Artikel 1 bis 15 von 28 gefundenen...

[1-15] [16-30]

 
Band Perry, The - pioneer [2013]
Zweites Album des jungen New Country-Trios, die mit ihrem 2010er Debut einen mega-erfolgreichen Start hinlegten. Das neue Album knüpft nahtlos an die Erfolge des ersten an. Auch die erste Single davon, "Better dig two", schoss sofort an die Spitze der Billboard Country Singles-Charts. Und es wird sicher nicht die letzte Nr. 1 davon gewesen sein...

Über das Album:
2013 release, the sophomore album from the superstar Country trio. Building on the musical foundation demonstrated by the band on their first album, Pioneer is steeped in Country tradition, with Rock 'n' Roll elements both on performance and songwriting. The album was produced by Dann Huff and has been listed as one of Entertainment Weekly's 12 Albums We Can't Wait For. ''When we set out to record Pioneer, the three of us drove across the country from Greeneville to Malibu to work with one of our musical superheroes, Rick Rubin,'' said Reid Perry. ''Our time in the studio with Rick was so incredible because during our early sessions he challenged us to set higher goats as songwriters.'' ''With that experience came the realization that we needed to take the music back home to Tennessee and have Dann Huff bring the songs to life with his production,'' adds Neil Perry. ''Sometimes where one starts off is not where one ends up, which is a big theme for us on Pioneer.''

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Better Dig Two - 3:14
2. Done - 3:25
3. Don't Let Me Be Lonely - 4:11
4. Pioneer - 4:18
5. Forever Mine Nevermind - 3:56
6. Night Gone Wasted - 3:37
7. I Saw a Light - 4:08
8. Mother Like Mine - 3:51
9. Chainsaw - 3:47
10. I'm a Keeper - 3:30
11. Back to Me Without You - 3:56
12. End of Time - 4:18

Art-Nr.: 8120
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Angebot || Typ: CD || Preis: € 6,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Bluhm, Tim - sorta surviving [2019]
Außergewöhlich starkes, hinreißend schönes, mit durchweg großartigen Songs bestücktes Retro Countryalbum von Tim Bluhm. Bluhm ist Mitbegründer, Kopf und Frontmann der kultigen, in San Fancisco ansässigen, sowohl in der Rootsrock-, als auch in der Jamrock-Szene hoch geschätzten The Mother Hips, die mit ihrer fluffigen Bay Area Rock-Brise eher näher dem Terrain von Grateful Dead oder Buffalo Springfield angesiedelt sind, als dem der Countrymusic. Doch Bluhm ist auch ein beinharter Country-Fan. Als The Mother Hips vor rund 25 Jahren ihr Debutalbum für Rick Rubin's "American"-Label einspielten, hatte dieses Label gerade Johnny Cash's erstes, von Rick Rubin produziertes, in den berühmten Cash Cabin Studios von Hendersonville/TN aufgenommenes "Amerivcan Recordings"-Album herausgebracht. Zu dieser Zeit entdeckte Bluhm auch Merle Haggard's Musik für sich und befand sich darüber hinaus in regem, fachmännischem Austausch mit Johnny Cash, für den The Mother Hips schließlich als Opener im Fillmore von San Francisco auftraten. Jetzt, nach all den Jahren, hat sich Bluhm seinen großen Traum erfüllt und dieses bärenstarke Countryalbum eingespielt, und das ebenfalls in den legendären Cash Cabin Studios von Hendersonville, übrigens auch mit zwei alten Johnny Cash-Sidemen an Bord, nämlich Dave Roe am Bass und Gene Chrisman an den Drums. Weitere hochkarätige Mitstreiter sind Jesse Aycock (Hard Working Americans) an der Gitarre, Jason Crosby (Dave Matthews, Eric Clapton) an den Keyboards und der Fiddle, Doug Jernigan an der Pedal Steel und Elizabeth Cook wit prächtigem Background Gesang. Ja, Instrumente wie Piano (wundervolles Saloon- und Honky Tonk-Piano), herrliche Pedal Steel Guitar und feine elektrisch und akustische Gitarren, im Einklang mit Bluhm's für diese Musik wie geschaffene, hervorragende Stimme, und vollendeten Songharmonien, bestimmen das Geschehen. Obwohl in Tennessee eingespielt, so fließt durch diese Countrysongs doch eine wunderbare, californische Leichtigkeit. Alles klingt total entspannt, locker und kommt in einem hinreißenden Retro Hippie-Flair. Enthält neben Bluhm's fantastischen Eigenkompositionen auch großartige Coverversionen von Jonny Cash's "I still miss someone" und Merle Haggard's "Kern river". Purer Retro-Country, vollkommen authentisch und ohne Schnörkel, aus einer Zeit, die längst vergessen schien. Toll! Produziert hat übrigens Widespread Panic's Dave Schools - und das vom Allerfeinsten. Ein absolutes, reines Genre Pracht-Werk!

Aus der Original-Produktbeschreibung:

For a moment, you could almost forget what year it was inside the Cash Cabin, the small sanctuary-turned-recording-studio Johnny Cash built roughly 40 years ago in Hendersonville, TN. The Man In Black's frequent collaborators Dave Roe and Gene Chrisman were back at the bass and drums respectively, and tape was rolling as they counted in the Cash classic "I Still Miss Someone." Tim Bluhm had to pinch himself. "Recording in that space with those guys was like a dream come true for me," says Bluhm. "The depth of knowledge they walk around with in their heads is amazing, and you know you can trust the musical choices they're making because they have the experience to back it up. When they say, 'This is what Merle would have done,' it's because they know firsthand." While Bluhm may be best known for the breezy brand of West Coast roots and soul he helped pioneer with his band, The Mother Hips, his brilliant new solo album, Sorta Surviving, revels in his longtime love for classic country music. Recorded and mixed at the Cash Cabin under the guidance of Widespread Panic's Dave Schools, the collection is earnestly authentic and utterly timeless, and it finds Bluhm backed by elder statesmen like Roe and Chrisman along with younger virtuosos like keyboardist Jason Crosby (Eric Clapton, Dave Matthews) and Jesse Aycock (Hard Working Americans, Elizabeth Cook). "The band brought a certain maturity and experience," explains Schools. "Tim's songwriting is so strong that it naturally suggests how to complement itself, but those guys really know how to play and still leave room for a great singer." Indeed, the arrangements on the album are refined and elegant, yet still stripped-down and raw, enabling Bluhm's warm, easygoing vocals to sit front-and-center as he weaves vivid tales of ordinary men and women facing down hard days and even harder nights. Mixing new originals and reimagined covers, the record pulls from a half-century of American music to craft a thoroughly modern love letter to a bygone era, one that showcases both Bluhm's deft musical hand and his heartfelt reverence for the genre. "I've been a fan of classic country ever since I heard Merle Haggard sing," reflects Bluhm. "I just admired his voice and storytelling so much, but I never made an album like this before because I figured it would take me at least 20 or 30 years to get good enough." Bluhm discovered Haggard around the same time he co-founded the now-iconic Mother Hips, a band the San Francisco Chronicle has hailed as "one of the Bay Area's most beloved live outfits." The group began it's journey at Chico State, where performing at frat parties quickly gave way to club shows, regional touring, and national buzz, and before Bluhm and his bandmates had even graduated, they were already signed to Rick Rubin's American Recordings on the strength of their debut album, 'Back To The Grotto.' "When we signed with American, the label had just put out Johnny Cash's first Rick Rubin-produced album, which was actually recorded at the Cash Cabin," says Bluhm. "I got to meet and hang with Johnny a couple times back then, and after that, we opened for him at The Fillmore in San Francisco. I was so impressed with his presence. He definitely lived up to his legend in real life, and he made a big impression on me." Over the ensuing two-and-a-half decades, the Hips would release nine more studio albums as they cemented their status as festival and critical favorites, sharing bills with everyone from Wilco and Widespread Panic to Lucinda Williams and The Black Crowes along the way. Rolling Stone called them "divinely inspired," while Pitchfork praised their "rootsy mix of 70s rock and power pop," and The New Yorker lauded their ability to "sing it sweet and play it dirty." Ever-curious and wildly prolific, Bluhm simultaneously released a slew of his own solo and collaborative projects on the side. He toured for years as music director with Nicki Bluhm & The Gramblers, teamed up with The Grateful Dead's Mickey Hart and Bill Kreutzmann among others, and opened up Mission Bells Studio with fellow California favorite Jackie Greene and engineer Dave Simon-Baker. There, Bluhm produced albums for everyone from the Hips and Greene to Hot Buttered Rum and Little Wings in addition to hosting Phil Lesh, Josh Ritter, Rogue Wave, Los Lobos, Jonathan Richman, and more. As if that wasn't enough to keep him busy, in 2007, Bluhm and the Hips launched the Hipnic, an intimate and immaculately-curated music festival that's still held annually amongst the towering redwoods of Big Sur. Sorta Surviving marks Bluhm's first collection recorded outside of California, but one listen and it's clear that he's equally at home in the pines of Tennessee. There's a comfort to the performances, a subtle familiarity that radiates out like a warm invitation. "Most of the songs on this album are second or third takes," says Schools. "That comes from experience and teamwork, but also from working in a great environment. It's a palpable thing you feel when you're working in the room where Johnny Cash wrote his autobiography and recorded some of the best work of his later years. We were definitely all a little nervous meeting for the first time, but we got comfortable real quick there." The songs are character-driven, valuing the visceral over the cerebral, and Bluhm inhabits his narrators with a voice as tough and as pliable as worn-in leather. "It just felt natural for me to sing this way," he explains. "It was a chance to put away the books and focus more on the everyday rather than the existential, a chance to pull out the guitar and really tell some stories." Some of those stories come secondhand: the bluesy "Del Rio Dan" was first popularized by The Everly Brothers in the 1970's, while the waltzing "Kern River" is a Merle Haggard favorite, and Johnny Cash's "I Still Miss Someone" gets a melancholy makeover with a tip of the cap to Neil Young's timeless take on "Oh Lonesome Me." That the covers fit so seamlessly alongside Bluhm's original material stands as a testament both to his gifts as a compelling storyteller and his playful way with words. The shuffling "Jesus Save A Singer" tackles struggle and redemption with a wry smile, while the stream-of-consciousness title track sardonically examines our instinct to perpetually press on, and the honky-tonking "Where I Parked My Mind" finds dark wit even in the depths of addiction. "There's more humor in these songs than anything else I've written before," says Bluhm, "but it's all very tongue in cheek. That's a country music tradition." While tradition guided Bluhm throughout the project, he wasn't beholden to it, frequently taking risks and pushing boundaries with his performances and arrangements. In the end, his goal wasn't just to make a country-tinged record, but rather to craft narratives that could truly transport his listeners, that could breathe new life into stories forgotten and stories imagined, tales of dustbowl farmers and oil men and fugitive outlaws and traveling singers. "As a kid growing up in LA, I never even heard of country music," reflects Bluhm, "but I remember flipping around the radio dial and coming across 'The Gambler.' It was a song that just completely transcended genre. It was no more 'country' than Mark Twain was 'country.' It was a simple, timeless story set to music, and that's what I've ultimately aspired to make myself."

