Artikel 1 bis 1 von 1 gefundenen...


Garcia Band, Jerry - garcia live vol. 13: 09/16/1989, poplar creek music theatre [2020]
2 CD-Set! Teil 13 der so geschätzten und beliebten GarciaLive-Reihe aus den schier endlosen Archiven des charismatischen Grateful Dead-Gitarristen Jerry Garcia ist da. Die neue Ausgabe beleuchtet die legendäre '89iger Tour der Jerry Garcia Band, und zwar mit der erstmaligen Veröffentlichung ihres fantastischen Konzertes vom 16. September 1989 im Poplar Creek Music Theatre von Chicago. Die begnadete Band Garcia's mit John Kahn, David Kemper, Melvin Seals, Gloria Jones, and Jacklyn LaBranch, wurde bei einigen Gigs dieser Tour durch einen großen Namen erweitert, nämlich "the big man himself", Clarence Clemons von Bruce Springsteen's E-Street Band am Saxophon. Clemons bereicherte mit seinem famosen Spiel die Jammings und damit den Shows in unnachahmlicher Art und Weise. Diese Garcia-Shows mit ihm, so auch der Auftritt in Chicago, waren etwas ganz Besonderes. Die hervorragende Setlist bestand aus damit sehr raren Versionen vieler Garcia/Hunter-Standards, wie "Cats under the stars" oder "They love each other", aber auch höchst interessanten Covers wie beispielsweise Dylan's "I shall be released", The Beatles' "Dear Prudence", The Band's "The night they drove old dixie down" und vor allem einer raren, jammigen 10 Minuten-Fassung des Rolling Stones-Klassikers "Let's spend the night together". Diese Veröffentlichung ist erneut ein echtes Highlight für Deadheads und Garcia-Fans.

Hier die Original-Produktbeschreibung durch "Garcia Family Provisions":

It’s with great pleasure we share news of the next installment in the GarciaLive series — GarciaLive Volume 13: September 16th, 1989 Poplar Creek Music Theatre. For some, the number thirteen is filled with superstition, but we can comfortably say GarciaLive Volume 13 will only brighten your doorstep upon release on Friday, April 24th. The new release, like the previously issued Pure Jerry: Merriweather Post Pavilion, September 1 & 2, 1989 and Fall 1989: The Long Island Sound, once again puts a spotlight on the Jerry Garcia Band’s legendary September ’89 run, but with one BIG addition — the Big Man, Clarence Clemons.
Clemons, the tenor saxophone giant from Bruce Springsteen’s E Street Band, joined the tour at the Meadowlands in northern New Jersey after first linking up with Garcia at the Grateful Dead’s New Year’s Eve 1988 performance in Oakland. Though he wasn’t well versed in the JGB’s repertoire at the start, Clarence’s deep knowledge of R&B and rock-n-roll made him a decidedly quick study — and by the time they hit Poplar Creek for the tour closer, they were really rolling! Garcia, already enjoying one of his best latter-day years following his recovery from a near-death experience, was in particularly fine form. His playing dexterous and down-right otherworldly at times. And as Blair Jackson writes in the liner notes, “Clarence is right there with him, bleating and honking and purring and sounding like all his influences—from Maceo Parker and Lee Allen to King Curtis and Junior Walker—rolled into one powerful package that was unmistakably Clarence Clemons. He’s definitely not laying back, and his assertiveness clearly pushes Garcia to play harder and louder and funkier at every turn.” While the setlist is fairly standard for the era, Clemons helps the band find new heights on old staples like The Band’s “The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down,” The Beatles’ “Dear Prudence” and a pair of Garcia/Hunter originals, “Cats Under The Stars” and “They Love Each Other.” One relative rarity of note is a positively blistering take on The Rolling Stones’ romp “Let’s Spend The Night Together”, dusted off earlier in the year after having been absent since ’76, which closes set one spectacularly. Top to bottom, this one is filled with magic — and we’re delighted to share it with you.

Die komplette Setlist:

Disc 1:
1. Cats Under the Stars - 9:32
2. They Love Each Other - 8:26
3. Let It Rock - 8:59
4. I Shall Be Released - 9:53
5. Someday Baby - 8:17
6. Dear Prudence - 11:05
7. Let's Spend the Night Together - 10:39

Disc 2:
1. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You) - 7:55
2. Knockin' on Heaven's Door - 11:45
3. Think - 9:45
4. Waiting for a Miracle - 7:03
5. Evangeline - 5:51
6. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down - 10:34
7. Tangled Up in Blue - 12:22

Art-Nr.: 10043
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 17,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!