Artikel 1 bis 15 von 51 gefundenen...

[1-15] [16-30] [31-45] [46-60]

 
Allman, Devon - ride or die [2016]
Prächtiges, neues Werk von Greg Allman's Sohn (ex Royal Southern Brotherhood), der wirklich immer reifer und stärker wird. "Ride or die" zeigt ihn in exzellenter Verfassung. Blues, Rock, Bluesrock, Soul, Roots mit viel Southern-Esprit, verziert mit großartigem Gitarrenspiel, bei dem der Funke sofort überspringt. Großartig!

Aus der Original U.S.-Produktbeschreibung:

Son of Greg Allman, Devon Allman's `RIDE OR DIE` is his third solo record for RUF Records. The album contains twelve soulful and powerful tracks that showcase Allman's maturity as a songwriter, a singer, and his continuous evolution into one of the top guitarist on the scene today. Co- produced along with Grammy winning Tom Hambridge, Allman takes you on a journey through his own intimate back roads and personal highways. It's an emotional journey that takes you through the mountain highs and valley lows, while sheltered from the storms under melodic choruses, surrounded by verses rich with powerful messages throughout some of the deepest material that he has ever written and recorded. There is no doubt that his family's musical DNA has graced Devon Allman with that "Allman Soul,"¯ but there is clearly no denying that he puts his personal stamp and his own style, of bending and twisting the blues, into his own Devon Allman brand.`RIDE OR DIE` defines where the artist is today.
Last year Devon received praise from Guitar Player Magazine as they referred to his last CD `Ragged and Dirty` as `powerful, soulful vocals to dig-in-and-let-fly guitar work.` Now on `RIDE OR DIE,` it just gets more soulful. It is definitely Allmanā TMs most powerful recording yet. The new album shows an artist in full, self assured command.

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Say Your Prayers - 3:15
2. Find Ourselves - 3:10
3. Galaxies - 4:57
4. Lost - 4:32
5. Shattered Times - 3:31
6. Watch What You Say - 4:18
7. Vancouver - 4:13
8. Pleasure & Pain - 4:07
9. Hold Me - 2:26
10. Live from the Heart - 4:49
11. Butterfly Girl - 4:35
12. A Night Like This - 4:20

Art-Nr.: 9275
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Bishop, Elvin - can't even do wrong right [2014]
Blueslegende Elvin Bishop, Gründungsmitglied er Original Paul Butterfield Blues Band, ,ot einem neuen, großartigen Album über das das berühmte "Guitar World"-Magazin schreibt: "Rousing, down-home, feel-good music with spunky rhythms and razor-sharp slide. Bishop's a superb guitarist of great strength and skill - a rockin' good time". Viele Experten bezeichnen "Can't even do wrong right" gar als eines der besten Alben seiner Karriere.

Hier die Original-Produktbeschreibung:

Legendary blues guitarist/songwriter/vocalist Elvin Bishop returns to Alligator Records with CAN'T EVEN DO WRONG RIGHT. With his ''so-loose-they're-tight'' road band behind him, along with friends Charlie Musselwhite and Mickey Thomas, Bishop has created one of the best albums of his career. CAN'T EVEN DO WRONG RIGHT finds Bishop playing, writing and singing some of the most spirited and distinctive blues and roots music today. The CD proves that Bishop is as vital and creative an artist now as he was when he first hit the national scene in 1965 with The Paul Butterfield Blues Band. He is as slyly good-humored and instantly crowd-pleasing as he was when he was scoring Southern rock-styled hits during the 1970s. For five decades, he has never stopped touring or releasing instantly recognizable music featuring his groundbreaking playing, easygoing vocals, witty lyrics and good-time humor.
CAN'T EVEN DO WRONG RIGHT, with hilariously spot-on cover art by musician/artist Paul Thorn, finds Bishop firing on all cylinders and having fun while doing it. With this album, Bishop has created another highlight in a career that covers fifty years and over 20 albums. Five of the songs are Bishop originals, including ''Let Your Woman Have Her Way,'' on which Bishop's friend Mickey Thomas sings lead (this is the first time Thomas, the ex-Jefferson Starship singer, has recorded with Bishop since he provided vocals on Bishop's classic hit ''Fooled Around And Fell In Love''). An outstanding instrumental version of Jimmy Reed's ''Honest I Do'' harkens back to Elvin's childhood: this was the very first blues song he heard coming from Nashville's WLAC, the late night 50,000 watt powerhouse R&B radio station, beaming all the way to his Oklahoma home. In the 1950s in Oklahoma, everything was racially separated except the radio (''They couldn't segregate the airwaves,'' Bishop recalls). With the addition of his Grammy Award-winning pal Charlie Musselwhite on harmonica on ''Old School'' and ''No More Doggin ,'' CAN'T EVEN DO WRONG RIGHT hits its target at every turn.
As Bishop continues to tour and release new music, his stature continues to grow. Through the years his music has appeared in film and television, including the 1997 use of She Puts Me In The Mood (from his Alligator album Big Fun) in Quentin Tarantino's Jackie Brown. In 2005 he performed on the internationally televised Grammy Awards broadcast alongside Keith Urban, Tim McGraw, Gretchen Wilson, Lynyrd Skynyrd and Allman Brothers' guitarist Dickey Betts. He recently appeared in the documentary Born In Chicago. In 2012 and 2013 he was nominated for inclusion into the Rock And Roll Hall Of Fame as a member of The Paul Butterfield Blues Band.
Now, with CAN'T EVEN DO WRONG RIGHT, Bishop again is ready to share his happy-go-lucky vibe with his fans around the world. His triple-threat guitar/vocal/songwriting talent, along with his ability to deliver a rollicking good time wherever he goes, assures his not-to-be-missed live performances are consistently packed to the gills with cheering fans. The Chicago Tribune says Bishop plays ''good-time music guaranteed to put a smile on your face...serious playing, potent slide guitar and razor-sharp licks.''

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Can't Even Do Wrong Right - 3:46
2. Blues With A Feeling - 4:15
3. Old School - 3:59
4. Let Your Woman Have Her Way - 4:56
5. No More Doggin' - 4:20
6. Everybody's In The Same Boat 4:11
7. Dancin' - 3:11
8. Honest I Do - 3:46
9. Bo Weevil - 3:41
10. Hey-Ba-Ba-Re-Bop - 3:35

Art-Nr.: 8647
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
BlackHawk - just about right: live from atlanta [2020]
2 CD-Set! Erst im Februar dieses Jahres haben Henry Paul und die legendäre Southern Rock-Institution The Outlaws mit "Dixie highway" ein herausragendes, neues Studioalbum veröffentlicht, und nun ist auch Henry's zweites Projekt, die einst so überaus erfolgreiche, natürlich ebenfalls von einem gepflegten Southern-Flair begleitete, exzellente New Country-/Countryrock-Formation BlackHawk (ja, die gibt es auch noch!) mit einem ganz wunderbaren, neuen Album am Start. Okay, es ist kein neues Studiomaterial, aber ein ganz exzellentes, ihre ganze musikalische Klasse beeindruckend offenbarendes Live-Album, mitgeschnitten bei einer fabelhaften, "stripped down" Acoustic-Show der Band am 17. Oktober 2017 im "Eddie's Attic", einem schönen Club in Decatur/Georgia, direkt an der westlichen Grenze von Atlanta. Seit dem tragischen Krebstod von Gründungsmitglied Van Stephenson im Jahre 2001 machen BlackHawk erfreulicherweise immer noch als Duo (Henry Paul & Dave Robbins) weiter und sind mit ihren vorzüglichen Begleitmusikern, sofern es die Zeit erlaubt, hier und da live aktiv. Und wie großartig ihre Live-Auftritte sind, zeigt dieses wunderbare, akustische Konzert, das auf der nun vorliegenden DoCD in einem ganz herrlichen, glasklaren Sound wiedergegeben wird. Die Show brachte Henry Paul (vocals, guitar, mandolin) und Dave Robbins (keyboards, vocals) mit einem Großteil der Originalmitglieder ihrer früheren Band aus den erfolgreichen Tagen zusammen (der aktuell auch zur Outlaws-Besetzung gehörende Dale Oliver - lead guitar, Bobby Huff - drums, percussion und Jason Roller - mandolin, violin), zusätzlich unterstützt von zwei Stützen der aktuellen The Outlaws-Besetzung (Steve Grisham - lead guitar, Randy Threet - bass, vocals). Getragen von Henry Paul's faszinierendem, einzigartigem Gesang beackert man geschickt das Terrain zwischen New Country und Countryrock, immer umgeben von diesem unwiderstehlichen, unterschwelligen Southern(rock)-Flair, das Paul einfach in den Genen hat. Es ist allgegenwärtig. Die Band spielt wie aus einem Guß! Auch in ihren akustischen Inszenierungen wirken die Songs alles andere als langweilig. Ganz im Gegenteil, die vertrauten Stücke in dieser zurückgenommenen Natürlichkeit zu erleben, mit diesen Mandolinen, akustischen Gitarren, den verhaltenen Drums, hin und wieder auch mal einer etwas dezenter agierenden E-Gitarre, inkl. des ein oder anderen Solos, entwickelt stets eine gewisse Spannung. Diese Melodien, diese umwerfenden Harmoniegesänge, die Spielfreude und Hingabe der Band, diese so wunderbar saubere Spielweise der Musiker - das ist ein Ohrenschmaus. Wir erleben großartige, in dieser Form zuvor nie gehörte Acoustic Liveversionen vieler großer alter Hits der Band, wie beispielsweise "Goodbye says ist all" (sehr schön hier die integrierte elektrische Lead Gitarre, inkl. eines feinen Solos), "Down in flames" (traumhafte, an die Eagles erinnernde Harmoniegesänge, faszinierende Mandolinen-Riffs und -Licks), "Every once in a while" (beinhaltet erneut eine herrlich lockere, elektrische Lead Gtarre mit zwei schönen, kleinen Soli), "Postmarked Birmingham", "That's just about right", das mit elektrischer Slideguitar verzierte "I sure can smell the rain", aber auch seltenere Nummern wie etwa von "Wichita" (herrliche, von Dave Robbins gesungene Southern-Ballade aus dem seltenen 2012er "Down from the mountain"-Album), das rockig-dynamische "Days" of America" vom "Spirit dancer"-Werk (starkes Acoustic Gitarren-Solo) oder "Bluest eyes in Texas" (BlackHawk's Fassung des großen, von Dave Robbins mitkomponierten Restless Heart Hits). Für zwei Tracks bedarf es noch einer besonderen Erwähnung: Zum einen die tolle Acoustic-Version des begnadeten, viele gefallene Weggefährten aus glorreichen Tagen honorierende, umwerfende Southernrock-Hymne "Brothers of the southland" und zum anderen das das Konzert furios abschließende "Big guitar" mit seinem Drive, der tollen Melodie, seinem Southern-Spirit und dem klasse E-Gitarren-Solo. "Big thanks" an BlackHawk, dass sie dieses herrliche Live Doppelalbum veröffentlicht haben. Genau wie The Outlaws sind auch BlackHawk noch in vorzüglicher Verfassung. Dieses wunderschöne, filigrane Konzert jedenfalls ist ein purer Genuß!

