked out. That verse--and his pure, sweet mandolin work--were inspiring enough. But when the idea for some three-part harmony came up, it only made this dirge of a country heartache even better. Nettles says it reminded her of some of the southern Baptist hymns she grew up on, and likes that the story’s not clear cut. "It’s a beautiful thing when we get to play characters that are complicated." There’s a mystery of who this character is that is coping with such a dramatic loss. It’s a little twisted. But that creates an even stronger pull into the lyrics.

"Already Gone"
A waltz-time lope? On a country album? Writing with Bobby Pinson ("Want To"), the duo was determined to do a song in six-eight. And to keep it very personal. "This is the story of coming of age, literally and emotionally," says Nettles. And it’s such a healing tale, about a woman who is growing up, leaving home, falling in love and saying goodbye.

"Keep You"
Is it possible to write an emotional song about being numb? It’s like writing a song about being loud by being quiet, Nettles and Bush think. That irony, blended with a bittersweet epiphany of knowing it’s time to walk away, make this one of the most contemporary done-me-wrong songs of our time. "Subtlety and nuance make all the difference in this song. Painting emotions with broad strokes is easy, but this time we’re using a toothbrush to dig through the finer emotions," says Nettles, comparing the duo to archeologists. And the vocal range she plays with throughout keep this song on the edgier side, because of the way she explodes into huge notes that few singers can even attempt.

"Take Me As I Am"
When the curtain opens, there’s a woman in a hotel room at night. As the song unravels, so does the mystery of why she’s there. In this character-driven narrative, with a Pat Benatar influence and some solid electric guitar work, the empowering message is clear. When you reach that point, when you are comfortable in your own skin, the line about "I’m not perfect, but I’m worth it" makes all the sense in the world. This could very well be the anthem of the unsung heroes who walk among us every day. "This is a very grown-up place to get to in your life," Nettles explains.

"What I’d Give"
Written with Kenny Chesney’s long-time lead guitarist Clayton Mitchell, this one builds a lingering story around some Faces era guitar and mandolin stylings. The kind that Sugarland thinks make for a story of their own. Usually in country, the song ends when the bow is tied off neatly with a lyric. But after the last lyric ends, they still had more to say musically. Nettles vocals are sultrier than they’ve ever been, and she likes the romantic implications of the lyrics. And both she and Bush agree that if you aren’t making out halfway into this six-minute yearning, then you aren’t ever going to be.

"Steve Earle"
If you know anything about Steve Earle, this song will thrill you with its comic pining for his songwriting. If you don’t know him, it’ll certainly pique your curiosity. Both Nettles and Bush share a fondness for Earle’s brand of country. It taught them that country was still viable, and gave them confidence to reimagine the sound. And when the duo found out what a shameless romantic Earle was, they had to set all his comings and goings to music. This upbeat barn burner fueled by a big pedal steel, is a playful way to process a painful subject. Nettles looks at it this way: "There comes a point in life of a troubadour when the character can become heroic. Even legendary."

"Very Last Country Song"
Aptly named, the last song on the album is a look at what would happen if nothing ever went wrong again. "If life stayed the way it was, if those conditions weren’t in our lives, then this would literally be the last country song," says Nettles. Everything is as it should be was the impetus and inspiration behind this song. Co-writer Tim Owens told the duo that someone had once asked him why country music was always so sad. Owens’ answer was that if bad things never happened, then what would we have to write about? The ethereal tones underneath this song stay quiet enough so the insight into the human condition can be felt. Like when you can hear Nettles smile as she sings the verse that looks back on the unexpected joy of an unexpected child.

Plus 5 Bonus-Tacks:

Fall Into Me 4:46
Operation: Working Vacation 3:59
Wishing 4:11
Life In A Northern Town (Live) 4:14
Come On Get Higher (Live)

Art-Nr.: 5848
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 18,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Tritt, Travis - the calm after... [2013]
Travis Tritts erstes Album seines neuen Labels "Post Oak Recordings" ist die Wiederveröffentlichung seines bis dato letzten Werkes aus dem Jahre 2007, plus zwei brandneue Tracks. "The storm" hieß das Album damals, das allerdings relativ schnell wieder aus den Regalen verschwand, da es wegen rechtlicher Differenzen mit Tritts altem Label gestrichen wurde. Nun ist dieses klasse Teil endlich wieder erhältlich, und zwar komplett remastered, und, wie gesagt mit zwei vollkommen neuen Tracks - und die haben es in sich. Das erste neue Stück isr eine exzellente Coverversion des alten Achtziger Jahre-Klassikers von Patty Smyth und Don Henley, "Sometimes love just ain't enough", den Tritt hier mit seiner 15-jährigen Tochter Tyker Resse als Duettpartnerin vorträgt. Die junge Dame macht das großartig. So wie Tyler Reese hier in Erscheinung trott, darf man wohl davon ausgehen, dass auch sie das Potential für eine große Karriere hat. Die zweite neue Nummer ist ebenfalls ein Cover, und zwar eine brodelnde Fassung des alten Faces-Heulers "Stay with me", den Tritt hier ordentlich southernrockig zum Besten gibt. Endlich wieder neues Material von Travis Tritt - auch wenn's "nur" diese remasterte Wiederveröffentlichung mit den zwei tollen, neuen Stücken ist. Aber er verspricht im Booklet jede Menge weiteres, neues Material. Die Vorfreude darauf wächst - und diese Teil ist der perfekte Anheizer dafür...

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Mudcat Moan Prelude / You Never Take Me Dancing - 5:29
2. (I Wanna) Feel Too Much - 4:03
3. Doesn't the Good Outweigh the Bad - 4:23
4. Sometimes Love Just Ain't Enough (Feat. Tyler Reese Tritt) - 4:50
5. What If Love Hangs On - 4:02
6. Rub off on Me - 4:40
7. Stay with Me - 4:41
8. Something Stronger Than Me - 3:39
9. The Storm - 4:42
10. I Don't Know How I Got By - 3:45
11. The Pressure Is On - 3:54
12. Should've Listened - 3:30
13. High Time for Gettin' Down - 2:43
14. Somehow, Somewhere, Someway 5:43

Art-Nr.: 8230
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 13,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Sometimes love just ain't enough
Stay with me

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


|| Weiter