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Jesus Save A Singer - 3:08
2. No Way To Steer - 3:11
3. Jimmy West - 3:44
4. Where I Parked My Mind - 3:28
5. Raining Gravel - 3:46
6. Sorta Surviving - 3:15
7. Del Rio Dan - 4:24
8. I Still Miss Someone - 3:15
9. Squeaky Wheel - 3:55
10. Kern River - 3:05

Art-Nr.: 9792
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 14,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Jesus save a singer
No way to steer
Jimmy West
Where I parked my mind
Sorta surviving
Squeaky wheel
Kern river

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
BoDeans - american made [2012]
Neues, 2012er-Album der "veteran Americana-/Rootsrocker from Wisconsin"! Nach den zuletzt etwas schwächelnden Veröffentlichungen gelingt Frontmann Kurt Neumann und seinen Freunden (Co-Founder Sam Llamas ist nicht mehr dabei) diesmal ein beeindruckender "Turnaround" zu dem Niveau der frühen Werke. Abwechslungsreicher denn je hört man diesmal in den wieder wundervoll melodischen Rootsrock-Songs Einflüsse vom Blues, über Soul, Country bis hin zum Heartland Rock. Enthält eine großartige Coverversion von Bruce Springsteen's "I'm on fire". Die Truppe ist, auch ohne Llamas, in exzellenter Verfassung. So stark waren sie lange nicht. Tolle Scheibe!

Hier ein sehr informativer Auszug aus dem Ankündigungstext zu "American Made" im Original-Wortlaut:

"I've always thought of the BoDeans as a truly American band," says Kurt Neumann, the founder, primary writer and frontman of the veteran Milwaukee-based group. "We were blue-collar kids straight out of the heartland-how could we be anything else? ‘Roots rock' was a label I fought when I was younger, but I came to realize that if by ‘roots' you meant blues, rock, country and soul all slammed together into one sound, then I'd say yes-that is the sound of American-made music."
Neumann fully embraces that notion on American Made, the BoDeans' eleventh album. Its dozen songs are laced through with strands of indigenous roots elements-Heartland hoedown folk ("American," with guest Jake Owen spinning out the guitar solo), Celtic-rooted mountain music ("Walk Through This World," "Flyaway"), zydeco ("Everything You Wanted"), Southern roadhouse soul ("Don't Bring Me Down"), Chicago blues ("Shake the Fever") and 100-proof roots rock ("All the World"). These tracks are played with heartfelt emotion as well as jaw-dropping skillfulness by the band-Neumann on vocals and guitars, original member Michael Ramos (Patty Griffin, John Mellencamp) on keyboards and accordion, longtime BoDeans bassist Ryan Bowman and new member Warren Hood, a fiddle/violin virtuoso from Austin.
As it turns out, the album title bears a thematic resonance as well as a stylistic one. With American Made, the BoDeans have created a soul-stirring song cycle that directly reflects the American experience at this critical moment in our history. The album-which also includes a powerful rendition of Bruce Springsteen's "I'm on Fire"-was inspired by Neumann's blue-collar upbringing and his desire to express what a great country America remains, despite its troubles and the challenges facing it today.

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. All The World 4:17
2. Jay Leno 4:35
3. American 4:10
4. Absolutely 4:00
5. All Over Me 3:56
6. Everything You Wanted 4:08
7. I'm On Fire 3:51
8. Walk Through This World 3:49
9. Flyaway 4:41
10. Don't Bring Me Down 3:58
11. Chemical 4:02
12. Shake The Fever 3:58

Art-Nr.: 7815
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 15,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
All the world
Jay Leno
American
Everything you wanted
Don't bring me down
Chemical
Shake the fever

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Brooks & Dunn - reboot [2019]
Brooks & Dunn sind wieder da, mit ihrem ersten Album seit 12 Jahren. Und was für einem! Für dieses Werk haben sie sich etwas ganz Besonderes ausgedacht, nämlich "to recreate something and making it feel brand new". Mit einer Ansammlung von hochkarätigen Duettpartnern haben sie 12 ihrer größten Hits neu eingespielt und so aus bereits existierenden Songs ihres Fundus' etwas komplett Neues geschaffen. Das ist großartig gelungen. Da neu eingespielten Songs kommen ungemein knackig, dynamisch, erfrischend und modern rüber. Manchmal rockt es, vollgepackt mit satten E-Gitarren, dass sich die Balken biegen, mal stecken die Songs voller Gefühl. Ronnie Dunn & Kix Brooks harmonieren hervorragend mit ihren Gästen. Der Spagat zwischen purer Country-Tradition und Moderne gelingt prächtig. Der neue Anstrich der alten Nummern ist der "Knaller" und verbreitet durchweg gute Laune pur. Das Werk ist von vorne bis hinten ein "Hit". Volltreffer!

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Brand New Man (with Luke Combs) - 3:11
2. Ain't Nothing 'Bout You (with Brett Young) - 4:01
3. My Next Broken Heart (with Jon Pardi) - 3:06
4. Neon Moon (with Kacey Musgraves) - 4:38
5. Lost and Found (with Tyler Booth) - 3:55
6. Hard Workin' Man (with Brothers Osborne) - 3:59
7. You're Gonna Miss Me When I'm Gone (with Ashley McBryde) - 4:19
8. My Maria (with Thomas Rhett) - 3:30
9. Red Dirt Road (with Cody Johnson) - 3:56
10. Boot Scootin' Boogie (with Midland) - 3:23
11. Mama Don't Get Dressed Up For Nothing (with LANCO) - 4:12
12. Believe (with Kane Brown) - 5:11

Art-Nr.: 9784
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 14,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Brooks, Kix - new to this town [2012]
Brooks & Dunn sind Geschichte, doch nach Ronnie Dunn kommt nun auch die andere Häfte des erfolgreichsten Country-Duos aller Zeiten mit einem Solo-Album! "New to this town" heisst das hervorragend gelungene Werk, mit dem Kix Brooks eindrucksvoll offenbart, was er auch ohne seinen kongenialen Partner in der Lage zu leisten ist. 12 starke Nummern, zumeist sehr kraftvoll und knackig in Szene gesetzt (der Balladen-Anteil ist klar in der Minderzahl), zwischen traditionellen Anlagen und sehr abwechslungsreichem, zuweilen durchaus rockigem New Country. Gast, Slide-Gitarrist und Duett-Partner beim Titelstück ust übrigens Joe Walsh (The Eagles). Die Musik passt durchaus zur Philosophie, die auch Brooks & Dunn verkörperten, hat aber auch ihren eigenen Pep. Die Melodien sind prima! Gratulation an Kix Brooks zu diesem großartigen Album!

Wen es interessiert: Hier im Original eine sehr ausführliche, aktuelle Biographie mit der Geschichte zum neuen Album im Original-Wortlaut:

"Wish I was new to this town
Just pullin’ in checking it out for the first time”
— “New to This Town” by Kix Brooks, Marv Green and Terry McBride

It’s been more than 30 years since Kix Brooks was new to the town that he made his home, where he married, raised two children and built an accomplished career as a songwriter, singer and half of the most successful duo in country music history, a weekly national radio show host, magazine columnist, film producer, actor, winery owner and active and influential member of the music industry and community at large.

And yet here he is, picking up where he started when he really was new to this town, when his very first solo single in 1983 lumbered up the country chart to #73 before being hijacked by gravity into oblivion.

“New to This Town” is the title cut from the album that he hopes will reintroduce him to music fans, not exactly as a brand new man—to borrow a phrase from a song he co-wrote many moons ago—but as his own man, with his own songs to sing and his own unique story to tell.
Though the song is about a romantic relationship, metaphorically it suggests another interpretation. “When you’re starting out, there’s so much fear that if you screw up or put out the wrong record, you’ve lost that chance to live your dream. At this point in my career, there’s a different kind of uncertainty and risk that the people who have seen me perform for 20 years as half of Brooks & Dunn won’t be able to see me as anything but that. So in that sense, being new to town would be good to be able to do again.”

Kix Brooks’ career as a musician began long before he came to Nashville, which is less than 100 miles from where the Louisiana native was shipped off for high school at Tennessee’s Sewanee Military Academy. “I wasn’t bad, but I wasn’t good,” he confesses with a smile. “The discipline was good for me. It gave me structure and problem-solving skills, which are really helpful for creative people.”

Brooks grew up in a musical family, had his first guitar before he hit his teens, and while in Sewanee, he began playing coffee houses with his roommate, Nashville native Jody Williams. “Jody turned me on to the Opry,” expanding the range of country music that Brooks already loved. “I was a fan of bluegrass, rock and outlaw country, people like Willie, Cash and Roger Miller. I loved the Allman Brothers, Leon Russell, the Nitty Gritty Dirt Band, Asleep at the Wheel, Guy Clark, Jerry Jeff Walker. ”
After graduation, he went to Louisiana Tech, gaining a foundational education in reading music and the theory of composition while getting hands-on experience playing clubs around town. Realizing that he wasn’t cut out to be in the marching band, school choir, or orchestra—which were required for a music degree—he switched his major to speech and got into theater, both of which would later serve him well.