Die komplette Setlist:

Disc 1
1. Down in Flames - 4:00
2. Goodbye Says It All - 3:40
3. Every Once in a While - 4:52
4. Love Like This - 4:29
5. Let Em’ Whirl - 6:08
6. Almost a Memory Now - 4:29
7. Wichita - 4:34
8. I’m Not Strong Enough to Say No - 4:29
9. Ships of Heaven - 4:22
10. Ain’t No Yesterday - 3:45
11. Always Have, Always Will - 3:09

Disc 2
1. Days of America - 3:39
2. Dances With Her Shadow - 3:49
3. Bluest Eyes in Texas - 4:55
4. Spirit Dancer - 4:07
5. There You Have It - 3:38
6. Brothers of the Southland 5:01
7. One More Heartache - 4:08
8. I Sure Can Smell the Rain - 3:23
9. That’s Just About Right (J. Black) - 8:52
10. Postmarked Birmingham - 5:26
11. Big Guitar -3:44

Art-Nr.: 10212
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock; Country
Status: Neuheit || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Down in flames
Goodbye says it all
Every once in a while
Wichita
Days of America
Bluest eyes in Texas
Brothers of the southland
I sure can smell the rain
Big guitar

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Bluhm, Tim - sorta surviving [2019]
Außergewöhlich starkes, hinreißend schönes, mit durchweg großartigen Songs bestücktes Retro Countryalbum von Tim Bluhm. Bluhm ist Mitbegründer, Kopf und Frontmann der kultigen, in San Fancisco ansässigen, sowohl in der Rootsrock-, als auch in der Jamrock-Szene hoch geschätzten The Mother Hips, die mit ihrer fluffigen Bay Area Rock-Brise eher näher dem Terrain von Grateful Dead oder Buffalo Springfield angesiedelt sind, als dem der Countrymusic. Doch Bluhm ist auch ein beinharter Country-Fan. Als The Mother Hips vor rund 25 Jahren ihr Debutalbum für Rick Rubin's "American"-Label einspielten, hatte dieses Label gerade Johnny Cash's erstes, von Rick Rubin produziertes, in den berühmten Cash Cabin Studios von Hendersonville/TN aufgenommenes "Amerivcan Recordings"-Album herausgebracht. Zu dieser Zeit entdeckte Bluhm auch Merle Haggard's Musik für sich und befand sich darüber hinaus in regem, fachmännischem Austausch mit Johnny Cash, für den The Mother Hips schließlich als Opener im Fillmore von San Francisco auftraten. Jetzt, nach all den Jahren, hat sich Bluhm seinen großen Traum erfüllt und dieses bärenstarke Countryalbum eingespielt, und das ebenfalls in den legendären Cash Cabin Studios von Hendersonville, übrigens auch mit zwei alten Johnny Cash-Sidemen an Bord, nämlich Dave Roe am Bass und Gene Chrisman an den Drums. Weitere hochkarätige Mitstreiter sind Jesse Aycock (Hard Working Americans) an der Gitarre, Jason Crosby (Dave Matthews, Eric Clapton) an den Keyboards und der Fiddle, Doug Jernigan an der Pedal Steel und Elizabeth Cook wit prächtigem Background Gesang. Ja, Instrumente wie Piano (wundervolles Saloon- und Honky Tonk-Piano), herrliche Pedal Steel Guitar und feine elektrisch und akustische Gitarren, im Einklang mit Bluhm's für diese Musik wie geschaffene, hervorragende Stimme, und vollendeten Songharmonien, bestimmen das Geschehen. Obwohl in Tennessee eingespielt, so fließt durch diese Countrysongs doch eine wunderbare, californische Leichtigkeit. Alles klingt total entspannt, locker und kommt in einem hinreißenden Retro Hippie-Flair. Enthält neben Bluhm's fantastischen Eigenkompositionen auch großartige Coverversionen von Jonny Cash's "I still miss someone" und Merle Haggard's "Kern river". Purer Retro-Country, vollkommen authentisch und ohne Schnörkel, aus einer Zeit, die längst vergessen schien. Toll! Produziert hat übrigens Widespread Panic's Dave Schools - und das vom Allerfeinsten. Ein absolutes, reines Genre Pracht-Werk!

Aus der Original-Produktbeschreibung:

For a moment, you could almost forget what year it was inside the Cash Cabin, the small sanctuary-turned-recording-studio Johnny Cash built roughly 40 years ago in Hendersonville, TN. The Man In Black's frequent collaborators Dave Roe and Gene Chrisman were back at the bass and drums respectively, and tape was rolling as they counted in the Cash classic "I Still Miss Someone." Tim Bluhm had to pinch himself. "Recording in that space with those guys was like a dream come true for me," says Bluhm. "The depth of knowledge they walk around with in their heads is amazing, and you know you can trust the musical choices they're making because they have the experience to back it up. When they say, 'This is what Merle would have done,' it's because they know firsthand." While Bluhm may be best known for the breezy brand of West Coast roots and soul he helped pioneer with his band, The Mother Hips, his brilliant new solo album, Sorta Surviving, revels in his longtime love for classic country music. Recorded and mixed at the Cash Cabin under the guidance of Widespread Panic's Dave Schools, the collection is earnestly authentic and utterly timeless, and it finds Bluhm backed by elder statesmen like Roe and Chrisman along with younger virtuosos like keyboardist Jason Crosby (Eric Clapton, Dave Matthews) and Jesse Aycock (Hard Working Americans, Elizabeth Cook). "The band brought a certain maturity and experience," explains Schools. "Tim's songwriting is so strong that it naturally suggests how to complement itself, but those guys really know how to play and still leave room for a great singer." Indeed, the arrangements on the album are refined and elegant, yet still stripped-down and raw, enabling Bluhm's warm, easygoing vocals to sit front-and-center as he weaves vivid tales of ordinary men and women facing down hard days and even harder nights. Mixing new originals and reimagined covers, the record pulls from a half-century of American music to craft a thoroughly modern love letter to a bygone era, one that showcases both Bluhm's deft musical hand and his heartfelt reverence for the genre. "I've been a fan of classic country ever since I heard Merle Haggard sing," reflects Bluhm. "I just admired his voice and storytelling so much, but I never made an album like this before because I figured it would take me at least 20 or 30 years to get good enough." Bluhm discovered Haggard around the same time he co-founded the now-iconic Mother Hips, a band the San Francisco Chronicle has hailed as "one of the Bay Area's most beloved live outfits." The group began it's journey at Chico State, where performing at frat parties quickly gave way to club shows, regional touring, and national buzz, and before Bluhm and his bandmates had even graduated, they were already signed to Rick Rubin's American Recordings on the strength of their debut album, 'Back To The Grotto.' "When we signed with American, the label had just put out Johnny Cash's first Rick Rubin-produced album, which was actually recorded at the Cash Cabin," says Bluhm. "I got to meet and hang with Johnny a couple times back then, and after that, we opened for him at The Fillmore in San Francisco. I was so impressed with his presence. He definitely lived up to his legend in real life, and he made a big impression on me." Over the ensuing two-and-a-half decades, the Hips would release nine more studio albums as they cemented their status as festival and critical favorites, sharing bills with everyone from Wilco and Widespread Panic to Lucinda Williams and The Black Crowes along the way. Rolling Stone called them "divinely inspired," while Pitchfork praised their "rootsy mix of 70s rock and power pop," and The New Yorker lauded their ability to "sing it sweet and play it dirty." Ever-curious and wildly prolific, Bluhm simultaneously released a slew of his own solo and collaborative projects on the side. He toured for years as music director with Nicki Bluhm & The Gramblers, teamed up with The Grateful Dead's Mickey Hart and Bill Kreutzmann among others, and opened up Mission Bells Studio with fellow California favorite Jackie Greene and engineer Dave Simon-Baker. There, Bluhm produced albums for everyone from the Hips and Greene to Hot Buttered Rum and Little Wings in addition to hosting Phil Lesh, Josh Ritter, Rogue Wave, Los Lobos, Jonathan Richman, and more. As if that wasn't enough to keep him busy, in 2007, Bluhm and the Hips launched the Hipnic, an intimate and immaculately-curated music festival that's still held annually amongst the towering redwoods of Big Sur. Sorta Surviving marks Bluhm's first collection recorded outside of California, but one listen and it's clear that he's equally at home in the pines of Tennessee. There's a comfort to the performances, a subtle familiarity that radiates out like a warm invitation. "Most of the songs on this album are second or third takes," says Schools. "That comes from experience and teamwork, but also from working in a great environment. It's a palpable thing you feel when you're working in the room where Johnny Cash wrote his autobiography and recorded some of the best work of his later years. We were definitely all a little nervous meeting for the first time, but we got comfortable real quick there." The songs are character-driven, valuing the visceral over the cerebral, and Bluhm inhabits his narrators with a voice as tough and as pliable as worn-in leather. "It just felt natural for me to sing this way," he explains. "It was a chance to put away the books and focus more on the everyday rather than the existential, a chance to pull out the guitar and really tell some stories." Some of those stories come secondhand: the bluesy "Del Rio Dan" was first popularized by The Everly Brothers in the 1970's, while the waltzing "Kern River" is a Merle Haggard favorite, and Johnny Cash's "I Still Miss Someone" gets a melancholy makeover with a tip of the cap to Neil Young's timeless take on "Oh Lonesome Me." That the covers fit so seamlessly alongside Bluhm's original material stands as a testament both to his gifts as a compelling storyteller and his playful way with words. The shuffling "Jesus Save A Singer" tackles struggle and redemption with a wry smile, while the stream-of-consciousness title track sardonically examines our instinct to perpetually press on, and the honky-tonking "Where I Parked My Mind" finds dark wit even in the depths of addiction. "There's more humor in these songs than anything else I've written before," says Bluhm, "but it's all very tongue in cheek. That's a country music tradition." While tradition guided Bluhm throughout the project, he wasn't beholden to it, frequently taking risks and pushing boundaries with his performances and arrangements. In the end, his goal wasn't just to make a country-tinged record, but rather to craft narratives that could truly transport his listeners, that could breathe new life into stories forgotten and stories imagined, tales of dustbowl farmers and oil men and fugitive outlaws and traveling singers. "As a kid growing up in LA, I never even heard of country music," reflects Bluhm, "but I remember flipping around the radio dial and coming across 'The Gambler.' It was a song that just completely transcended genre. It was no more 'country' than Mark Twain was 'country.' It was a simple, timeless story set to music, and that's what I've ultimately aspired to make myself."

