Artikel 1 bis 2 von 2 gefundenen...


Garcia Band, Jerry - garcia live vol. 10: may 20th 1990, hilo civic auditorium [2018]
2 CD-Set! Jubiläum! Teil 10 der grandiosen, ungemein beliebten GarciaLive-Reihe von bislang in den Archiven verschollenen, seltene Live-Mitschnitten des charismatischen Grateful Dead-Gitarristen. Das nun veröffentlichte Konzert fand am 20. Mai 1990 auf Hawaii statt, und zwar im Hilo Civic Auditorium. Die Jerry Garcia Band mit einem herausragenden, wunderbar relaxten Gig mit dem musikalischen Fokus auf Dylan-Covers und ein wenig Motown, Reggae und Rock'n Roll. Tolle Setlist! Klasse Aufnahmen! Hervorragender Sound! Abermals ein absolutes Highlight für die Jerry Garcia-Jünger und Deadheads.

Die offizielle Produktbeschreibung:

GarciaLive Volume Ten documents the Jerry Garcia Band’s May 20th, 1990 performance at the Hilo Civic Auditorium in Hawaii. On the heels of a diabetic coma in 1986, Bill Kreutzmann encouraged Jerry to find peace and healing in the pristine blue waters of the Big Island’s reef system. What was initially a hobby became a passion for Garcia as he later publicly advocated for the protection of Hawaii’s natural areas and directed earnings from this show, held in the modest Hilo Civic Center, to The Ocean Recreation Council of Hawaii.
In this relaxed setting complete with leis on stage, it’s no wonder that the music from this show shines so brightly – both in Garcia’s strong vocals and guitar playing but also the joie de vivre setlist spanning some of Jerry’s favorite corners of popular music – Dylan, Motown, Reggae, and Rock & Roll. Spurred on by the ever steady rhythm section of Dave Kemper and John Kahn, the Garcia band this night seemed to pull out all the stops complete with the celestial sounds of Melvin Seals’ organ and the background vocals of Gloria Jones and Jacklyn LaBranch.
The sum of these parts that defined the 1990s Garcia Band sound would make for a magical Sunday night that first kicked off with the Holland-Dozier-Holland favorite “How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)” followed by an idyllic “They Love Each Other.” Sprinkled in throughout the night are five Dylan covers including powerfully delivered vocals on versions of “Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door,” “Forever Young,” and a positively soaring “Tangled Up In Blue” as the encore. Along the way, covers like “Stop That Train,” “Waiting For A Miracle,” and “Evangeline” ably accent originals like “Deal” and “Run For The Roses.”

Die komplette Setlist:

Disc 1:
1. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)
2. They Love Each Other
3. Tough Mama
4. Like A Road Leading Home
5. Run For The Roses
6. The Way You Do The Things You Do
7. My Sisters And Brothers
8. Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door
9. Deal

Disc 2:
1. The Harder They Come
2. Forever Young
3. Stop That Train
4. Tore Up Over You
5. Tears Of Rage
6. Evangeline
7. Waiting For A Miracle
8. That Lucky Old Sun
9. Tangled Up In Blue

Art-Nr.: 9587
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Programm || Typ: CD || Preis: € 16,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!


Garcia Band, Jerry - garcia live vol. 17: norcal '76 [2021]
3 CD-Set! Teil 17 der großartigen und so beliebten GarciaLive-Serie mit herausragenden und ganz besonderen Konzertmitschnitten aus den schier unerschöpflichen Archiven des legendären Grateful Dead-Gitarristen Jerry Garcia. Die neue Ausgabe beschäftigt sich mit einer Reihe von 3 Konzerten innerhalb einer Woche, die im November 1976 im Norden Californiens stattfanden, genauer gesagt am 7. 11. 1976 im Keystone von Berkeley, am 12.11.1976 in der Freeborn Hall der University of Calivornia in Davis und am 13.11.1976 im East Gym der Humboldt State University in Arcata. Mit an Bord waren die Grateful Dead-Mitglieder Donna Jean & Keith Godchaux, sowie John Kahn und Ron Tutt. Spulenschäden, Bandverluste und anderen technische Schwierigkeiten verhinderten eine Veröffentlichung der gesamten Shows aus dieser hoch interessanten Phase der Band, doch die Überreste der Originalaufnahmen des legendären Dead-Archivars Betty Cantor-Jackson haben es in sich und offenbaren einige der besten Performances der Jerry Garcia Band von diesen 3 Konzerten. Erneut eine tolle Veröffentlichung für die vielen Deadheads und Garcia-Jünger.

Weitere Details sind aus der Original-Produktbeschreibung durch "Garcia Family Provisions" zu entnehmen:

GarciaLive Volume 17: NorCal ’76 presents highlights from three* stand-out Jerry Garcia Band performances captured over the span of a week. While a myriad of challenges from reel damage to tape loss and other assorted technical difficulties spoil any opportunity to feature the complete performances, what remains of Betty Cantor-Jackson’s original recordings offers some of the finest performances from this iteration of the Jerry Garcia Band.

1976 marked a period of transition for Garcia. Having eschewed the jazz and funk explorations of the early ‘70s in favor of a more “traditional” rock & roll vibe with Nicky Hopkins, Garcia likely found a sense of comfort by welcoming his Grateful Dead bandmates Keith & Donna Jean Godchaux into the fold towards the top of the year. While the band could still light it up with the best of them, as evidenced here by blistering versions of “Mystery Train,” “After Midnight,” and the almost obligatory closer “Mighty High,” tempos often eased to a swamp blues feel while the group pursued more sweet, introspective territory. A review of the Davis performance described the evening as “mellifluous” and continued, “never before have I seen Garcia dance, nor have I ever seen him smile so much.” Look no further than vibrant versions of “How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)” “Stir It Up,” and “The Way You Do The Things You Do” for evidence of bliss. The sweetness is balanced by more pensive selections including poignant versions of “Catfish John,” bolstered by sublime harmonies from Donna Jean, and Irving Berlin's “Russian Lullaby.” Perhaps no performance better demonstrates the JGB’s power than the opening “Sugaree” which showcases Garcia’s fiery leads and impassioned vocal, Keith’s brilliant, understated accompaniment, and John Kahn & Ron Tutt’s deep pocket groove. It’s enough to put a smile on anyone’s face while giving you a few things to ponder at the same time.

*Caveat: “Mighty High” is sourced from an undated recording we suspect was made around this time.

Die komplette Setlist:

Disc One:
1. Sugaree †
2. They Love Each Other †
3. Catfish John ^
4. Midnight Moonlight ^

Disc Two:
1. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You) †
2. Friend of the Devil †
3. Russian Lullaby *
4. Tore Up Over You *
5. I’ll Take A Melody *

Disc Three:
1. After Midnight *
2. Stir It Up *
3. Mystery Train †
4. The Way You Do The Things You Do ^
5. Mighty High #

* November 7th, 1976 at Keystone Berkeley, California
^ November 12th, 1976 at Freeborn Hall, University of California Davis
† November 13th, 1976 at East Gym, Humboldt State University, Arcata, California
# 1976, Unknown

Art-Nr.: 10450
Gruppe: Musik || Sparte: Rock
Status: Neuheit || Typ: CD || Preis: € 21,90

Zurück zum Artikel

Zusätzliche Aktionen:
Interpret oder Autor in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Titel in anderen Rezensionen anzeigen!
Durch Rezension als ähnlich eingestufte Artikel anzeigen!
Zusätzlich zu diesem von anderen Kunden erworbene Artikel anzeigen!