A brief sabbatical from school led him to Alaska in 1976, working for his dad, a pipeline contractor. The job was great seed money, he recalls, “So when I got home, I bought a new car, a new guitar, a bottle of whiskey, and I was ready to get back at it.

“I had a band and I did some solo stuff. I could bang on a guitar and open up for just about anybody playing clubs in Shreveport. My plan was to be somebody.”
But an invitation from his sister put “Plan A” on hold. “She called me out of the blue and asked if I would come to Maine and help her with a television production company. So I was doing radio and television production, commercials, and it was a great experience. But I was also playing clubs and was still drawn to that. I enjoyed advertising, I enjoyed Maine. But in my heart of hearts, I just wanted to play music.”

So he took off again for Louisiana but stopped in Nashville to visit with his old roommate Jody Williams. “We stayed up all night talking and playing music, and Jody tried to talk me into staying. He said I could make a living writing songs. I said, ‘A, you’re nuts, and B, I’m going to New Orleans to play music.’”
But as fun as it was, the pace—and the partying—began to take a toll. “I called Jody up and said, ‘Do you really think I could make a living writing songs?’ and he said, ‘Get your ass up here!’”

True to his word, Williams gave Brooks a place to crash and found him a job with a concert production company while arranging meetings for him with music publishers around town.

“Everybody was really nice for about half a song, and then I wrote some more songs and called them back, and everyone was always out to lunch. So I started breaking songs down and figuring out what these guys were doing, which doesn’t mean you can do it, but at least I did my homework and really started working harder at trying to figure out how to do it. I realized it was one thing to make people smile in bars and another thing to make a living as a songwriter in Nashville.”
His hard work paid off, and less than two years after pulling into town, Brooks had a publishing deal and a #1 cut. Some things didn’t pan out, like his first album in 1983 on a label that went defunct before the album was released and a 1989 album on Capitol that went nowhere fast.
But he was making a living—a good living—writing songs for Tree Publishing, where exec Paul Worley took some of his demos to veteran music man Tim DuBois, head of the Arista Nashville record label. DuBois suggested that Brooks write with the winner of a talent competition, a tall, big-voiced Texan named Ronnie Dunn. When DuBois heard their song demos, the rest became Brooks & Dunn history.

In their 20-year ride, the duo recorded 10 studio albums, released 50 singles, scored 23 #1 hits, sold more than 30 million albums, sold out tours from coast to coast and became one of the most awarded acts in country music history.

But in August of 2009, they revealed what had long been a topic between the partners themselves: that after a final tour and a final compilation album, Brooks & Dunn would be no more.

“It was always an arranged marriage that happened to work out really well and produce some great kids. But after 20 amazing, dream-like years, it was time.”
As for the notion of recording a solo album, Brooks took his time—or as much time as realistic for someone who owns a thriving winery, hosts a weekly syndicated radio show, forms a film production company, takes on roles in three movies and writes all but one of the songs for the soundtrack for the western To Kill a Memory, as well as co-writing the soundtrack for a Christmas movie.

“I have a lot of interests, and I wasn’t at that point thinking of what I would do next. I was kind of looking forward to chilling for a year or so. I wanted to take my time. I started writing during the last B&D tour, and when we got done, I kept writing while we were making movies.”
When the time felt right, Brooks approached his album with customary enthusiasm, producing and recording nearly 50 songs before beginning the challenging process of narrowing the field. “There were a few like [the Brooks/Leslie Satcher co-write] ‘Moonshine Road’ that I was sort of building the album around,” he says, “so you try to take the ones that fit the other songs the best, that fit you best, or where the track is just smoking.”

The result is a record that is emphatically and uniquely Kix Brooks—rocking, smoky, swampy and bluesy, with belts of bayou and hits of Cajun zydeco. Nine of the album’s dozen tracks bear Brooks’ name as a co-writer, collaborating with such longtime friends and writing luminaries as Bob DiPiero and David Lee Murphy (on the lyrically clever “Closin’ Time at Home”), Rhett Akins and Dallas Davidson (for the mid-tempo musical celebration of “Bring It on Home”), and Marv Green and Terry McBride on “New to This Town,” the title track single that almost didn’t make the album.

“We were kind of done with everything, I had recorded the album, and Jay DeMarcus and I were doing the soundtrack for a Christmas movie over at his house. But I was thinking about that song, so he was nice enough to help me produce it and let me use the pickers while we were working there. He really liked the song, so I said, ‘Let’s do it together.’”

Later, “The engineer from my radio show said, ‘You ought to get some Joe Walsh-sounding slide on that.’ I’m like, ‘Hmm, what if I could get Joe Walsh?’ My manager is partners with Irving Azoff, who sent it to Joe, and he called me up and put the slide on there for me. So that worked out great.”
In a new-to-this-town, full-circle touch, the album also features two songs that Brooks wrote with Rafe Van Hoy. With Deborah Allen, they penned Brooks’ first #1 as a songwriter (John Conlee’s ’83 chart-topper, “I’m Only in It for the Love”), and they pair here on the backsliding fun of “Complete 360” and team with Curly Putman on the groove-and-soul-filled, after-hours portrait of “my baby’s” “Tattoo.”

Now, with his album complete, Brooks is just looking forward to getting it into the hands of fans and resuming the solo career that began long ago when his entire plan “was to be somebody.”

“That fear I had at one point in my career where you’re scared to death to make the wrong move, I don’t feel that way now. But you still really want to do something that is relevant and makes people rock, and look out at a crowd and know you have connected, you’ve hit that nerve. I don’t think you ever get over that.”

(This biography was provided by the artist or their representative.)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. New to this Town - 4:20
2. Moonshine Road - 4:21
3. Bring It On Home - 3:44
4. There's the Sun - 3:05
5. Complete 360 - 3:16
6. My Baby - 2:55
7. Tattoo - 3:25
8. In the Right Place - 3:47
9. Next to That Woman - 3:21
10. Let's Do This Thing - 2:57
11. Closin' Time at Home - 3:37
12. She Knew I Was a Cowboy - 3:22

Art-Nr.: 7907
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 13,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Civil Wars, The - same [2013]
Sehnlichst erwartetes Follow-Up des grandiosen Americana-/Singer-Songwriter-/Alternative Country-/Folk Rock-Duos Joy Williams und John Paul White zu dem mit 3 Grammys dekorierten, frenetisch gefeierten Debut "Barton hollow". The Civil Wars machen genau da weiter, wo sie mit ihrem Vorgänger aufgehört haben. Songmaterial und Performance sind exzellent!

Kurze Original-Produktinfo:
The Civil Wars' highly anticipated sophomore self-titled album is the follow up to the three-time Grammy Award-winning duo's acclaimed debut, Barton Hollow.
The Civil Wars was recorded in Nashville between August 2012 and January 2013. Charlie Peacock was once again at the helm as producer for the album. Additionally, Rick Rubin produced the duo's performance for the track "I Had Me a Girl" in August of 2011. Peacock later completed the track by producing the instrumentation and mix.

Exklusives "Track by Track"-Review zu allen Stücken des Albums von Joy Williams:

THE ONE THAT GOT AWAY

This song pays homage to regret. Nearly everybody I've come across has somebody in their life that they wonder what life would be like if they'd never met that person. It's that sliding-door moment -- in the blink of an eye everything could change. Either for the positive or the negative.
John Paul and I wrote this song in the screened-in porch of my and Nate's new home. I remember warm breezes blowing, a mild day. I had recently had my son, Miles, who happened to be asleep with Nate in the living room, right next to the porch. I remember asking John Paul to play quietly so he didn't wake up the baby.

I HAD ME A GIRL

This song always conjures up an image of a glass of whiskey and a lit cigarette. It's a little brooding. A little dangerous. It smolders. It has swagger and grit. It's full of innuendo and Southern Gothic tones. I love the feel of this track, and the way this song came together on the record. "I Had Me a Girl" is one of those musical moments that makes me wish I knew how to play electric guitar. Or any guitar, for that matter.

SAME OLD SAME OLD

This song, to me, represents the ache of monogamy. This isn't an "I'm leaving you" song. It's a vulnerable confession of "I don't want to leave. I want to work on this -- with you." Having said that, someone once told me a story about long-term relationships: to think of them as a continent to explore. I could spend a lifetime backpacking through Africa, and I would still never know all there is to know about that continent. To stay the course, to stay intentional, to stay curious and connected -- that's the heart of it. But it's so easy to lose track of the trail, to get tired, to want to give up, or to want a new adventure. It can be so easy to lose sight of the goodness and mystery within the person sitting right in front of you. That continent idea inspires me, and makes the ache when it comes hurt a little less. To know that it happens to all of us. What I'm realizing now is that sometimes the "same old same old" can actually be rich, worthwhile and a great adventure.

DUST TO DUST

This song is an anthem for the lonely. Sometimes you come across somebody who thinks they are hiding their pain, but if we are all honest, nobody is very good at it. "You're like a mirror, reflecting me. Takes one to know one, so take it from me.” When John Paul and I wrote this late one night in Birmingham, England, we decided to change the pronoun at the end of the song. We wanted to represent that we all experience loneliness in our lives.

EAVESDROP

We brought in our producer, Charlie Peacock, on this song. He helped with arrangements and really helped take the song to a totally different place. Sometimes as an artist, you can't see what needs re-arranging when you're so "in it." Charlie brought perspective. Almost like an eavesdrop within an "Eavesdrop."
Strangely enough, this song always reminds me that my voice has changed since the last album. I have my son to thank for that, truly. When I was first pregnant and performing on the road, I thought something was wrong with my voice. I was having a hard time hitting high notes, while my low notes kept getting deeper and deeper. I did some research with the help of a vocal coach, and learned that hormone levels affect a female singing range. Having a boy, naturally, upped my testosterone levels, making low notes easier to hit and higher notes harder to reach. But the great thing? After having Miles, I regained my high range AND have kept my low range. Pregnancy literally changed the makeup of my vocal cords. There's a different timbre to it now, and I love that I can hear the story of my son in my singing.