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Jesus Save A Singer - 3:08
2. No Way To Steer - 3:11
3. Jimmy West - 3:44
4. Where I Parked My Mind - 3:28
5. Raining Gravel - 3:46
6. Sorta Surviving - 3:15
7. Del Rio Dan - 4:24
8. I Still Miss Someone - 3:15
9. Squeaky Wheel - 3:55
10. Kern River - 3:05

Art-Nr.: 9792
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 14,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Jesus save a singer
No way to steer
Jimmy West
Where I parked my mind
Sorta surviving
Squeaky wheel
Kern river

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
BoDeans - indigo dreams [2011]
Hervorragendes, neues Album von Kurt Neumann and Sammy Llanas, aka The BoDeans, die damit wieder zurück zu ihren Wurzeln gehen und den doch etwas experimentierfreudigen Vorgänger hinter sich lassen. Was wir hören ist allerbester Rootsrock/-pop in der typischen BoDeans-Tradition, die ihnen vor 25 Jahren anlässlich ihres damaligen Debutalbums den Titel der "Best New American Band" durch die Leser des amerikanischen "Rolling Stone" einbrachte. Herrlich melodische Songs mit tollem Gesang und eingängigen Arrangements. Klasse Teil!

Hier der offizielle Text des Labels zur Veröffentlichung im Original:

Twenty five years after their T-Bone Burnett produced debut Love & Hope & Sex & Dreams led them to win a Rolling Stone reader s poll as Best New American Band, The BoDeans are still rocking and harmonizing gracefully, touring the U.S. regularly and exposing the kids of their longtime steadfast fans to real, heartfelt and trend-free music. Best known for their mid-90 s Billboard Top 20 hit anthem Closer To Free, which became the theme song for Fox s Party Of Five, the dynamic musical duo Kurt Neumann (vocals and electric and acoustic guitars) and Sam Llanas (vocals and acoustic guitar) is still focused on writing songs that bring good things to the world. Their latest album, Indigo Dreams, is a salute to the working man his dreams, his desires, his love, his responsibilities, his ethos.
For the BoDeans, the fact that their music was never easily pigeonholed into a specific genre or style was more a strength than a problem as their career developed. They followed their debut with Outside Looking In (1987), Home (1989), Black and White (1991), and Go Slow Down (1993), which featured Closer To Free which became a massive pop and adult contemporary hit when the world heard it every week via Party of Five. They released the 2 CD live set Joe Dirt Car and Blend (1996).
A few years after the release of the 17-song compilation The Best of BoDeans Slash and Burn in 2001, they returned to studio recording with Resolution (2004) and then a live album and subsequent DVD called Homebrewed: Live From The Pabst. Still was released in 2008.
The enduring success of the BoDeans is a byproduct of making music that creates a special connection to moments in people s lives. It s not always this dramatic, says Neumann, but we do hear of stories where people are ill or dying and our songs give them a sense of joy and hope. It s always wonderful to be important to peoples lives. We also saw this YouTube clip of two kids in car seats singing one of our songs on a family road trip. Their parents are playing our songs and we are a part of their world in that moment. I want to know someday that I ve brought good things into this world, and this kind of fan response confirms that Sam and I have been able to do this.

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1 Blowin' My Mind - 4:09   
2 Paved in Gold - 3:38   
3 Right Now - 4:02   
4 How Can We - 4:14   
5 Way Down - 3:44   
6 Sad Eyes - 3:58   
7 Wrap Me - 3:55   
8 Me Again - 4:11   
9 Don't Wanna Go - 3:14   
10 Rock N Roll Overdrive - 4:48   
11 Father's Day - 4:34   
12 Put Your Money Where Your Mouth Is - 4:14   
13 Mercy - 4:25

Art-Nr.: 7489
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 13,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Blowin' my mind
Paved in gold
Way down
Sad eyes
Wrap me
Rock n Roll overdrive

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Boland & The Stragglers, Jason - squelch [2015]
Die famosen Jason Boland & The Stragglers präsentieren ihr neues, grandioses Werk "Squelch"! Klassischer, traditionell fundamentierter Red Dirt-Country mit einem Hauch von Outlaw-Feeling, wie man ihn besser wohl kaum spielen kann. Das ist durch und durch ehrlicher Country, absolut frei von jeglichen poppigen Mainstream-Strömungen, und dennoch ist er so "progressiv" gespielt, dass er den Zahn der Zeit auf den Punkt genau trifft. Diese "Oklahoma-Boys" sprechen die puren Traditionalisten genauso an, wie das junge Klientel, das sie mit ihren so ungemein abwechslungsreich, erdig und clever arrangierten Songs, sowie dem natürlich rüberkommenden "Outlaw"-Image wie selbsteverständlich an die Countrymusic heranführen. Dabei helfen teils angerockte Momente genauso wie ihre den Zeitgeist treffende Sprache in den Texten, alles bei Wahrung jeglicher, reiner Countrytraditionen. Und die Melodien sind einfach wunderbar. Steelguitar, surrende Fiddle und Honky Tonk-Piano bestimmen das instruemntelle Geschehen genauso wie vielschichtige, erdige E-Gitarren. Tracks wie der starke, Waylon Jennings-beeinflusste, mit feiner Fiddle und quirliger Steeguitar, schön "rowdy" in Szene gesetzte Outlaw Country-Heuler "Break 19", der staubige, pure Red Dirt Honky-Tonker "The first to know", der fetztige, kompakte, wunderbar raue, schnelle, von powernden E-Gitarren unterstützte, gar etwas punkige, dabei absolut eingängige Countryrock-Kracher "I guess it's alright to be an asshole" (brennendes Gitarrensolo inklusive), das traumhaft melodische, genauso lockere wie knackige, mit herrlicher Steelguitar und Mandoline inszenierte "Holy relic sale", die von feinen Americana-Strömungen durchzogene, dynamische, leicht Outlaw-behaftete, fantastische, reine Countrynummer "Heartland bypass", der wunderbar swingende, flotte Retro Honky Tonk-/Roadhouse-Stampfer "Fat and merry", oder die hinreissend schöne, toll ins Ohr gehende, dennoch schön staubig arrangierte, "waltzing" Ballade "Bienville" sind nur einige wenige Beispiele für das durchweg herausragende Songmaterial. "Squelch" ist ohne jeden Zeifel ein weiterer, brillanter Meilenstein in der Karriere dieser einzigartigen Band. Diese Musik ist die wahre Country-Pracht!

Aus der Original-Produktbeschreibung:
October 9th, 2015 marks a milestone for Jason Boland & The Stragglers with the release of their upcoming album, Squelch - the 10th addition to their catalogue since the band s inception in 1998. As they approach nearly a million records sold through their independent trademark, Proud Souls Entertainment, Jason has one main goal... Stay the course. After eighteen years of touring all over the globe and playing more than 125 shows each year, it s safe to say these guys are veterans of their trade and have the rare ability to remain not only relevant, but also in high demand; no small feat in a cut-throat business that has proven it can wash out even the biggest of acts in only a few, short years. Jason attributes his success to his determination to remain steadfast and true to the country music of old, avoiding the constant allure of what many consider watered down, cliche-driven songs that seem to dominate mainstream country radio today. Squelch, referring to the knob on wide-band radios that is used to keep the unwanted noise out, is exactly what this album represents. Eleven tracks of steel and fiddle driven country songs for the country music connoisseur.