DEVIL'S BACKBONE

This song is our take on an Americana murder ballad. It's dark, prickly, anxious. It was fun writing because we just imagined some dust-bowl scenario, a broke-down town, and a man awaiting being hung for something he did in the name of trying to provide for his family. The woman who loves him is watching him standing there on the gallows.
This song always reminds me of when the melody first came to mind. I was doing my makeup in the tiled bathroom upstairs, with my newborn Miles in a yellow rocking bassinet next to me. I started singing, and turned on the voice memo app on my iPhone so I wouldn't forget it. As I sang, Miles started cooing along with me. Not on pitch, mind you, but I'd move a note, and he'd move a note. I'm never deleting that voice memo. It's become one of my favorites.

FROM THIS VALLEY

That's our Grand Ole Opry song. A new spiritual. It's actually the oldest song written on the album. We wrote it before Barton Hollow came out. Even though we didn't have our own recording of it, we started performing it live and it became a fan favorite. It made sense to finally put it on an album. One of my favorite moments on stage every night was singing the a cappella part together.

TELL MAMA

We recorded the performance at Fame studio in Muscle Shoals, a place we'd written a few songs before that made it onto Barton Hollow. I always felt the musical ghosts in that studio, one of whom was the great Etta James. We're a band that's known for covering songs live in our own way, and we thought it would be fun to take a stab at "Tell Mama." I found out later that where we recorded was the same room she recorded her version. That might explain why I kept getting goosebumps.

OH HENRY

We wrote it one week before Barton Hollow, in the mountains of Salt Lake City during our first Sundance Festival. We conjured up a story about a woman who was married to a philandering man. She is begging her man to level with her, and letting him know she can only take so much, a la "it's gonna kill me or it's gonna kill you."

DISARM

Again, we're the band who loves to do covers. Both John Paul and I have always been huge Smashing Pumpkins fans. Nate mentioned it might be a cool cover, and we actually wound up working it out the same day that we wrote "Oh Henry" up in Salt Lake City for Sundance. It turned into another on-stage staple that people asked for every night. We found out later from his then-manager that Billy dug it.

SACRED HEART

We wrote this song in a flat in Paris, with the Eiffel Tower in full view on a cold night. Tall windows, Victorian furniture, and somehow the atmosphere of all of that seeped into the song. Nate and our friends were there in the room as we wrote, all of us drinking wine together. I also loved getting to try out my flawed French. I wrote what words I knew in French, and then had a Parisian friend named Renata Pepper (yes, that's her real name) look it over later and help me translate. When we recorded the song for the album, I called in a French professor from Vanderbilt named Becky Peterson, who has now become a good friend.

D'ARLINE

We wrote this song in the studio behind my house in Nashville, on a warm summer day, with the windows and doors open. This song is a sweet lament, of loss and the belief that you'll never be able to love anybody else again. I stumbled across "Letters of Note" on Twitter, and was struck by the title of a letter written by a famous physicist named Richard Feynman: "I love my wife. My wife is dead." A little over a year after her death, he wrote his wife a love letter and sealed it. It was written in 1946, and wasn't opened until after his death in 1988. He ended his note to his long-lost wife with "Please excuse my not mailing this -- but I don't know your new address."
Another aside to this song: While we were recording the song together, John Paul and I could hear crows cawing in the background that I've since named Edgar, Allen and Poe. This recording and performance of the song is the first and only in existence, a work tape recorded simply on my iPhone.

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. The One That Got Away - 3.32
2. I Had Me a Girl - 3.45
3. Same Old Same Old - 3.48
4. Dust to Dust - 3.49
5. Eavesdrop - 3.35
6. Devil's Backbone - 2.29
7. From This Valley - 3.33
8. Tell Mama - 3.48
9. Oh Henry - 3.32
10. Disarm - 4.42
11. Sacred Heart - 3.19
12. D'Arline - 3.06

Art-Nr.: 8264
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock; Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 13,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Clark, Terri - greatest hits [2004]
Nach rund 10 Jahren im Geschäft (der Untertitel der CD heißt deshalb auch "1994-2004") und immerhin schon 5 klasse Alben, legt die großartige, beliebte und überaus erfolgreiche kanadische Country-Interpretin Terri Clark nun ihr erstes "Greatest Hits"-Package vor. Das Werk enthält nicht weniger als 6 Nummer 1-Hits, sowie etliche weitere Top 10-Erfolge, darunter beispielsweise "Better things to do", "Poor poor pitiful me", "When boy meets girl", "Now that I found you", "A little gasoline" und "I just wanna be mad"! Neben der sehr gelungenen Zusammenstellung von 11 bekannten Stücken gibt es darüber hinaus auch noch eine großartige Live-Version des Songs "No fear" aus ihrem Album "Fearless", mitgeschnitten am 26. September 2003 in Duluth/Georgia, sowie 2 brandneue Studiotracks! Und diese beiden Nummern sind so stark, daß sie schon für sich alleine ein sehr gutes Kaufargument für dieses Album bedeuten. Da haben wir zunächst den tollen Uptempo Country-/New Country-Fetzer "Girls lie too", der mit seinem klasse Drive dem viel zitierten "Hi Energy Cowgirl"-Image von Terri einmal mehr voll und ganz gerecht wird. Hat richtig Pep! Besticht durch eine wunderbare Melodie und eine großartige, schmissige Instrumentierung aus Gitarren, Fiddles und Steel! Kein Wunder, daß Terri auch mit dieser Nummer schon wieder Richtung Top-Position der Billboard Country Singles-Charts unterwegs ist. Fast noch stärker ist der zweite neue Song, das knackige, wunderbar angerockte "One of the guys"! Was für eine herrliche Country(rock)-Nummer! Tolle Fiddle, großartige Gitarrenriffs, ein grooviger Rhythmus, ein gewisses Westcoast-Flair und einmal mehr eine wunderbare Melodie lassen vermuten, daß auch dieser, im übrigen gut tanzbare Titel ein Chartbreaker werden wird. Erinnert ein wenig an alte Countryrock-Zeiten der großen Linda Ronstadt! Ein schönes Album, das die Wartezeit auf Terri's nächste, "reguläre" Scheibe angenehm verkürzt!

Art-Nr.: 2551
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Evans, Morgan - things that we drink to [2018]
Klasse U.S.-Debut des Australiers Morgan Evans, der drauf und dran ist in Nashville richtig Fuß zu fassen. Evans, in übrigen verheiratet mit der immens erfolgreichen Kelsea Ballerini, spielt eine überaus gefällige und voller Hitpotential steckende Mischung aus lockeren, gut zu verarbeitenden und sehr melodischen, mal dynamischen, mal langsameren Songs an der Schnittstelle zwischen New Country und Countrypop, die geradezu darauf warten die Charts zu stürmen. Enthält seinen ersten Nr.1-Hit, das flotte "Kiss somebody," und den neuen Hit "Day drunk". Natürlich darf auch ein Duett mit seiner Liebsten, Kelsea Ballerini, nicht fehlen ("Dance with me").

Hier ein Original U.K.-Review:

Morgan Evans captured the hearts of the UK when he released his lead single Kiss Somebody. With just a handful of songs out, Morgan has continued to build his UK fanbase with a couple of trips here including playing C2C Festival. Although we don’t often like to focus on an artists craft through their significant other, we can’t not mention Evan’s wife Kelsea Ballerini when she is so clearly the muse of most of his songs.
Morgan’s debut album Things That We Drink To starts with the song American, Evan’s seems to be describing his wife;
She’s got hair as gold as Kansas Wheat, her body moves like bourbon street in New Orleans, so wild and free She’s American, making my life better than it’s ever been.
American is a great start to the album and has that earlier Keith Urban style to it. This album is actually so much better than I thought it would be. With the title being Things That We Drink To I was somewhat afraid it was going to be a bunch of typical bro – country songs that sound just like all the other artists out there who sing about beer, trucks, dirt roads and women in little tight blue jeans or something. But this album has a lot more depth to it.
A lot of the songs are not just radio friendly but arena friendly and are definitely of the standard where you can imagine a huge arena concert and the music bouncing off the arena walls and everyone singing along.
Songs such as I Do are more mid tempo and in I Do’s case, is a love letter to his wife and well lets face it, us country fans are suckers for a real life country music love story.
Song for the Summer lost me a bit. I think it will prove popular amongst a lot of fans as has a great dance beat to it but it isn’t for me. It has an element of Sam Hunt in it and although I quite like Hunt, I just can’t seem to get into it.
Day Drunk which was another single is a great summer anthem song but again, neither here nor there for me sadly.
Kelsea Ballerini joins Morgan for Dance With Me for a stunning ballad. This is a gorgeous romantic country song as it should be. There is beauty in its simplicity and it isn’t over produced. The words are of course believable as they are true. Kelsea may not like love songs but Morgan clearly does and we are so glad about that or we wouldn’t have this song. I would be very surprised if this doesn’t get released as a single.
Me on You has a bit of an R&B element to it. It has a sweet guitar riff throughout and a nice beat to it. Although I am not keen on the clubby dance element to country music, this song can easily have that vibe but would also be amazing stripped back.
The title track Things That We Drink To, is thankfully not your typical drinking song but a breathtaking dedication to a friend of Morgans, his late manager who sadly passed. (More on that can be found here. ) This song has a strong anthem feel to it and its down tempo stylings are really quite infectious especially in the piano accompaniment. The emotion in Morgan’s vocals, lyrics and music is honest and quite deep. I like a song with meaning, a song where you can actually feel where the artist is coming from and what they a feeling on some level. The subject was obviously someone very dear to Morgan and the song is both happy and sad at the same time with the feeling of loss but also great memories and celebration of friendship. I think the songs music and words encompasses all of that and I would certainly drink to that.
We Dream is about those childhood dreams and childhood freedom. It is a good song but might be one that takes me a while. I sadly feel the same way about Everything Changes. Both aren’t bad tracks but may take a listen or two.
Young Again is a great song to close the album on. It has a Folk music way about it and is like an Irish drinking song and I enjoy those type of drinking songs as they feel a lot more happy and are the kind of songs that bring unity. I can see this song being one of those live songs that make people in the crowd all sway arm and arm whilst of course, raising glasses.
Overall this is a quality, celebratory album that certainly has that “Let’s raise our glasses” feel to it. Things That We Drink To has a lot of fun and thoroughly enjoyable songs.
There is a really bright future for Morgan Evans and he is definitely on his way up to being one of the big names and I am actually really excited about it. If he continues to deliver music similar to what he has now then I am more than happy for him to sit up there on the top of the charts. (Hnnah Jessica / Building Our Own Nashville)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. American - 3:03
2. Kiss Somebody - 3:33
3. I Do - 3:30
4. Song for the Summer - 3:32
5. Day Drunk - 3:14
6. Dance with Me (feat. Kelsea Ballerini) - 3:19
7. Me on You - 3:26
8. Things That We Drink To - 3:08
9. We Dream - 3:36
10. Everything Changes - 3:17
11. Young Again - 2:55

Art-Nr.: 9740
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 13,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Giddens, Rhiannon - tomorrow is my turn [2015]
Großartiges Solo-Debut der Frontfrau und Multi-Instrumentalistin von den Carolina Chocolate Drops. Die fantastische Sängerin brilliert mit einer ungemeni facettenreichen Scheibe zwischen Americana, Roots, Folk, Blues, Jazz, Country, Gospel, Rock und Soul, produziert von T Bone Burnett. Bärenstark beispielsweise ihre Interpretationen von Dolly Parton's "Don't let it trouble your mind" oder Elizabeth Cotten's "Shake sugaree". Unter den beteiligten Musikern sind solche Größen wie etwa T Bone Burnett (guitar), Colin Linden (guitar), Dennis Crouch (bass), Jay Bellerose (drums), Gabe Witcher (fiddle) und Keefus Ciancia (keyboards). Charismatisch! Edel!

Die Origianl-Produktbeschreibung:

Rhiannon Giddens, singer, songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, and founding member of Grammy Award-winning Carolina Chocolate Drops, makes her solo recording debut with Tomorrow Is My Turn, due out February 10, 2015, on Nonesuch Records. The album was produced by T Bone Burnett.
Burnett first worked with Giddens when she performed last fall at a concert he curated at New York City’s Town Hall that was later broadcast on Showtime: Another Day, Another Time: Celebrating the Music of “Inside Llewyn Davis.” Backstage, Burnett was immediately moved to ask if he could produce a record with her. “It was clear the first time I heard her at rehearsal that Rhiannon is next in a long line of singers that include Marian Anderson, Odetta, Mahalia Jackson, Rosetta Tharpe,” Burnett says. “We need that person in our culture.”
For her first solo disc, Giddens chose a broad range of songs from genres as diverse as gospel, jazz, blues, and country. In addition to the traditional “Black Is the Color,” tracks include Hank Cochran’s “She’s Got You,” made famous by Patsy Cline; Dolly Parton’s “Don't Let It Trouble Your Mind”; “O Love Is Teasin’,” popularized by the Kentucky-reared “mother of folk” Jean Ritchie; and Elizabeth Cotton’s “Shake Sugaree.”
“I had already started putting together a list of songs that didn’t really fit into the Chocolate Drops world,” Giddens explains. “At the top was ‘Tomorrow Is My Turn’ [immortalized by Nina Simone]. Seeing Nina do it on YouTube was revelatory. I knew she’d gone through a lot of hard times, as so many people did in that time period. Watching her sing this song, with the words ‘tomorrow is my turn,’ I began to think about the struggle of her and women like her.” The significance of this song led Giddens to make it the title of the album as well. “Other songs started getting on my list and they were all by women or interpreted by women,” she says.
"Tomorrow Is My Turn" was recorded in Los Angeles and Nashville, with a multi-generational group of players whom Burnett assembled. Among them are fiddle player Gabe Witcher and double bassist Paul Kowert of label-mates Punch Brothers; percussionist Jack Ashford of Motown’s renowned Funk Brothers; drummer Jay Bellerose; guitarist Colin Linden; legendary backup singer Tata Vega; veteran Nashville session bassist Dennis Crouch; and Giddens’ Drops touring band-mates, multi-instrumentalist Hubby Jenkins and beat-boxer Adam Matta.

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Last Kind Words - 4:13
2. Don't Let It Trouble Your Mind - 3:39
3. Waterboy - 3:45
4. She's Got You - 4:17
5. Up Above My Head - 3:09
6. Tomorrow is My Turn - 4:37
7. Black Is the Color - 3:45
8. Round About the Mountain - 3:30
9. Shake Sugaree - 4:24
10. O Love Is Teasin' - 4:32
11. Angel City - 3:52

Art-Nr.: 8790
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 13,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Gov't Mule - the georgia bootleg box ~ 6 cd live-set [2012]
6 CD-Set!
WIR HABEN DIE ORIGINAL U.S.-AUSGABE!
Wieder mal ein Fest für die Mule-Heads!
Die großartige, 6 CDs umfassende "Georgie Bootleg Box" enthält insgesamt 3 komplette Konzerte der aussergewöhnlichen Blues-/Southern-/Jamrock-Band um den genialen Gitarristen Warren Haynes, alle mitgeschnitten im Jahre 1996, als die Band gerade mal 2 Jahre bestand. Wir hören hier also die legendäre Original-Besetzung mit dem unvergessenen Allen Woody am Bass. Die Band hatte schon immer eine besondere und sehr enge Beziehung zum U.S.-Bundesstaat Georgia. Nicht zuletzt fanden seinerzeit im "Big House" der The Allman Brothers Band in Macon die ellerersten Session von Warren Haynes, Matt Abts und Allen Woody statt. Konsequent also, dass die Truppe nun diese wunderbaren Live-Shows ihren unzähligen Fans zugänglich macht. Im übrigen tauchten auch damals schon bei den Mule-Shows immer mal wieder illustre, hoch interessante Gäste auf. Hier waren das zum Beispiel der blutjunge Derek Trucks (The Allman Brothers Band, Derek Trucks Band, Tedeschi Trucks Band) und Tinsley Ellis. Gov't Mule in ihrem Element - und die Fans feiern...

Hier ein Statement von Warren Haynes zu dieser großartigen Veröffentlichung im Original-Wortlaut:
Those of you that have followed the Mule's history know that our connection with the state of Georgia is a deep one. Our first rehearsals were at the one-time living quarters of the Allman Brothers Band known as The Big House (now the ABB museum) in Macon, GA. Some later rehearsals took place at what used to be the legendary Capricorn Recording Studio in Macon while recording the song GONNA SEND YOU BACK TO GEORGIA for the HOUND DOG TAYLOR Tribute CD. A lot of our earliest shows were in Georgia as well so a lot of our growth as a band took place in front of Georgia audiences.
Most Mule fans know also that two of our official "live" releases were recorded on back to back New Year's Eves (1998 and 1999) at the Roxy Theater in Atlanta. Venues like the Roxy and the Georgia Theater in Athens were staples in our early touring schedule (while watching an episode of the TV show CITY CONFIDENTIAL that took place in Athens I got a chuckle seein GOV’T MULE on the marquis as they scanned past the Georgia Theater).
Having recently been reminded of these 3 shows from '96, and of the fact that they had been recorded and mixed by Doug Oade back in the day, I found myself listening to these recordings for the first time in fifteen years. I was instantly taken with the visceral nature of the music along with the rawness of the way that it was captured. The Mule was barely two years old at this time and what we hear here, along with many songs from our first CD, are the works in progress of many songs that would later wind up on DOSE and in some cases LIFE BEFORE INSANITY. This was at a time in our career when our repertoire was small but constantly growing, not unlike our fan base.
Enjoy! (Warren Haynes)

Die kompletten Setlists der 3 Konzerte:

4/11/96
Georgia Theatre
Athens, GA

Disc 1:
1. Blind Man in the Dark (9.30)
2. Mother Earth (8.00)
3. John the Revelator (1.40)
4. Temporary Saint (6.11)
5. Game Face (6.22)
6. No Need to Suffer (8.09)
7. Trane > (7.14)
8. Eternity's Breath Jam > (2.00)
9. Thelonius Beck > (4.08)
10. Trane > (1.19)
11. St. Stephen Jam > (4.30)
12. Trane (2.48)
13. Don't Step on the Grass, Sam (8.02)

Disc 2:
1. Presence of the Lord (6.41)
2. Birth of the Mule (6.00)
3. Left Coast Groovies (6.23)
4. Drums (6.44)
5. Mule > (4.54)
6. Who Do You Love > (1.35)
7. Mule (3.12)
8. Goin’ Out West (7.11)
9. Spanish Moon (11.47) *
10. Gonna Send You Back to Georgia (7.29) *
* With Derek Trucks on guitar


4/12/96
The Roxy
Atlanta, GA

Disc 1:
1. Blind Man in the Dark (9.34)
2. Mother Earth (8.31)
3. Mule (5.54)
4. Temporary Saint (6.15)
5. Game Face (6.27)
6. No Need to Suffer (8.19)
7. Trane > (6.51)
8. Eternity's Breath Jam > (2.02)
9. Thelonius Beck > (3.56)
10. Trane > (1.41)
11. St. Stephen Jam > (4.37)
12. Trane (1.35)
13. Painted Silver Light (7.19)

Disc 2:
1. Don't Step on the Grass, Sam (7.59)
2. Birth of the Mule (5.31)
3. Just Got Paid (7.32)
4. Goin' Out West (6.16)
5. The Same Thing (10.17)
6. Gonna Send You Back to Georgia (8.33) *
7. Young Man Blues( 2.35) * >
8. Good Morning Little Schoolgirl (7.23) *>
9. Young Man Blues (1.59) *
*With Derek Trucks on guitar


4/13/96
Elizabeth Reed Music Hall
Macon, GA

1. Blind Man in the Dark (9.54)
2. Mother Earth (9.09)
3. John the Revelator (1.42)
4. Temporary Saint (5.49)
5. Rocking Horse (4.36)
6. Game Face (6.47)
7. No Need to Suffer (8.41)
8. Trane > (8.55)
9. Eternity’s Breath Jam > (1.58)
10. Thelonius Beck > (4.01)
11. Trane > (1.41)
12. St. Stephen Jam (5.46)