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Break - 3.00
2. The First To Know - 3.37
3. I Guess It s Alright - 2.02
4. Holy Relic Sale - 3.43
5. Heartland Bypass - 4.34
6. Lose Early - 4.32
7. Do You Love Me Any Less - 3.47
8. Fat and Merry - 3.11
9. Christmas In Huntsville - 3.07
10. Bienville - 4.35
11. Fuck, Fight, and Rodeo - 2.09

Art-Nr.: 8998
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 15,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Break 19
I guess it's alright to be an asshole
Holy relic sale
Heartland bypass
Lose early
Fat and merry
Bienville

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Brooks, Kix - new to this town [2012]
Brooks & Dunn sind Geschichte, doch nach Ronnie Dunn kommt nun auch die andere Häfte des erfolgreichsten Country-Duos aller Zeiten mit einem Solo-Album! "New to this town" heisst das hervorragend gelungene Werk, mit dem Kix Brooks eindrucksvoll offenbart, was er auch ohne seinen kongenialen Partner in der Lage zu leisten ist. 12 starke Nummern, zumeist sehr kraftvoll und knackig in Szene gesetzt (der Balladen-Anteil ist klar in der Minderzahl), zwischen traditionellen Anlagen und sehr abwechslungsreichem, zuweilen durchaus rockigem New Country. Gast, Slide-Gitarrist und Duett-Partner beim Titelstück ust übrigens Joe Walsh (The Eagles). Die Musik passt durchaus zur Philosophie, die auch Brooks & Dunn verkörperten, hat aber auch ihren eigenen Pep. Die Melodien sind prima! Gratulation an Kix Brooks zu diesem großartigen Album!

Wen es interessiert: Hier im Original eine sehr ausführliche, aktuelle Biographie mit der Geschichte zum neuen Album im Original-Wortlaut:

"Wish I was new to this town
Just pullin’ in checking it out for the first time”
— “New to This Town” by Kix Brooks, Marv Green and Terry McBride

It’s been more than 30 years since Kix Brooks was new to the town that he made his home, where he married, raised two children and built an accomplished career as a songwriter, singer and half of the most successful duo in country music history, a weekly national radio show host, magazine columnist, film producer, actor, winery owner and active and influential member of the music industry and community at large.

And yet here he is, picking up where he started when he really was new to this town, when his very first solo single in 1983 lumbered up the country chart to #73 before being hijacked by gravity into oblivion.

“New to This Town” is the title cut from the album that he hopes will reintroduce him to music fans, not exactly as a brand new man—to borrow a phrase from a song he co-wrote many moons ago—but as his own man, with his own songs to sing and his own unique story to tell.
Though the song is about a romantic relationship, metaphorically it suggests another interpretation. “When you’re starting out, there’s so much fear that if you screw up or put out the wrong record, you’ve lost that chance to live your dream. At this point in my career, there’s a different kind of uncertainty and risk that the people who have seen me perform for 20 years as half of Brooks & Dunn won’t be able to see me as anything but that. So in that sense, being new to town would be good to be able to do again.”

Kix Brooks’ career as a musician began long before he came to Nashville, which is less than 100 miles from where the Louisiana native was shipped off for high school at Tennessee’s Sewanee Military Academy. “I wasn’t bad, but I wasn’t good,” he confesses with a smile. “The discipline was good for me. It gave me structure and problem-solving skills, which are really helpful for creative people.”

Brooks grew up in a musical family, had his first guitar before he hit his teens, and while in Sewanee, he began playing coffee houses with his roommate, Nashville native Jody Williams. “Jody turned me on to the Opry,” expanding the range of country music that Brooks already loved. “I was a fan of bluegrass, rock and outlaw country, people like Willie, Cash and Roger Miller. I loved the Allman Brothers, Leon Russell, the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, Asleep at the Wheel, Guy Clark, Jerry Jeff Walker. ”
After graduation, he went to Louisiana Tech, gaining a foundational education in reading music and the theory of composition while getting hands-on experience playing clubs around town. Realizing that he wasn’t cut out to be in the marching band, school choir, or orchestra—which were required for a music degree—he switched his major to speech and got into theater, both of which would later serve him well.

A brief sabbatical from school led him to Alaska in 1976, working for his dad, a pipeline contractor. The job was great seed money, he recalls, “So when I got home, I bought a new car, a new guitar, a bottle of whiskey, and I was ready to get back at it.

“I had a band and I did some solo stuff. I could bang on a guitar and open up for just about anybody playing clubs in Shreveport. My plan was to be somebody.”
But an invitation from his sister put “Plan A” on hold. “She called me out of the blue and asked if I would come to Maine and help her with a television production company. So I was doing radio and television production, commercials, and it was a great experience. But I was also playing clubs and was still drawn to that. I enjoyed advertising, I enjoyed Maine. But in my heart of hearts, I just wanted to play music.”

So he took off again for Louisiana but stopped in Nashville to visit with his old roommate Jody Williams. “We stayed up all night talking and playing music, and Jody tried to talk me into staying. He said I could make a living writing songs. I said, ‘A, you’re nuts, and B, I’m going to New Orleans to play music.’”
But as fun as it was, the pace—and the partying—began to take a toll. “I called Jody up and said, ‘Do you really think I could make a living writing songs?’ and he said, ‘Get your ass up here!’”

True to his word, Williams gave Brooks a place to crash and found him a job with a concert production company while arranging meetings for him with music publishers around town.

“Everybody was really nice for about half a song, and then I wrote some more songs and called them back, and everyone was always out to lunch. So I started breaking songs down and figuring out what these guys were doing, which doesn’t mean you can do it, but at least I did my homework and really started working harder at trying to figure out how to do it. I realized it was one thing to make people smile in bars and another thing to make a living as a songwriter in Nashville.”
His hard work paid off, and less than two years after pulling into town, Brooks had a publishing deal and a #1 cut. Some things didn’t pan out, like his first album in 1983 on a label that went defunct before the album was released and a 1989 album on Capitol that went nowhere fast.
But he was making a living—a good living—writing songs for Tree Publishing, where exec Paul Worley took some of his demos to veteran music man Tim DuBois, head of the Arista Nashville record label. DuBois suggested that Brooks write with the winner of a talent competition, a tall, big-voiced Texan named Ronnie Dunn. When DuBois heard their song demos, the rest became Brooks & Dunn history.

In their 20-year ride, the duo recorded 10 studio albums, released 50 singles, scored 23 #1 hits, sold more than 30 million albums, sold out tours from coast to coast and became one of the most awarded acts in country music history.

But in August of 2009, they revealed what had long been a topic between the partners themselves: that after a final tour and a final compilation album, Brooks & Dunn would be no more.

“It was always an arranged marriage that happened to work out really well and produce some great kids. But after 20 amazing, dream-like years, it was time.”
As for the notion of recording a solo album, Brooks took his time—or as much time as realistic for someone who owns a thriving winery, hosts a weekly syndicated radio show, forms a film production company, takes on roles in three movies and writes all but one of the songs for the soundtrack for the western To Kill a Memory, as well as co-writing the soundtrack for a Christmas movie.

“I have a lot of interests, and I wasn’t at that point thinking of what I would do next. I was kind of looking forward to chilling for a year or so. I wanted to take my time. I started writing during the last B&D tour, and when we got done, I kept writing while we were making movies.”
When the time felt right, Brooks approached his album with customary enthusiasm, producing and recording nearly 50 songs before beginning the challenging process of narrowing the field. “There were a few like [the Brooks/Leslie Satcher co-write] ‘Moonshine Road’ that I was sort of building the album around,” he says, “so you try to take the ones that fit the other songs the best, that fit you best, or where the track is just smoking.”

The result is a record that is emphatically and uniquely Kix Brooks—rocking, smoky, swampy and bluesy, with belts of bayou and hits of Cajun zydeco. Nine of the album’s dozen tracks bear Brooks’ name as a co-writer, collaborating with such longtime friends and writing luminaries as Bob DiPiero and David Lee Murphy (on the lyrically clever “Closin’ Time at Home”), Rhett Akins and Dallas Davidson (for the mid-tempo musical celebration of “Bring It on Home”), and Marv Green and Terry McBride on “New to This Town,” the title track single that almost didn’t make the album.

“We were kind of done with everything, I had recorded the album, and Jay DeMarcus and I were doing the soundtrack for a Christmas movie over at his house. But I was thinking about that song, so he was nice enough to help me produce it and let me use the pickers while we were working there. He really liked the song, so I said, ‘Let’s do it together.’”

Later, “The engineer from my radio show said, ‘You ought to get some Joe Walsh-sounding slide on that.’ I’m like, ‘Hmm, what if I could get Joe Walsh?’ My manager is partners with Irving Azoff, who sent it to Joe, and he called me up and put the slide on there for me. So that worked out great.”
In a new-to-this-town, full-circle touch, the album also features two songs that Brooks wrote with Rafe Van Hoy. With Deborah Allen, they penned Brooks’ first #1 as a songwriter (John Conlee’s ’83 chart-topper, “I’m Only in It for the Love”), and they pair here on the backsliding fun of “Complete 360” and team with Curly Putman on the groove-and-soul-filled, after-hours portrait of “my baby’s” “Tattoo.”