Disc 2:
1. Presence of the Lord (6.44)
2. Birth of the Mule (6.41)
3. Monkey Hill > (4.36)
4. She's So Heavy Jam (1.28)
5. Mule (7.07)
6. Goin' Out West (7.55)
7. She's 19 Years Old (10.20) *
8. Gonna Send You Back to Georgia (8.20)*
* With Tinsley Ellis on guitar

Art-Nr.: 7952
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 31,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Guy, Buddy - rhythm & blues [2013]
2 CD-Set! 3 Jahre nach den Grammy-dekorierten "Living proof" veröffentlicht Meistergitarrist und lebende Blues-Legende Buddy Guy sein neues Album, und zwar gleich eine Doppel-CD. Bereits im Vorfeld wird "Rhythm & Blues" als eine weitere, absolute musikalische Sternstunde in der langen Karriere Guy's gefeiert, und die ersten Reviews bestätigen diese Vorschußlorbeeren nachdrücklich. Ein paar der Songs des neuen Werkes hat der Meister mit einigen hochkarätigen Gästen eingespielt, was einmal mehr seine einzigartige Verbindung zwischen Tradition und Moderne offenbart. Mit dabei waren der neue, junge Guitarhero des Blues, Gary Clark jr., Beth Hart, aber auch genrefremde Größen wie Keith Urban, Kid Rock und Aerosmith's Steven Tyler, Joe Perry und Brad Whitford. Produziert hat sein langjähriger Weggefährte Tom Hambridge! Der ewig junge Buddy Guy befindet auch mit 76 Jahren noch in der Blüte seiner Karriere. Großartig!

Die offizielle Produktbeschreibung:

Six-time Grammy Award winner and 2012 Kennedy Center Honoree Buddy Guy will release his new studio album Rhythm & Blues. The follow-up to his 2010 Grammy Award winning album Living Proof, this double-disc masterpiece features first time studio collaborations with A-list artists Kid Rock, Keith Urban, Gary Clark, Jr., Beth Hart and Aerosmith members Steven Tyler, Joe Perry and Brad Whitford. Rhythm & Blues will be available for pre-order at all online retailers on June 25th.
Produced by Grammy Award winning producer/songwriter and longtime collaborator Tom Hambridge (Skin Deep, Living Proof), Rhythm & Blues captures the 76 year-young Guy at the peak of his creativity. Replete with heartfelt vocals, straightforward lyrics and mesmerizing guitar licks, Rhythm & Blues not only exemplifies how blues continues to be the foundation of all genres of today's music, it also illustrates why Guy has been influential in the careers of Eric Clapton, Jimi Hendrix, Jeff Beck, Stevie Ray Vaughan and more.
The Rhythm disc includes rhythm and blues-style blues with deep grooves, such as the Junior Wells' 1960 hit "Messin' With The Kid" featuring Kid Rock, the touching "One Day Away" with Keith Urban, and "What You're Gonna Do About Me," a rousing duet with Beth Hart. Guy rounds out the disc with "Best In Town," "Whiskey Ghost," Guitar Slim's "Well I Done Got Over It" and more.
The Blues disc taps into the genre's rich history with "Meet Me In Chicago," "I Could Die Happy," "Never Gonna Change" and "All That Makes Me Happy Is The Blues." Aerosmith's Tyler, Perry and Whitford contribute to the musical lesson with "Evil Twin" while Gary Clark, Jr. joins Guy on "Blues Don t Care."
In a career that spans nearly 50 years with over 50 albums released, the incomparable Buddy Guy recently added the prestigious Kennedy Center Honors and NARM Chairman's Award for Sustained Creative Achievement to his long list of achievements. Guy is the recipient of 30 awards and accolades, including 6 Grammy Awards, 28 Blues Music Awards (formerly W. C. Handy Awards), Rock and Roll Hall of Fame induction, the first annual Great Performer of Illinois Award, a Billboard Music Awards' Century Award for distinguished artistic achievement, the Presidential National Medal of Arts, in addition to being listed as one of the 100 Greatest Guitarists of All Time by Rolling Stone.

Hier noch ein begeistertes U.S-Review:

Buddy Guy – Next to Muddy Waters and Howlin’ Wolf, his name personifies Chicago blues. Considering he’ll be 77 years old on July 30th, you’d think he’d be ready to sit down and take it easy. His new album is proof that like good whiskey and fine wine he’s just gotten better with age. For Buddy’s birthday he gives us all a gift with Rhythm & Blues, a two disc album filled with some stellar collaborations and which after over 50 albums is probably one of his best releases.
This album is once again produced by the Grammy winning producer Tom Hambridge (Living Proof, 2010). A musician who is criminally unknown for his own blues rock releases. Tom Hambridge plays the drums throughout the album. After that there are two basic all-star sets of musicians. The first consists of David Grissom (guitar), Reese Wynans, (B3), and Michael Rhodes (bass). The second set consists of Rob McNeely (guitar), Kevin McKendree, (B3), and Tommy MacDonald (bass). As if the musicianship wasn’t enough in the above list, Buddy also has the following guest stars; Kid Rock, Gary Clark Jr., Beth Hart, Keith Urban, and Aerosmith’s Steven Tyler, Joe Perry and Brad Whitford, who all contribute something unique and interesting.
With two discs of quality material to pick from it’s difficult to discuss them all. Suffice to say there isn’t a bad track. So we’ll just discuss the highlights.
Disc 1: “Justifyin’” is the second track and it is a fast rockin’ powerhouse of a track. It’s amazing that Buddy can rip notes off his guitar at that rate at almost 77 years old. “I Go By Feel” slows things down as Buddy explains a conversation with an old blues teacher when he was younger and how the concept that feel is what sets a great musician apart from someone who is technically capable. You can throw all the notes at someone you want but there is that connection with a few simple notes where an artist can express all the emotion of the song. Buddy next teams up with Kid Rock to cover the appropriately named Elmore James tune “Messin’ with the Kid,” which Buddy played guitar on way back in 1965. Kid’s gruff voice actually meshes well with the attitude of the song. Shortly after that we get a cover, “One Day Away,” which was written by one of Buddy’s long time touring guitar players, Scott Holt, who is another artist everyone should check out. Keith Urban lends his country swagger to the song singing about telling someone you love them and the need to seize the day and to not wish one day away. Beth Hart steps up next and let’s everything rip on the spectacular track “What You Gonna Do About Me” as she trades lyrics with Buddy, proving once again why she is one of the powerhouse female vocalists of this generation.
Disc 2: The second disc starts out with a tribute to Buddy’s hometown with “Meet Me In Chicago.” Buddy lists the highlights of his hometown, like deep dish pizza, Wrigley Field, Soldier Field, Wabash Avenue, and in Buddy’s typical humble style he of course lists Buddy Guy playing the blues, which is reason enough to come to Chicago. “Evil Twin” brings the members of Aerosmith in for a straight up blues anthem. “All That Makes Me Happy is the Blues” is slow blues that is all about exactly what the song title says it is. Blues is known for being a genre of music about sadness, but it’s not meant to be sad. It’s really meant to be an uplifting release of all of our problems. The final track that stands out on here is collaboration with Gary Clark Jr. on the rollicking “Blues Don’t Care.”
Buddy will always be one of the legends of the blues. He has always blurred the lines between blues and rock and roll. Filled with his signature tone and that Buddy Guy attitude, Rhythm & Blues just continues to cement his legacy as one of the greatest guitar players.
(Kevin O’Rourke/Blues Rock Review)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

Disc 1
1. Best in Town
2. Justifyin'
3. I Go by Feel
4. Messin' with the Kid (featuring Kid Rock)
5. What's Up with That Woman
6. One Day Away (featuring Keith Urban)
7. Well I Done Got over It
8. What You Gonna Do About Me (featuring Beth Hart)
9. The Devil's Daughter
10. Whiskey Ghost
11. Rhythm Inner Groove

Disc 2
1. Meet Me in Chicago
2. Too Damn Bad
3. Evil Twin (featuring Steven Tyler, Joe Perry & Brad Whitford)
4. I Could Die Happy
5. Never Gonna Change
6. All That Makes Me Happy Is the Blues
7. My Mama Loved Me
8. Blues Don't Care (featuring Gary Clark jr.)
9. I Came Up Hard
10. Poison Ivy

Art-Nr.: 8245
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 15,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Haggard, Merle - i am what i am [2010]
Brandneues Album der mittlerweile 72-jährihen Countrymusic-Legende aus Californien, Haggard, der zusammen mit Buck Owens den Bakersfield-Sound massgeblich mit prägte, zählt zu den ganz Großen der klassischen, zeitgenössischen Countrymusic, dessen Einfluss auf unzählige Musiker nach wie vor ungebrochen ist. Und das er's noch immer kann, beweist er eindrucksvoll mit seinem neuen Werk: Klassischer Haggard-Country ohne jeden modernen "Firlefanz", authentisch auf den Punkt gebracht.

Hier die ausführliche Original-Produktinformation des Labels zu dieser Veröffentlichung:

California country music legend Merle Haggard's debut Vanguard release, I Am What I Am bristles with all the arresting qualities for which this unrivaled artist is prized. Every song is imbued with the near alchemical power of his dazzling vocal performances, and Haggard's interpretive mastery and unmatched phrasing continues to bring on impressive measures of sensitivity, candor and authority. Never conventional, often confrontational, always outspoken, the 72 year old Haggard remains as aggressively bent on revealing unspoken truths as ever.
From the astonishing opener, "I've Seen It Go Away," Haggard throws a flurry of knock-out punches. A stunningly blunt rundown of contemporary America's cultural decay--targeting everything from politics to pop music--it's prescient and pessimistic, but carries an unflinching honesty that trumps mere cynicism. When he sings "I`ve seen it all completely fall apart / and I`ve seen our greatest leaders break their peoples heart" it`s downright chilling, but the album doesn't dwell on woe. It's a typically far-reaching set, but remains centered around a series of contemplations on love, in all of its intoxicating and vexing forms. Examining romance with a poet's beatific vulnerability, Haggard travels from the ardent bloom of romance to the intricate ensemble of family life to the burnt out confusion of fading passion, yet always returns to love`s eternally redemptive power. This is Hag at his best, with his hair down, remarkably intimate and sincere.