Now, with his album complete, Brooks is just looking forward to getting it into the hands of fans and resuming the solo career that began long ago when his entire plan “was to be somebody.”

“That fear I had at one point in my career where you’re scared to death to make the wrong move, I don’t feel that way now. But you still really want to do something that is relevant and makes people rock, and look out at a crowd and know you have connected, you’ve hit that nerve. I don’t think you ever get over that.”

(This biography was provided by the artist or their representative.)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. New to this Town - 4:20
2. Moonshine Road - 4:21
3. Bring It On Home - 3:44
4. There's the Sun - 3:05
5. Complete 360 - 3:16
6. My Baby - 2:55
7. Tattoo - 3:25
8. In the Right Place - 3:47
9. Next to That Woman - 3:21
10. Let's Do This Thing - 2:57
11. Closin' Time at Home - 3:37
12. She Knew I Was a Cowboy - 3:22

Art-Nr.: 7907
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Angebot || Typ: CD || Preis: € 6,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Brothers, The - march 10, 2020 / madison square garden / new york city ~ dvd [2021]
2 DVD-Set!

Zum Glück wurde diese fantastische Show auch gefilmt. Die Qualität ist famos!

"The Brothers - celebrating 50 Years of the music of The Allman Brothers Band". Am 20. März 2020, nur 2 Tage bevor in den USA der große Corona-Shutdown kam, standen The Brothers, eine nur für dieses einmalige Event zusammengestellte, begnadete Band aus Feunden und Verwandten der Allman Brothers, sage und schreibe knapp 3 1/2 Stunden auf der Bühne des New Yorker Madison Square Gardens, um das 50-jährige Bandjubiläum der 1969 gegründeten ikonischen Band um Duane und Gregg Allman zu feiern. Es waren Derek Trucks und Warren Haynes an den Gitarren (Haynes sang natürlich auch), Jaimoe, Duane Trucks (Derek's jüngerer Bruder - üblicherweise bei Widespread Panic) an den Drums, Marc Quinones - Percussion, Oteil Burbridge am Bass, sowie Reese Wynans an den Keyboards und "special guest" Chuck Leavell am Piano (sowie Lead Gesang bei "Blue sky") - und sie spielten einen Gig für die Ewigkeit. Alle waren in absoluter Bestform, verstanden sich blind, als würden sie schon ewig zusammenspielen, brachten eine unglaubliche Frische und Vitalität in die Songs. Das Feuer dieser ewig jungen Stücke brannte lichterloh.
Der Reporter David Browne vom renommierten "Rolling Stone", war für das Magazin vor Ort, um von dem Event, auch unter den Gegebenheiten der aufkommenden Pandemie, zu berichten. Er sagte: "Did I really want to risk my life for an Allman Brothers Band 50th-anniversary tribute show?... Arriving at the Garden, I didn’t know what to expect, but all systems seemed standard at first. Ticket-holders milled outside on the street and in the inside lobby. No one wore a mask, since those weren’t yet mandated. As I made my way to my seat, the arena was starting to fill up, there was weed in the air, and it was easy to forget what was starting to happen around the world…There was something glorious and uplifting about hearing those songs played with such care and such fire; it felt as if the music was not just being saluted but preserved for a future generation. At various times, like when Trucks and Haynes played the simultaneous leads in ‘Jessica,’ the show was surprisingly emotional. In retrospect, it’s hard to say how much was due to the performance and how much to the circumstances. I joked to the friend next to me that this would be “the last concert ever". But as Derek Trucks told me in the days that followed, the show “felt like one of the last moments for a long time when people would be able to suspend reality and let go.” One of these days, we’ll let go again."
Was war das für ein geniales, spektakuläres Konzert! Der Sound ist schlicht grandios! Und auch die Setlist war fantastisch! Eine unvergleichliche, historische Nacht!

Die komplette Setlist:

Disc 1:
First Set:
1. Don’t Want You No More - 2:43
2. It’s Not My Cross To Bear - 5:00
3. Statesboro Blues - 4:39
4. Revival - 4:16
5. Trouble No More - 4:18
6. Don’t Keep Me Wonderin’ - 5:55
7. Black Hearted Woman - 10:10
8. Dreams - 13:24
9. Hot ‘Lanta - 6:15
10. Come And Go Blues - 4:49
11. Soulshine - 9:09
12. Stand Back - 5:03
13. Jessica - 13:31

Disc 2:
Second Set:
1. Mountain Jam - 18:46
2. Blue Sky - 10:05
3. Desdemona - 12:31
4. Ain’t Wastin’ Time No More - 9:33
5. Every Hungry Woman - 8:38
6. Melissa - 5:52
7. In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed - 15:44
8. No One To Run With - 5:19
9. One Way Out - 5:43
10. Jaimoe & Warren Greetings - 1:08
11. Midnight Rider - 4:17
12. Whipping Post - 14:22

Art-Nr.: 10351
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Neuheit || Typ: DVD || Preis: € 28,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Brothers, The - march 10, 2020 / madison square garden / new york city, ny [2021]
4 CD-Set! "The Brothers - celebrating 50 Years of the music of The Allman Brothers Band". Am 20. März 2020, nur 2 Tage bevor in den USA der große Corona-Shutdown kam, standen The Brothers, eine nur für dieses einmalige Event zusammengestellte, begnadete Band aus Feunden und Verwandten der Allman Brothers, sage und schreibe knapp 3 1/2 Stunden auf der Bühne des New Yorker Madison Square Gardens, um das 50-jährige Bandjubiläum der 1969 gegründeten ikonischen Band um Duane und Gregg Allman zu feiern. Es waren Derek Trucks und Warren Haynes an den Gitarren (Haynes sang natürlich auch), Jaimoe, Duane Trucks (Derek's jüngerer Bruder - üblicherweise bei Widespread Panic) an den Drums, Marc Quinones - Percussion, Oteil Burbridge am Bass, sowie Reese Wynans an den Keyboards und "special guest" Chuck Leavell am Piano (sowie Lead Gesang bei "Blue sky") - und sie spielten einen Gig für die Ewigkeit. Alle waren in absoluter Bestform, verstanden sich blind, als würden sie schon ewig zusammenspielen, brachten eine unglaubliche Frische und Vitalität in die Songs. Das Feuer dieser ewig jungen Stücke brannte lichterloh.
Der Reporter David Browne vom renommierten "Rolling Stone", war für das Magazin vor Ort, um von dem Event, auch unter den Gegebenheiten der aufkommenden Pandemie, zu berichten. Er sagte: "Did I really want to risk my life for an Allman Brothers Band 50th-anniversary tribute show?... Arriving at the Garden, I didn’t know what to expect, but all systems seemed standard at first. Ticket-holders milled outside on the street and in the inside lobby. No one wore a mask, since those weren’t yet mandated. As I made my way to my seat, the arena was starting to fill up, there was weed in the air, and it was easy to forget what was starting to happen around the world…There was something glorious and uplifting about hearing those songs played with such care and such fire; it felt as if the music was not just being saluted but preserved for a future generation. At various times, like when Trucks and Haynes played the simultaneous leads in ‘Jessica,’ the show was surprisingly emotional. In retrospect, it’s hard to say how much was due to the performance and how much to the circumstances. I joked to the friend next to me that this would be “the last concert ever". But as Derek Trucks told me in the days that followed, the show “felt like one of the last moments for a long time when people would be able to suspend reality and let go.” One of these days, we’ll let go again."
Was war das für ein geniales, spektakuläres Konzert! Der Sound ist schlicht grandios! Und auch die Setlist war fantastisch! Eine unvergleichliche, historische Nacht!

Die komplette Setlist:

Disc 1:
First Set:
1. Don’t Want You No More - 2:43
2. It’s Not My Cross To Bear - 5:00
3. Statesboro Blues - 4:39
4. Revival - 4:16
5. Trouble No More - 4:18
6. Don’t Keep Me Wonderin’ - 5:55
7. Black Hearted Woman - 10:10

Disc 2:
1. Dreams - 13:24
2. Hot ‘Lanta - 6:15
3. Come And Go Blues - 4:49
4. Soulshine - 9:09
5. Stand Back - 5:03
6. Jessica - 13:31

Disc 3:
Second Set:
1. Mountain Jam - 18:46
2. Blue Sky - 10:05
3. Desdemona - 12:31
4. Ain’t Wastin’ Time No More - 9:33
5. Every Hungry Woman - 8:38

Disc 4:
1. Melissa - 5:52
2. In Memory Of Elizabeth Reed - 15:44
3. No One To Run With - 5:19
4. One Way Out - 5:43
5. Jaimoe & Warren Greetings - 1:08
6. Midnight Rider - 4:17
7. Whipping Post - 14:22

Art-Nr.: 10352
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Neuheit || Typ: CD || Preis: € 33,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Brown, Kane - same [2016]
Vielversprechendes Debut des jungen Mannes aus East Tennessee, der als einer der größten Zukunftshoffnungen Nashville's für den Maistream Country gilt. Der Bursche hat schon einen immensen Erfolg auf den digitalen Plattformen und steht vor dem absoluten Durchbruch im Country-Radio. Kane Brown präsentiert sich modern, knackig, rockig, hat auch ein paar Balladen im Repertoire, zeigt aber auch sehr deutlich seine absoluten Country-Roots, vor allem mit seiner klasse Stimme - die ist nämlich durch und durch "country". Große Konkurrenz für Leute wie Thomas Rhett, Florida Georgia Line, Hunter Hayes & Co.!