Over a distinguished fifty year-plus career that's taken him from a drastically misspent criminal youth to solitary confinement in San Quentin to the Country Music Hall of Fame, Haggard has memorably portrayed, in song, myriad archetypal characters. Whether fugitive, troubadour, misfit or crusader, he's explored each perspective with a critical acuity, a hard-won skill that's allowed him to score no less than 40 number one country hits. With I Am What I Am, Haggard really looks inward, going all the way back to his Oildale childhood on sentimental reminiscence "Oil Tanker Train," which Haggard called "My favorite song on the album--that's a true deal." Rough-edged numbers like "Stranger in the City" and the rowdy "Mexican Band" carries the set all the way up to the singer's still barely-controlled hell-raising ways--on the latter, he unforgettably declares "Agave makes me dance on my hands." But on tracks like "Pretty When It's New," a study of new love's marvelous voltage, and "How Did You Find Me Here" which convincingly takes him from morbid depression to elated joy, Haggard sounds almost re-born, intensely involved and consumed with a sheer sense of wonder that's enhanced further by those characteristically masterful vocals.

Recorded with his ace band the Strangers, many of whom have been at Hag's side for decades, at his Northern California headquarters, the Shade Tree Manor studio, and co-produced by indispensable, longtime cohort Lou Bradley, the album was largely a family affair. "It was pretty much just the Strangers, but Reggie Young and Rob Ikes played on it, and we had an additional drummer that worked with us, George Receli from the Bob Dylan band." Haggard said. "Sometimes we try to find an inspiring player, to come and inspire us." That quality was clearly not in short supply, and Haggard's musical concepts and execution continue to flabbergast.

Equally at ease with hard country realism and jazz-informed expression, Haggard's songwriting is operating at an entirely new and impressive artistic plateau. "Bad Actor" is a remarkable soliloquy on married life and the vortex of hope, guilt, confusion and doubt it can instill. Delivered in the simplest language yet dealing with some highly intricate and subtle emotional issues, it is an altogether moving and unique achievement. Haggard's often closely guarded innocence is completely exposed, showing an incredible tenderness that, considering the counterpoint of his battle-scarred, hardened exterior, creates a profoundly resonant experience.

Closing with "I Am What I Am," the title track's unflinching self-assessment crystallizes the singer's own personal state of the union. Equally relaxed and ornery, confident, focused and as controversial as ever, Haggard knows exactly who he is--"a seeker and a sinner"--and taken with the fierce opening salvo of "I've Seen It Go Away," he still refuses to downplay or shy away from our common, harsh reality. "Its pretty sad actually, it just seems like its one thing after another that we lose every day." Haggard said. "You get up, turn on the radio and something else went down the drain. I guess people like you and I--people that care--have got to bind together somehow, and maybe doing that through the music is the best way." (Vanguard)

Die komplette Songliste:

1 I've Seen It Go Away - 3:00   
2 Pretty When It's New - 3:12   
3 Oil Tanker Train - 3:02   
4 Live and Love Always - 2:30   
5 The Road To My Heart - 2:50   
6 How Did You Find Me Here - 3:55   
7 We're Falling In Love Again - 3:31   
8 Bad Actor - 3:28   
9 Down At the End of the Road - 3:10   
10 Stranger In the City - 2:09   
11 Mexican Bands - 3:27   
12 I Am What I Am - 2:38

Art-Nr.: 6870
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Highwomen, The - same [2019]
Einmalig! Was für ein starkes Debut! Mit den Highwomen ist in Nashville ein neues, weibliches Allstar-Projekt, eine Art "Supergroup", entstanden, die mit ihrem Bandnamen, man vermutet es schon, den zwar legendären, aber recht kurzlebigen, einstigen Highwaymen (Kris Kristofferson, Johnny Cash, Willie Nelson und Waylon Jennings) ihre Referenz erweisen. Auch die Highwomen sind große Namen, und zwar der aktuellen Americana- und Country-Szene. Es handelt sich um Brandi Carlile (eine der wichtigsten Americana-Künstlerinnen der Gegenwart und frisch gekürte Siegerin der 18. Annual Americana Music Honors & Awards in der Kategorie "Album des Jahres" für ihr Werk "By the way, I forgive you", verliehen im Ryman Auditorium in Nashville am 11.09.2019), Natalie Hemby (ungemein erfolgreiche und in Nashville hoch gefragte Songwriterin für alles, was in der Countryszene Rang und Namen hat), Maren Morris (die Jüngste im Bunde und sehr erfolgreiche Hit-Lieferantin der jungen Countrygeneration), sowie Amanda Shires (ebenfalls eine große Künstlerin der aktuellen Americana-Szene, begnadete Fiddlerin und Sängerin, "nebenbei" Ehefrau von Roots- und Americana-Rocker Jason Isbell und "sporadisches" Mitglied von dessen Band The 400 Unit), von der auch der Vorstoß zur Gründung der Band ausging. Shires unterbreitete den Vorschlag zur Gründung eines weiblichen Gegenparts zu den Highwaymen, als sie vor einiger Zeit mit Produzent Dave Cobb im Studio an einem Album arbeitete. Der war total angetan von der Idee, was Shires wiederum dazu veranlasste ihre Kolleginnen Brandi Carlile, Maren Morris und Natalie Hemby zusammenzutrommeln - und die Highwomen waren geboren. Trotz aller Referanzen an die Highwaymen, die Musik der Highwomen ist nicht mit der von Cash und Co. zu vergleichen. Hatten die Herren damals ihre typische Outlaw Country-Attitüde eingebracht, spielen die Highwomen von faszinierenden Lead-Stimmen und Harmonie-Gesängen bestimmte, hinreissend schöne, absolut reine, unverfälschte Countrymusic der Gegenwart, allerdings frei von jeglichem Pop-Schnickschnack und Mainstream-Bombast. Nein, das ist so frisch und rein, so ehrlich und authentisch, wie man Countrymusic heute nicht besser spielen kann. Und wenn es der Song benötigt, wird auch ein Hauch von Americana integriert. Die Vier sind fantastische Sängerinnen und Songwriterinnen und ergänzen sich einfach wunderbar. Das Songmaterial ist grandios. Die Highwomen werden unterstützt von jeder Menge Gastmusikern, -Sängern und -Komponisten, wie zum Beispiel Sheryl Crow (background vocals, bass), Yola (vocals, background vocals), Dave Cobb (acoustic/electric guitar), Jason Isbell (acoustic/electric guitar), Phil Hanseroth (bass, background vocals), Tim Hanseroth (guitar, background vocals), Chris Powell (drums) und Peter Levin (piano and keyboards), mit Songs komponiert von Carlile, Hemby, Morris, Shires, Isbell, den Hanseroth Twillingen, Rodney Clawson, Lori McKenna, Miranda Lambert und Ray LaMontagne. Es gibt nicht den Hauch eines abfallenden Songs. Das Werk, natürlich erstklassig produziert vom umtriebigen "König" Dave Cobb, ist eine absolute Offenbarung für die aktuelle Countrymusic. Einfach wunderbar!

Hier noch ein Original U.S.-Review:

There’s no getting around the supergroup label for this collaborative effort. It’s right there in the band’s name, a direct reference to The Highwaymen, the short-lived act that found legends Kris Kristofferson, Johnny Cash, Willie Nelson and Waylon Jennings joining forces on an intermittent basis for about a decade in the mid-’80s through mid-’90s.
Like those proud, rootsy country icons, The Highwomen — comprising Americana singer-songwriters Brandi Carlile, Natalie Hemby, Amanda Shires and Maren Morris — showcase their C&W roots, in addition to their more boundary expanding work. The collective, formed by Shires when she noticed the lack of female voices on country radio, not surprisingly revels in woman-empowered concepts.
From the joy of motherhood (“My Only Child”) to the difficulties of everyday life (“Redesigning Women”’s “Runnin’ the world while we’re cleanin’ up the kitchen … How do we do it?”) with of course a few nods to lousy guys who done them wrong (Shires’ going all Dolly Parton on “Don’t Call Me” and Morris’ “Loose Change”), this is a fresh, occasionally feisty, feminine approach to the country genre informed by the group’s singer-songwriter strengths.   
Carlile dives into that concept on the honky-tonking “My Name Can’t Be Mama,” which sounds like a lost Loretta Lynn gem. It’s the rare entry, along with “Crowded Table,” where all participants trade off or harmonize together on lead vocals. Morris gets introspective on the moving ballad “Old Soul” (“I guess I was born an old soul”) and Shires joins with husband Jason Isbell (also a member of the backing band) to pen “If She Ever Leaves Me,” sung by Carlile as a nod to her out-of-the-closet sexuality.
Generally more subdued than the Miranda Lambert-led Pistol Annies and less groundbreaking than Trio (the iconic Emmylou Harris, Dolly Parton, Linda Ronstadt project that was a clear influence here), some of this doesn’t qualify as country. It would have helped if all four women participated in every performance since at least one is MIA on the majority of tunes. And while Dave Cobb’s production is typically professional, it’s also a little dry.
Regardless, this is a much needed shot in the arm from talented female singer-songwriters, most of whose solo work is on the fringes of country music and who have every right to expect these songs to stand alongside the testosterone-heavy dudes on the commercial airwaves.
Whether any of these tunes will crack that particular glass ceiling is unclear. But between their recognizable names and obvious talents as singers AND songwriters, if The Highwomen’s debut can’t do the trick, it’s hard to imagine what will.
(Hal Horowitz / American Songwriter)

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Highwomen - 3:32
2. Redesigning Women - 2:54
3. Loose Change - 2:22
4. Crowded Table - 3:29
5. My Name Can't Be Mama - 2:30
6. If She Ever Leaves Me - 3:13
7. Old Soul - 5:45
8. Don't Call Me - 3:36
9. My Only Child - 3:53
10. Heaven Is A Honky Tonk - 3:54
11. Cocktail And A Song - 3:37
12. Wheels Of Laredo - 4:15

Art-Nr.: 9885
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 14,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Jennings, Shooter - don't wait up (for George) ~ 5 track ep [2014]
5 Songs umfassende EP! Shooter Jennings, der Sohn von Waylon Jennings und Jessi Colter, aufgewachsen in großer Verbundenheit und Freundschaft zu dem dem legendären George Jones, zollt hier einem seiner ganz großen Helden mit 5 eigens für George geschriebenen Songs Tribut. Und er macht es in seiner typischen Art - durchaus traditionell verwurzelt, aber rootsig, erdig und rau in Szene gesetzt. Das Ergebnis ist klasse.