Hier noch ein U.S.-Review im Original:

East Tennessee’s Kane Brown first came to prominence through Facebook and YouTube singing covers and originals and grew a passionate, engaged fan base which helped him make it to the top of the charts without a record label. Now signed to RCA Records Nashville, Kane Brown has this album --his self-titled, first full-length project -- ready to launch. “Thunder In The Rain” is the lead single from Kane Brown and while the song has sold a couple hundred thousand downloads and earned accolades throughout the digital realm, it has struggled to become a country radio breakout. It’s a shame in that regard because the song is as good as anything else that typically gets to the mainstream. The chorus is arena-ready and the melody is engaging. The album’s opening song (Co-Written by FGL’s Tyler and Brian and one of four songs not written by Kane Brown) is a smart opening track. It’s about a guy who wants the folks where he comes from to be proud of what he does. It feels like a hit and likely will be with fans while “Learning,” a song written with frequent Hunter Hayes collaborator Sam Ellis and Blake Anthony Carter, has a Colt Ford-like vibe with the spoken (rapped) verses and a very twangy chorus. To describe Kane Brown’s sound is a little hard except to say that he’s a blend of Brantley Gilbert, Sam Hunt, Chris Young, Drake and Colt Ford and that makes for a unique artist which is why fans have clamored to him. “Pull It Off” is a perfect example of this with his Gilbert-like strut while Cold Spot is a song which showcases how much pull the newcomer has as a writer to be able to write with Tom Douglas and Allen Shamblin, the team behind “The House That Built Me.” This one has a similar nostalgic vibe and honestly, this should be the second single from this project. This is one radio should eat up. Chris Young, co-wrote “Comeback” and it’s a nice mid-tempo ballad with hit potential. Closer “Grandaddy’s Chair” is a sweet, honest song honoring the man who made Kane the man he is. It’s the kind of country music that has been around for a long time. Sentimental to some, honest and thankful to most others. The second half of Kane Brown is stronger than the first half with better hooks and lyrics but that doesn’t mean the entire 11 track album isn’t surprising because it really is. Kane Brown, who basically took Nashville by surprise, has cultivated a debut album which blends quite a few flavors but there’s no mistaking Kane Brown is a country artist. The album is a strong mainstream start to an already promising career. (Matt Bjorke/Roughstock.com)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Hometown - 3:24
2. What Ifs - 3:08
3. Learning - 3:22
4. Thunder in the Rain - 2:44
5. Pull It Off - 2:59
6. Cold Spot - 3:37
7. Ain't No Stopping Us Now - 3:02
8. Comeback - 2:45
9. Rockstars - 3:20
12. Better Place - 3:42
11. Granddaddy's Chair - 3:47

Art-Nr.: 9340
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 14,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Bryan, Luke - what makes you country [2017]
Sein unglaublicher Erfolg geht weiter. Das neue Album von Luke Bryan hat bereits kurz nach Erscheinen wieder die Top-Position der Nashville-Charts erklommen. Was er momentan anpackt, wird ein Riesenerfolg. Kaum ein anderer bringt die neue, junge New Country-Generation so rüber, wie Luke Bryan. Dazu gibt es nicht wenige "Kritiker", die "What makes you country" auch als sein bislang bestes Werk bezeichnen. Also: hier passt alles! 15 neue, ganz starke Songs von Luke Bryan.

Hier ein Original U.S.-Review:

Opening up with "What Makes You Country," the album's title track, Luke Bryan immediately showcases why he became one of the most-popular stars of the past decade in country music.: he sings songs about himself, his friends and his audience. This one, an anthem which is to likely be both a radio hit and the opener of his concerts for years to come, also speaks of becoming who you are and that you don’t have to be born and bred or even from the rural areas to be “country.” “Out Of Nowhere Girl” and “Bad Lovers” both speak of dalliances with the opposite sex while “Sunrise, Sunburn, Sunset” is the kind of song that stirs up memories of good summer days gone. “Hungover In A Hotel Room” (which features Emily Weisbend in a supporting vocal role) has a moody melody as it describes a couple in the midst of a morning after a night of bliss.
While there’s plenty of relationship-related music and good times to be had here, there are a couple of songs which will make you stand up and pay attention to What Makes You Country. The first of those is “Most People Are Good,” a song which is subdued in approach but is basically a song that believes in the beauty of humanity and that we all, in the end, really want the same things out of our lives. It also manages to be inspirational without feeling preachy (Though I suspect people WILL call it that when it becomes another hit single for Luke Bryan). “Land Of A Million Songs” is another special moment on the record. It’s basically how and why a musician does what they do. “Win Life” is another attention grabbing moment on What Makes You Country as it describes the need to living to work instead of working to live. Another interesting, attention-grabbing moment is “Drinking Again,” about as simple a sing-a-long song as an artist can have in their repertoire.
Because they have to and it’s part of evert fiber of their being. “Like You Say You Do” is a pleasant song with the kind of details that feel like a cousin to “Jesse’s Girl.” “Hooked On It” is about getting addicted to the music (and works as a cousin to “What Makes You Country”). Interestingly, “Light It Up,” the lead single from this project, is probably the least likable song on the record. So, in a record that is over 51 minutes long and fifteen songs deep, that’s saying something. It remains to be seen if What Makes You Country will become the best recording of his career but it certainly is something fans new and old will find more than enough to like on it. (Matt Bjorke / Roughstock.com)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. What Makes You Country - 3:55
2. Out Of Nowhere Girl - 3:38
3. Light It Up - 2:57
4. Most People Are Good - 3:41
5. Sunrise, Sunburn, Sunset - 3:36
6. Bad Lovers - 3:36
7. Drinking Again - 3:45
8. Land Of A Million Songs - 3:31
9. Like You Say You Do - 3:40
10. Hooked On It - 3:17
11. She's A Hot One - 2:55
12. Hungover In A Hotel Room - 3:54
13. Pick It Up - 2:59
14. Driving This Thing - 2:56
15. Win Life

Art-Nr.: 9562
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 15,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Castro, Tommy & The Painkillers - method to my madness [2015]
Der großartige Bluesrock-Veteran und exzellente Gitarrist Tommy Castro legt mit seiner baumstarken, aktuellen Formation, den Painkillers, den Nachfolger zu seinem letztjährigen, famosen "The devil you know" vor und zeigt eindrucksvoll, in welch blendender Verfassung er und seine Jungs nach wie vor aufspielen. Bestens groovender, funky, classic, soulful Blues und Bluesrock, umgesetzt in exzellentem Songmaterial. Sehr inspiriert! Klasse Album!

Die Produktbeschreibung im Original:

Night after night, Tommy Castro, a fierce and fiery road warrior, fervently delivers his driving, blues-soaked, soul-baring music to fans all over the world. Over the course of his four-decade career, Castro has played thousands of shows to hundreds of thousands of fans, packing dance floors, always leaving them screaming for more. He and his band, The Painkillers (currently featuring bassist Randy McDonald, keyboardist Michael Emerson and drummer Bowen Brown), play music that is guaranteed to fire up fans and with Method To My Madness, the group turns the intensity up another notch. “My main objective when making a new album,” says Castro, “is to do something different from before. I’ve always been a blues guy; it’s what I’m meant to do. But I’m always listening and reacting to what’s going on in the outside world, experimenting with my guitar tone and my songwriting approach to constantly keep my music fresh. In the end, though, my brand is on every song.” Method To My Madness finds Tommy Castro And The Painkillers at their very best. It is instantly a career-defining highlight in a lifetime full of them. From the opening one-two punch of everyman anthems Common Ground and Shine A Light to the full-tilt energy of the title track to the searing, deep soul ballad Died And Gone To Heaven, Tommy and the band are firing on all cylinders. From the bayou rock of Got A Lot and the atmospheric, autobiographical Ride to the reinvented version of the Clarence Carter hit I’m Qualified and the emotional cover of B.B. King’s Bad Luck, Tommy Castro And The Painkillers continue to break new ground while simultaneously having an incredible amount of fun. After spending his 20s gigging around in a variety of San Francisco-area blues and soul bands, Castro joined Warner Brothers’ artists The Dynatones in the late 1980s before forming The Tommy Castro Band in 1991. He released his debut album in 1996 on Blind Pig and hit the road hard, picking up new fans everywhere he went. In the mid-1990s The Tommy Castro Band served as the house band for three seasons on NBC Television’s Comedy Showcase (airing right after Saturday Night Live), bringing him in front of millions of viewers every week. During the 1990s and into the 2000s, Castro released a series of critically acclaimed CDs for Blind Pig, Telarc and 33rd Street Records, as well as one on his own Heart And Soul label. Castro joined Alligator Records in 2009, releasing Hard Believer and winning four of his six career Blues Music Awards including the coveted B.B. King Entertainer Of The Year Award (the very highest award a blues performer can receive). His song Hard Believer took first place in the blues category of the International Songwriting Competition. Castro formed The Painkillers in 2012, creating a lean, mean four-piece lineup and leaving his tight horn section behind. Fueled by Tommy’s voice and guitar plus bass, drums and keyboards, the band released The Devil You Know in 2014, winning over hordes of new fans. Castro stripped his music down to its raw essence with the band hammering their point home on the bandstand. Jambands declared, “Tommy Castro And The Painkillers are a crackling, stripped-down band with plenty of grit and a rocking soul.” Now, with Method To My Madness, Tommy Castro And The Painkillers are ready to unleash their new songs on music fans everywhere. “With the new album,” Castro says, “I was trying to get back to my basic ingredients: blues and soul. I went for the energy of connecting with my band. We kept everything raw, capturing the feeling of playing live. I’m not about being perfect,” he says, summing up. “I’m about being real.” Clearly that is the method to his madness.

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Common Ground - 4:14
2. Shine A Light - 4:34
3. Method To My Madness - 3:14
4. Died And Gone To Heaven - 5:02
5. Got A Lot - 3:50
6. No Such Luck - 4:23
7. Two Hearts - 3:40
8. I'm Qualified - 3:10
9. Ride - 4:40
10. Lose Lose - 5:17
11. All About The Cash - 4:31
12. Bad Luck - 3:27

Art-Nr.: 9005
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Common ground
Shine a light
Method to my madness
Died and gone to heaven
Got a lot
No such luck
Two hearts
All about the cash

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Castro, Tommy & The Painkillers - stompin' ground [2017]
Bluesman Tommy Castro und seine großartigen Painkillers mit einem prächtigen, neuen Album! "Stompin' ground" bringt uns wunderbaren, klassischen soulful Bluesrock, Rockin' Blues und Soul-Blues, dessen Wurzeln im Grenzgebiet von Kalifornien und Mexiko, genauer gesagt in San Jose, wo Castro zu dieser Zeit lebte, in der Ära der Hippie-Kultur der späten Sechziger und Siebziger Jahre liegen. Es war der "soulful" Sound der "Mexican Americans". Wir hören packende Songs, hinreissende Grooves, tolle Melodien, sowie exzellentes Gitarrenspiel und großartigen Gesang von Castro, der sich mit seinen Painkillers in absoluter Top-Form präsentiert. Und dieser herrliche Soul in den Stücken - eine Wonne! Tracks wie das nostalgisch, dynamisch rockende "Blues all around me", die begnadet groovende, balladeske traumhaft melodische Soul-Nummer "My old neighborhood", der dreckige, fast schon ein wenig Richtung ZZ Top daher kommende, einen tollen Drive aufbauende Rockin' Blues-Boogie "Enough is enough", der kochende Hi-Energy-Shuffle "Rock bottom" (Gast ist hier Gitarrenhexer Mike Zito, der sich zusammen mit Castro prächtige Lead Gitarren-Duelle liefert, dazu starkes, hintergründiges Piano-Geklimper), die dynamische Retro Soul-Nummer "Soul shake" im Duett mit Danielle Nicole (ex Trampled Under Foot), sowie das brodelnde "Them changes" sind nur einige stellvertretende Beispiele für ein bestechend starkes Album von Tommy Castro und seinen Painkillers. Hier lodert das Blues- und Soul-Feuer lichterloh. Beeindruckend stark!

Hier ein U.S.-Statement zu diesem Album im Original-Wortlaut:

Swaggering, razor-wire gospel-tinged soul, simmering deep blues and hard-grooving house rockers (AllMusic. com). Gritty, funky, rocking and original (Boston Globe). Blazing soul-blues rocker Tommy Castro’s musical roots run deep. As he unleashes his high-energy music to fans all over the world, Castro is inspired by the sounds he absorbed while coming of age on the rough and tumble side of San Jose, California. During the late 1960s and early 1970s, this was Castro’s home turf – his stomping ground. It was a place where the street-tough Mexican Americans and the counter-culture hippies came together to drink, smoke, laugh, party and listen to tunes – the hippies with their blues and rock, the Mexicans with their soul music. Mixing the blues-rock he loved and the soul music he heard blasting out from the lowriders cruising the streets, along with the socially conscious message songs of the day, Tommy’s own sound was born. He honed his guitar playing to a razor’s edge on the city’s competitive bar scene, where he learned how to capture an audience with his intensely passionate vocals, stellar musicianship and dynamic performances. Almost every major rock and soul act, from Ike & Tina Turner to Janis Joplin to Elvin Bishop and Taj Mahal toured through the area, and Castro was at almost every show. He saw John Lee Hooker, Albert King and Buddy Guy & Junior Wells at the same local blues bar, JJ’s, where he often jammed, dreaming of one day busting out. Over the course of his career, Tommy Castro’s San Jose DNA has always inspired his music, whether he’s squeezing out the deepest blues or the funkiest soul grooves. He and The Painkillers – bassist Randy McDonald, keyboardist Michael Emerson and drummer Bowen Brown – have played hundreds of shows to thousands of music lovers, always leaving his audiences screaming for more. All of his albums are filled with original blues, soul and West Coast rock, each song showing a slightly different side of Castro’s multifaceted musical personality. Billboard says the band plays “irresistible contemporary blues-rock” with “street-level grit and soul.” On his new album, Stompin’ Ground, Tommy Castro opens windows both into his past and his always-evolving musical future. Produced by Castro and guitar wunderkind Kid Andersen and recorded at Andersen’s soon-to-be legendary Greaseland Studio in San Jose, Stompin’ Ground finds Castro letting loose on a set of 12 tracks featuring six originals and new versions of songs he learned and played as a young up-and-comer. He is simultaneously looking back with autobiographical originals and cover songs that inspired him, while forging a forward trail with modern lyrics atop blistering blues-rock. With The Painkillers firing on all cylinders behind him, Castro lays it all on the line from the opening notes of Nonchalant to the final, introspective Live Every Day. From the autobiographical My Old Neighborhood to the socially aware Enough Is Enough and Fear is The Enemy to versions of Elvin Bishop’s Rock Bottom and Taj Majal’s Further On Down The Road (two of his favorite songs from his earliest heroes), Stompin’ Ground is pure musical pleasure. “As soon as we started cutting,” Castro says, “we knew we were onto something.” In addition to the The Painkillers, Castro’s friends Charlie Musselwhite (harp and vocals on Live Every Day), Mike Zito (guitar and vocals on Rock Bottom), Danielle Nicole (vocals on Soul Shake) and Los Lobos’ David Hidalgo (guitar and vocals on Them Changes) add their talents to Stompin’ Ground. “I heard each one of my friends’ contributions on these songs in my head as I was working on them. Happily, when I reached out and actually asked, everyone said yes.”

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Nonchalant - 3:55
2. Blues All Around Me - 3:42
3. Fear Is The Enemy - 3:34
4. My Old Neighborhood - 5:42
5. Enough Is Enough - 3:52
6. Love Is - 4:40
7. Rock Bottom - 4:30
8. Soul Shake - 3:59
9. Further On Down The Road - 4:17
10. Them Changes - 4:47
11.Sticks And Stones - 3:07
12. Live Every Day - 4:28

Art-Nr.: 9518
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Nonchalant
Blues all around me
My old neighborhood
Enough is enough
Rock bottom
Soul shake
Them changes

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Chambers, Sean - welcome to my blues [2018]
"Welcome to my Blues" - dieser Einladung des einstigen Gitarristen von Blues-Legende Hubert Sumlin und mittlerweile längst selbst im Rampenlicht stehenden Sean Chambers folgen wir sehr gerne, denn er nimmt uns mit seiner vorzüglichen Band einmal mehr mit auf eine packende Reise durch die Gefilde des mitreißenden, von geradlinigem, umwerfendem, und zündendem Gitarrenspiel geprägten Blues und Bluesrocks zwischen tiefer Tradition und rockender Gegenwart. Nicht umsonst kürte das renommierte britische "Guitarist Magazine" den Saitenhexer aus Fort Myers/Florida unlängst als einen der "Top 50 blues guitarists of the last cenmtury". Dementsprechend geht der, sowohl von Johnny Winter, Hendrix und vor allem von Stevie Ray Vaughan beeinflusste "guitarslinger" hier zu Werke und brennt ein lichterlohes Feuerwerk furioser Gitarrenlicks und-soli ab, überzeugt gleichzeitig aber auch auf ganzer Linie als großartiger Sänger und nicht minder starker Songwriter. 8 Songs stammen aus seiner Feder, dazu gibt's eine wundervolle Coverversion von Luther Allison's "Cherry red wine" (eine packende Bluesrock-Ballade voller Seele, mit irrem, dreckigem, quirligem Gitarrenspiel), eine jammig groovende, super Fassung von T-Bone Walker's "All night long", sowie mit dem starken "Boxcar Willie" eine klasse Komposition seines Keyboarders John Ginty. Vom rauen, erdigen, voller Drive nach vorn pirschenden Opener und Titelstück "Welcome to my Blues" (fettes, rasantes, dreckiges Gitarrensolo) über den dampfenden, mit klimperndem Piano und einem gewaltigen Slidegitarren-Gewitter inszenierten Rock'n Roll-Blues "Red hot Mama", bis hin zum wundervollen, entspannten, an Stevie Ray Vaughen's "Riviera Paradise" angelehnten Instrumental "Riviera Blue" hören wir außergewöhnlich starken, brodelnden, voller Virtuosität und Intensität steckenden Gitarren-Blues-/Bluesrock der allerfeinsten Sorte. Eine exzellente Leistung von Sean Chambers und seiner Band. Dieses famose Werk dürfte den Erfolg seines überaus gefeierten Vorgängers "Trouble & whiskey" noch einmal deutlich toppen. Und zwar völlig zu Recht!