Hier die Einleitung zu diesem Werk von Shooter Jennings persönlich:

As a child growing up in the house of Waylon Jennings and Jessi Colter, I met a lot of interesting characters, but a lot of people paint a picture in their head that is very different from my reality. When people ask me about who I remember hanging around as a kid, I always say that I remember Tony Joe White and George Jones being the most frequent and consistent around the house. Very few people can look at a child and sees the full grown human inside them and make them feel important. George was always this way with me, making me feel like he took me seriously, no matter what age I was.
When I started working on my first solo album, I called George and asked him to appear on my record, introducing the first song and performing part of He Stopped Loving Her Today" in my song 4th of July. Without batting an eye, he said yes. This meant the world to me. I flew to Nashville to record him and we had the best time just talking with the studio in between, almost like a buffer. It was beautiful. It was funny, and once again George made me feel like I was just as talented and important as he was.
Jones producer asked me to write some songs for George's next record. It turns out now he wasn't his producer. Maybe he was just gunning for the position and thought if he showed up with some originals I wrote it might help his chances. Who knows? Either way, I wrote one song for him, and co-wrote another with a dear friend of mine, Faren Miller. I sent him the tracks, he liked them, and told me I would hear back from him. I never did and less than a year later George passed away.
I was sitting around recently when I found those old emails and I listened to the songs, and I realized in a weird way how much of my personality was in these songs. Honestly, I kind of needed an excuse
to write something that was very raw, and I couldn't do it for myself. Maybe because it was a full circle dream-come-true, or maybe because I just wanted to impress the Possum. All I know is that the songs were decent, and I thought it would be a cool idea to share these with my friends and fans. The next thing I knew I recorded them, and I wasn't ready to stop. So, I recorded a few more George tunes and ended up with a 5 song EP. Here is it: this is my tribute to the greatest singer and interpreter in country music. This is my tribute to a friend. I miss you George. Thank you for making me feel like I could do this.

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Don't Wait Up (I'm Playin' Possum) - 4:21
2. Living in a Minor Key - 2:34
3. She Thinks I Still Care - 2:28
4. If Drinkin' Don't Kill Me (Her Memory Will) - 3:46
5. The Door - 3:51

Art-Nr.: 8641
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock; Country
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 7,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


 
Kentucky Headhunters, The with Johnnie Johnson - meet me in bluesland [2015]
"Incredible"! So bringt es ein begeisterter U.S.-Fan auf den Punkt! Großartige Kooperation der urigen Southern Rock-Haudegen und dem legendären Pianisten von Chuck Berry, die gemeinsam ein mächtig kochendes Blues-/Bluesrock-/Boogie-Album einspielten. Ja, die Kentucky Headhunters spielen den Blues, allerdings gepaart mit ihrem typischen, straighten, von fetten Gitarren geprägten Southern Rock-Indikatoren. Entstanden sind die Aufnahmen im Jahre 2003, als Johnnie Johnson, den das Musikmagazin "Rolling Stone" einmal als "The greatest sideman in Rock'n Roll" bezeichnete, nach einer ausgedehnten Tournee mit den Rolling Stones, bei der er das Piano bediente, nach Kentucky flog, um seine guten Freunde, die Kentucky Headhunters, bei den Aufnahmesessions für deren Album "Soul" zu unterstützen, die ihn baten, das ein oder andere Stück mit seinem wunderbaren Klavierspiel zu veredeln. Doch aus diesen Session wurde viel mehr. Die Protagonisten spielten und spielten gemeinsam, hatten dermassen viel Spaß, dass diese Sessions gar nicht mehr enden wollten. Vor allem der rockin' Blues hatte es ihnen angetan. Die Tapes mit diesen hervorragenden Aufnahmen verschwanden anschließend in den Archiven - bis heute. 10 Jahre nach dem Tod von Johnson, der 2005 im Alter von 80 Jahren verstarb, entschieden sich die Kentucky Headhunters nun, diese Prachtaufnahmen zu veröffentlichen. Welch ein Glück! Was für ein leidenschaftlicher, ausgelassener, großartiger Trip in das Land des southern-rockigen Blues und Boogie. Nehmen wir nur den fetten, baumstarken Opener "Stunblin'", ein prächtiger "stompin'" Roadhouse-/Southern Rock'n Roll-Boogie, vollgepackt mit "hämmerndem" Piano und kochenden, straighten, typischen KHH-E-Gitarren-Riffs, den Slide-getränkten, brodelnden Blues-Shuffle "Walking with the wolf" (großartige Slideguitar-Linien, tolles Piano-Solo), den wundervoll rockenden Blues-Boogie "She's got to have it" (exzellente Piano-/Gitarren-Bgleitung, tierisches E-Gitarren-Solo), den straighten Riff-/Southern Rocker "Party in heaven", den hinreissenden, dabei ungemein kraftvoll und rau in Szene gesetzten Slow-Blues "Meet me in bluesland" (grandiose, ausgedehnte, von schönen Piano-Fills umgarnte Lead Gitarrenläufe, schönes Klavier-Solo und toller, inspirierter, intensiver Gesang von Richard Young), oder das voller Southern Soul steckende "Shufflin' back to Memphis", mit seiner exzellenten Slideguitar-/Klavier-Begleitung - welche Nummer man auch herauspickt, das Zeug dampft, bluest, rockt und "kickt", was das Zeug hält. Übrigens, auch der Sound ist spitzenmässig. Toll, dass dieses Material nun endlich der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich gemacht wurde. Famos!

Aus der Original-Produktbeschreibung:

On January 25, 2003, Rock and Roll Hall of Famer Johnnie Johnson -- the man Rolling Stone called “the greatest sideman in rock and roll” for his groundbreaking piano work with Chuck Berry -- stepped on stage at Houston, Texas’ Reliant Stadium. He joined his hosts, The Rolling Stones, for a rousing rendition of Honky Tonk Women. After hanging out all night with Keith Richards, Johnson got on a plane and flew to Kentucky. There he reunited with his good friends, Grammy-winning Southern blues-rockers The Kentucky Headhunters -- brothers Richard and Fred Young, Greg Martin, Doug Phelps and Anthony Kenney. The plan was to have Johnnie lay down some piano for the band’s upcoming release, Soul. But the vibe was too strong and the music too good, so the tape just kept rolling. With songs and arrangements furiously being created on the spot and everything recorded live as it happened over the course of three days, a magical musical event was underway. Because the whole session was spontaneous, there were no immediate plans to release an album. After Johnnie’s death in 2005, the tapes, while never forgotten, remained unissued. The performances, which can now be heard on Meet Me In Bluesland, found Johnson playing some of the deepest and most rocking blues piano of his legendary career. With The Kentucky Headhunters at their down-home best, the album is a country-fried, blues-infused party from start to finish. The album grooves from the raunchy rock of Stumblin’ to the slide-fueled Superman Blues to the roof-raising version of Little Queenie to the salacious She’s Got To Have It (the last vocal Johnson ever recorded). “The minute Johnnie sat down with us, the music was a kind of ecstasy,” says guitarist/vocalist Richard Young. “Johnnie made us play like real men,” says guitarist/vocalist Greg Martin. “Playing with him, the groove got bigger and much more grown up.” Drummer Fred Young adds, “We all admired Johnnie from the start. The first time we played with him was the first time I ever felt like we were doing it right. The music we made on Meet Me In Bluesland is as good as it gets.” The relationship between Johnson and The Kentucky Headhunters dated back to 1992. Headed to New York for a Grammy Awards party, Greg picked up the new Johnnie Johnson CD, Johnnie B. Bad, for the ride. The band listened to nothing else all the way to New York. Having no idea he’d be at the party, they were shocked to see Johnnie Johnson sitting alone at a table. After some quick introductions, the musicians talked for hours, becoming fast friends. In 1993 they released their first collaboration, That’ll Work, on Nonesuch. They took the show on the road, playing gigs from the West Coast to New England, from Chicago’s Buddy Guy’s Legends to New York City’s Lone Star Café. They performed at The Jamboree In The Hills in Belmont County, Ohio, where Johnson, with the Headhunters triumphantly jamming behind him, played to over 30,000 fans. From their very first meeting, Johnson and The Kentucky Headhunters stayed close, getting together whenever possible. In 2003, when the band asked Johnson to record with them again, he couldn’t wait to get back to Kentucky and make music with his friends. Over the next three days, they created an album filled with rollicking, timeless performances. “Johnnie’s music was spontaneous, organic, magic energy,” says Greg. “During the recordings, everything was off-the-cuff and easy; a higher power just took over. This album is special, and we’re very happy in 2015 that it’s coming to fruition.” Adds Fred, “Johnnie gave us the gift of letting us know what it was like to do something great.”

Das komplette Tracklisting:

1. Stumblin' - 3:08
2. Walking With The Wolf - 3:28
3. Little Queenie - 3:31
4. She's Got To Have It - 3:18
5. Party In Heaven - 3:28
6. Meet Me In Bluesland - 5:44
7. King Rooster - 4:31
8. Shufflin' Back To Memphis - 4:50
9. Fast Train - 3:34
10. Sometime - 3:55
11. Superman Blues - 4:02

Art-Nr.: 8872
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

In folgende Titel können Sie reinhören:
Stumblin'
Walking with the wolf
She's got to have it
Party in heaven
Meet me in bluesland
King rooster
Shufflin' back to Memphis
Superman blues

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!

 


|| Weiter