Hier noch ein Original U.S.-Review:

I’m a huge Stevie Ray Vaughan fan, and as such, I’m sensitive to any artist I feel is borrowing too heavily from his work. But when I say Sean Chambers’ latest, Welcome to My Blues is Vaughan-influnced, I mean it as a compliment. Chambers’ seventh album features funky rhythms, incendiary blues runs, and just the right touch of Jimi Hendrix fuzz and mania, all of which will delight fans of the late Vaughan, without pilfering from Vaughan’s legacy.
Chambers is an accomplished solo artist who is probably best known for his time backing the legendary Hubert Sumlin, Sumlin himself best known for backing the legendary Howlin’ Wolf. Chambers also grew up a huge Hendrix fan. So it’s not surprising he has a Vaughan sound. He comes from a similar musical stew of classic blues and Hendrix spice. What’s great about Welcome to My Blues is that it’s much looser and more free-wheeling than Trouble and Whiskey, Chambers’ 2017 Billboard-charting album.
Chambers has a serviceable voice that works for the songs, but his guitar playing is what’s going to grab your attention. And not just his soloing. He’s got a beautiful tone, with a big sound and a little more distortion than you might expect from a blues artist. You notice the tone on “Boxcar Willie,” which has a funky groove like Vaughan’s cover of The Beatles’ “Tax Man.” But the distortion gives the track a rock edge. And the solo, as is every solo on the album, is intense, heart-felt, and technically impressive.
The album features more traditional blues, too. “Keep Movin On,” a Chambers original, is a slow blues featuring a cleaner guitar tone. He gives a very strong vocal performance, perhaps the strongest of the album, but the barely-contained guitar nearly overshadows it. Chambers’ guitar guides the band through the song, periodically pausing to detonate into an explosion of guitar riffs, and then returning to the song. He pulls out all of the stops, from huge bends to speed runs, and never once does he bore the listener—even after repeated listens.
The album concludes with “Riviera Blue,” a Chambers co-write with John Ginty, his keyboardist. It’s gentle piano jazz a bit reminiscent of Vaughan’s similarly titled “Riviera Paradise,” although Chambers sticks to bluesy licks over the low-key, pretty piano. It’s a very sweet homage. Vaughan had a not-so-secret love of jazz, and while Chambers doesn’t seem to share that love, he makes it work with a blues music vocabulary.
The songs and performances on Welcome to My Blues are all strong, but producer Ben Elliott deserves a lot of credit for making everything sound so good. The guitar pops out of the mix in a fairly perfect manner. But of course Chambers deserves the lion’s share of the credit for keeping the songs tight enough that they hold together, but loose enough that you feel the spontaneity and energy of the album. Chambers shares Vaughan’s sound, but also has his own voice, and it comes through powerfully across all eleven tracks.
(Steven Ovadia / Blues Rock Review)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Welcome to My Blues - 4:50
2. Black Eyed Susie - 4:07
3. Cherry Red Wine - 4:33
4. Boxcar Willie - 3:56
5. Cry on Me - 3:23
6. One More Night to Ride - 3:17
7. Red Hot Mama - 3:43
8. You Keep Me Satisfied - 3:35
9. Keep Movin On - 5:40
10. All Night Long - 4:54
11. Riviera Blue - 4:15

Art-Nr.: 9720
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Welcome to my Blues
Black eyed Susie
Cherry red wine
Cry on me
Red hot Mama
Keep movin on
All night long

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Childers, Tyler - country squire [2019]
Der aus dem U.S.-Bundesstaat Kentucky stammende Tyler Childers ist nach seinem viel beachteten 2017er Debut "Purgatory" so etwas wie das zur Zeit "heißeste Eisen" unter den Countryfans und -experten, sowohl was die Mainstream Country-Fraktion, als auch die Liebhaber des Alternate Country oder Indie Country betrifft. Völlig zu Recht, wie wir finden, denn Childers grandioses Songmaterial ist vor allem eins: Pur Country durch und durch. Oder wie die Amerikaner sagen: "Country Music to it's core"! Für den Mainstream ist das so etwas wie die immer mal wieder beschworene "Rettung der Countrymusic", für die Vertreter des Alternate Country ist diese Musik trotz aller wunderbaren Melodien immer noch rau, kantig und erdig genug, niemals überproduziert. Dafür sorgt vor allem auch das hervorragende Produzenten-Team, bestehend aus Sturgill Simpson und David Ferguson. Outlaw Country, purer Honky Tonk, grassiger Country, angerockter Country, folkiger Country - alles wird geboten, und zwar auf höchstem, musikalischen Niveau. Keine Frage, Tyler Childers ist aktuell einer der spannendsten und talentiertesten Countrykünstler überhaupt. Ein vortreffliches, erstklassiges, wohltuend aus dem die Charts überflutenden "Einheitsbrei" herausragendes Album!

Hier noch ein Original U.S.-Review:

Tyler Childers is the greatest artist in country music at the moment, mainstream or independent, on the radio off, major label or otherwise. And soon, if there is any justice in this ragged old life, the rest of the world will know this to be true as well. Tyler’s new album Country Squire should be a breakthrough achievement, and is everything you hoped and wanted from his major label debut, despite the worry that washed over many faces due to the early songs released from the record, and noisy naysayers who are always quick to turn coat against anything that becomes popular.
Country Squire is country music to its core. Country Squire is a collection of songs worthy of critical acclaim. Country Squire may be the high water for the career of Tyler Childers thus far, only fair to question due to the quality of his last record Purgatory and his previous releases as well. Country Squire feels like an achievement and a victory for independent country fans. But whatever you do, don’t call it Americana.
In some ways the release of Country Squire presented a trap for Tyler Childers and his long time fans. When expectations range so high like they did for this record, letdown becomes a very real possibility regardless of the quality of the eventual release, if it’s not outright inevitable. If you consume everything “Tyler Childers” you can get your hands on, including fan videos from recent concerts, then you’ve probably already heard or seen most or all of the songs from Country Squire before, and may have fallen in love with those earlier versions, raw and in the live context. Since Tyler Childers became a headliner so quickly and has been touring so hard, he dipped into his new material pretty deep ahead of this release.
Then of course you have the diehards and purists who allow their opinions to putrefy on anything that emanates from a major label or can be construed as “popular.” Those people can kiss off of course, but their opinion sharing can additionally cloud the public’s judgement on and impending release. And none of this delves into the two songs released ahead of Country Squire—the energetic, but simple and straightforward “House Fire” where Tyler’s vocals sounded a little too down in the mix, and the highly questionable production all the way around of “All Your’n.” Even some of the psychedelic and drug imagery preceding the release was off putting to some, swinging their opinions on this record from highly anticipated, to expecting to be let down.
Five seconds into Country Squire, and not only are all your worries resolved, all is right in the country music world. The raw Kentucky sound and songwriting fills your ear canals like supple graces of angelic manna. The authenticity drips from the tracks. The instrumentation is adept, but steeped in that raw, mountain music sound that is true to Tyler Childers. This record is even more Kentucky than Tyler’s previous record Purgatory, if that’s possible.
That’s not to say Country Squire is without imagination and inventiveness though, or is unwilling to take a few risks. The record presents itself as a “song cycle,” meaning it’s meant to be heard as a cohesive unit, cover to cover, and in the order the tracks are presented to stimulate the synchronous and immersive experience its creators intended. With Sturgill Simpson as producer along with David Ferguson, you shouldn’t be surprised at this outcome. Of course anyone can run track times together and employ some instrumental interludes between songs. It takes mastery and imagination to pull it off well. Country Squire is graced with that enviable attribute, making it hard to not lose yourself in this record.
Everyone who was drawing negative conclusions from the first couple of songs released—despite the warnings by Saving Country Music and others—should be happy to admit their trepidation was presumptive. Nobody in the record business these days seems to know how to pick the best songs from albums for pre-release. Sure, taken autonomously, “All Your’n” still feels like somewhat of an anomaly , and along with “House Fire,” they might present the two weakest tracks on the entire record. But in the context of the album itself, both are more forgivable, or understandable, or maybe even advantageous because they help build some texture into an otherwise very country record.
The scratchy, distressed production of Country Squire will still turn some off, and audiophiles will probably find something to complain about in the mix and mastering phase of this effort as they always do. But the approach also fits the raw and live aspect of the Tyler Childers sound. You don’t just hear these songs, you feel them, you smell them. They’re dripping in goat’s blood, brought down from the holler in a stolen station wagon, were stored away in the crawlspace under a singewide where the methheads can’t find them until they were ready to be revealed. They come from Tyler’s “country squire” … humble, but proud, and riddled with character like buckshot to the back of a rural stop sign.
But it all comes down to the songs. That is why we’re here talking about Tyler Childers. Not Sturgill Simpson nor anyone else could ruin these songs even if they wanted to, any anyone who allows names they don’t like to get in the way of music they should is failing as a music fan. True authenticity is a myth in modern country music … until you hear Tyler Childers. If you don’t like this record, you don’t like country music.
The era of bellyaching about the inequity that independent-minded artists face in country music is not over just yet, but it continues to be significantly compromised due to the success of artists like Tyler Childers. No longer can their contributions be scoffed at as inconsequential when they’re selling out tours and topping album charts, often testing and even besting the sales impact of many mainstream Music Row upstarts to the point that when the major labels do come calling, your favorite independent country artists can sign a deal on their own terms, keeping their creative license, and walking away with a handsome stack of cash.
Placing the burden of “country music savior” on the shoulders of anyone is presumptive an unfair. It was unfair and presumptive when some assigned that to Sturgill Simpson. But unquestionably, Tyler Childers and an album like Country Squire go a long way in the effort to help save country music. (Trigger Coroneos / SavingCountryMusic.com)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Country Squire - 3:21
2. Bus Route - 3:07
3. Creeker - 5:01
4. Gemini - 2:32
5. House Fire - 3:53
6. Ever Lovin' Hand - 4:38
7. Peace of Mind - 4:42
8. All Your'n - 3:38
9. Matthew - 4:13

Art-Nr.: 9858
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 15,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


|| Weiter